Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,892 Members 42,921 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

SM-G906S/K/L/ S805 Info Sharing thread (Root/CWM/Custom Rom)

Tip us?
 
D.O.C
Old
#721  
D.O.C's Avatar
Senior Moderator / Recognized Developer - The Android Surgeon
Thanks Meter 3,733
Posts: 3,087
Join Date: Jun 2006

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by risx View Post
@D.O.C. Maybe try the *#0011# trick to see if you have additional bands?

No mate, they show the same on that menu, either way they must be hardcoded (prewritten menu), so I dont think they will be shown there.
Without really connecting to these "unlocked" networks, all my observations wpuld be objective (obviously I do get better reception and faster wifi speed :P), but as said....all subjective and not real measurements.

 
risx
Old
#722  
risx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 122
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by D.O.C View Post
No mate, they show the same on that menu, either way they must be hardcoded (prewritten menu), so I dont think they will be shown there.
Without really connecting to these "unlocked" networks, all my observations wpuld be objective (obviously I do get better reception and faster wifi speed :P), but as said....all subjective and not real measurements.
Would you mind listing out the steps you did different from the other thread to get all the bands? I am curious to try this
 
D.O.C
Old
(Last edited by D.O.C; 14th September 2014 at 02:20 AM.)
#723  
D.O.C's Avatar
Senior Moderator / Recognized Developer - The Android Surgeon
Thanks Meter 3,733
Posts: 3,087
Join Date: Jun 2006

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by risx View Post
Would you mind listing out the steps you did different from the other thread to get all the bands? I am curious to try this
I used EFS Professional to get into DIAG mode, installed this driver, the com port used varies a bit from the one described at the instructions (showed only a few, so it was not hard to see which one was the right one, you can try a "trial and error"), and when modifying the NV I did not select all the GSM - WCDMA Bands like the author did, since selecting Japan 1700 and XI - 1500 would cause it to show no signal at all.

If you try it, please make sure to annotate somewhere your #1877 code so I can compare it with mine (pm it to me if you want to, although all 906 should be the same (since its bands, not imei or anything personal) I think I did not memorized it correctly, just to double check).

BTW, when entering into service mode (code 2263) via Shortcut master (free on play store) and comparing it to my Note 3 int. I can select all the same bands except one, the Note 3 has Band 20 whereas the G906S has Band 17, So I am guessing it does work? (need more objective testing though)

 
tookie015
Old
#724  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 15
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kiwi Land
Quote:
Originally Posted by D.O.C View Post
I used EFS Professional to get into DIAG mode, installed this driver, the com port used varies a bit from the one described at the instructions (showed only a few, so it was not hard to see which one was the right one, you can try a "trial and error"), and when modifying the NV I did not select all the GSM - WCDMA Bands like the author did, since selecting Japan 1700 and XI - 1500 would cause it to show no signal at all.

If you try it, please make sure to annotate somewhere your #1877 code so I can compare it with mine (pm it to me if you want to, although all 906 should be the same (since its bands, not imei or anything personal) I think I did not memorized it correctly, just to double check).

BTW, when entering into service mode (code 2263) via Shortcut master (free on play store) and comparing it to my Note 3 int. I can select all the same bands except one, the Note 3 has Band 20 whereas the G906S has Band 17, So I am guessing it does work? (need more objective testing though)
DOC, is this ROM dependent? Do we need to do this everytime we flash new ROM?
 
botwa2000
Old
#725  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 29
Join Date: Sep 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by D.O.C View Post
I used EFS Professional to get into DIAG mode, installed this driver, the com port used varies a bit from the one described at the instructions (showed only a few, so it was not hard to see which one was the right one, you can try a "trial and error"), and when modifying the NV I did not select all the GSM - WCDMA Bands like the author did, since selecting Japan 1700 and XI - 1500 would cause it to show no signal at all.

If you try it, please make sure to annotate somewhere your #1877 code so I can compare it with mine (pm it to me if you want to, although all 906 should be the same (since its bands, not imei or anything personal) I think I did not memorized it correctly, just to double check).

BTW, when entering into service mode (code 2263) via Shortcut master (free on play store) and comparing it to my Note 3 int. I can select all the same bands except one, the Note 3 has Band 20 whereas the G906S has Band 17, So I am guessing it does work? (need more objective testing though)
Will it work on SM-G906K you think? If not, what needs to be done for it to work? As I said, happy to test though I'm nowhere near to be an expert. Still, perfectly able to follow clear instructions and take the risk.

Sent from my SM-G906K using XDA Free mobile app
 
D.O.C
Old
(Last edited by D.O.C; 14th September 2014 at 05:38 PM.)
#726  
D.O.C's Avatar
Senior Moderator / Recognized Developer - The Android Surgeon
Thanks Meter 3,733
Posts: 3,087
Join Date: Jun 2006

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by tookie015 View Post
DOC, is this ROM dependent? Do we need to do this everytime we flash new ROM?
No, even if you flash a new firmware with odin, it seems the changes you make are permanent, but wait!, I do not even have confirmation this actually works!




Quote:
Originally Posted by botwa2000 View Post
Will it work on SM-G906K you think? If not, what needs to be done for it to work? As I said, happy to test though I'm nowhere near to be an expert. Still, perfectly able to follow clear instructions and take the risk.

Sent from my SM-G906K using XDA Free mobile app
Yeah, G906K would use the same steps, but, as I said, hold up until we at least know its worth your time.


Lets see....download Shortcut Master Lite from Google Play, then go to code 2263
I see this options on my screen, are these options the same ones all of you got? (without modding anything), sorry, I do not remember what I had before XD, what a noob :P
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-09-14-18-13-21.png
Views:	98
Size:	164.2 KB
ID:	2936990   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-09-14-18-13-31.png
Views:	81
Size:	145.8 KB
ID:	2936991   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-09-14-18-13-37.png
Views:	79
Size:	90.5 KB
ID:	2936992   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-09-14-18-13-26.png
Views:	79
Size:	131.1 KB
ID:	2936993  

The Following User Says Thank You to D.O.C For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
PeTeR010195
Old
#727  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 22
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by D.O.C View Post
No, even if you flash a new firmware with odin, it seems the changes you make are permanent, but wait!, I do not even have confirmation this actually works!






Yeah, G906K would use the same steps, but, as I said, hold up until we at least know its worth your time.


Lets see....download Shortcut Master Lite from Google Play, then go to code 2263
I see this options on my screen, are these options the same ones all of you got? (without modding anything), sorry, I do not remember what I had before XD, what a noob :P
I do have the same options and bands without modding
The Following User Says Thank You to PeTeR010195 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
botwa2000
Old
#728  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 29
Join Date: Sep 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by D.O.C View Post
No, even if you flash a new firmware with odin, it seems the changes you make are permanent, but wait!, I do not even have confirmation this actually works!






Yeah, G906K would use the same steps, but, as I said, hold up until we at least know its worth your time.


Lets see....download Shortcut Master Lite from Google Play, then go to code 2263
I see this options on my screen, are these options the same ones all of you got? (without modding anything), sorry, I do not remember what I had before XD, what a noob :P
Yep, confirmed that's the originally available bands, nothing new

Sent from my SM-G906K using XDA Free mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to botwa2000 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
icteyemd
Old
#729  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 28
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shahshiminator View Post
To those of you who wants video calls to be enabled, I have done some edits to my CSC and I think I maybe have found a lead to enable video calls.
This may be a lead, but who knows; just posting it out here for people to maybe try to tinker and maybe together we can get a solution.

... crap. editing my post via xda mobile caused the code to disappear.. i'll edit and post this again as soon as i get access to a pc.

This seemed to enable me to hit the video call button, but somehow the error appeared (as shown in attached picture).
any luck?
 
Shahshiminator
Old
#730  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 28
Join Date: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by icteyemd View Post
any luck?
Still trying to figure out what the InCallUi issue is about. I will update if I find anything..

Sent from my SM-G906S using XDA Free mobile app

Tags
s5 lte-a g906 s805
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes