Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,448 Members 40,735 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Only get 2G on on Telus (AT&T band), what am I doing wrong?

Tip us?
 
xoltrix2000
Old
#1  
xoltrix2000's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 325
Join Date: Jul 2008
Default Only get 2G on on Telus (AT&T band), what am I doing wrong?

The phone we have is a SM-G900F international, unfortunately I can only get 2G on this thing while on Telus and won't even connect on Rogers (which doesn't make sense). Is it possible this phone is bricked? If yes, can it be fixed?

Thanks,
Xol
 
fffft
Old
#2  
fffft's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 412
Posts: 1,556
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by xoltrix2000 View Post
The phone we have is a SM-G900F international, unfortunately I can only get 2G on this thing while on Telus and won't even connect on Rogers (which doesn't make sense). Is it possible this phone is bricked? If yes, can it be fixed?

You don't understand what bricked means. If your phone was bricked, you wouldn't get 2G either. You would have the same reception as a brick does.

Your model supports most, but not all of the Telus and Rogers frequencies. So one would expect it to work most of the time. If you have a Telus or Rogers SIM as opposed to roaming on those systems, then open a support ticket with your carrier.

It sounds like your phone is not provisioned correctly. That may be as simple as updating your APN information or may need carrier side adjustments to your account configuration.

If you are in a fringe area, one that is only served by a single 3G /4G band then the problem could be that your phone simply does not support 3G 1700 or 4G 700/1700 that are used in Canada.

.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes