Lockdown Pro 2 Brings Material Design and Media Support

Back in March of this year, we took a look at a rather innovated security application … more

Mural Watchface Brings 500px to Android Wear

On a traditional watch, you can’t really do too much to change its appearance once … more

Android 5.0 Favorite Features, Release November 3rd? – XDA TV

Google Confirms Android 5.0 Lollipop for November 3rd! That and much more … more

Prepare Your Build Machines: Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn Now Official

Today is an important day for any and all Linux enthusiasts. One of the … more
Post Reply

Did I buy a fake

OP Suzook1

13th July 2014, 12:28 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 83
 
873 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
I bought a phone off CL (yes I know) everything looked super legit

the model number though is a G9006V

Is this a real S5 or a chinese copy. Seems to be no way to root or install custom
13th July 2014, 12:48 AM   |  #2  
gdmlaz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Miami
Thanks Meter: 294
 
1,284 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suzook1

I bought a phone off CL (yes I know) everything looked super legit

the model number though is a G9006V

Is this a real S5 or a chinese copy. Seems to be no way to root or install custom

install CPU-Z and it will tell you all the information about the phone
13th July 2014, 12:54 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 83
 
873 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
EF ME.... Mediatek MT6572 1.00ghz....
13th July 2014, 12:55 AM   |  #4  
lingowistico's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Stockholm
Thanks Meter: 171
 
707 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suzook1

I bought a phone off CL (yes I know) everything looked super legit

the model number though is a G9006V

Is this a real S5 or a chinese copy. Seems to be no way to root or install custom

tits pics or gtfo.
13th July 2014, 08:40 AM   |  #5  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,146
 
8,559 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suzook1

EF ME.... Mediatek MT6572 1.00ghz....

Fake, don`t flash anything from this forum because It will brick your phone, good luck and try to get your money back
13th July 2014, 11:08 AM   |  #6  
aspot72's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Anywhere with GSM signal
Thanks Meter: 46
 
401 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Lightbulb
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suzook1

EF ME.... Mediatek MT6572 1.00ghz....

Definitely FAKE. Samsung uses Snapdragon or Exynos chipsets only.
13th July 2014, 11:14 AM   |  #7  
verny94's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kladno
Thanks Meter: 73
 
387 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdmlaz

install CPU-Z and it will tell you all the information about the phone

CPU-Z is not 100% Also Phone info etc.

One sure metod is Download mode
13th July 2014, 11:47 AM   |  #8  
fffft's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 550
 
1,877 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suzook1

EF ME.... Mediatek MT6572 1.00ghz....

If your phone really has a Mediatek processor then it is a fake. But as already mentioned, not all programs correctly identify the chip. You should confirm the finding with another program and preferably provide us with a lot more details about your phone so that we have more confidence in the verdict.

Photos of the phone and any literature? In particular the top exterior, the label under the battery (you may wish to obscure part of the IMEI number) and a screen shot of at least the Settings menu > General > About Device. Particularly helpful would be installing the Phone Info app and tell us the results.

.
13th July 2014, 02:16 PM   |  #9  
lingowistico's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Stockholm
Thanks Meter: 171
 
707 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fffft

If your phone really has a Mediatek processor then it is a fake. But as already mentioned, not all programs correctly identify the chip. You should confirm the finding with another program and preferably provide us with a lot more details about your phone so that we have more confidence in the verdict.

Photos of the phone and any literature? In particular the top exterior, the label under the battery (you may wish to obscure part of the IMEI number) and a screen shot of at least the Settings menu > General > About Device. Particularly helpful would be installing the Phone Info app and tell us the results.

.

Good fakes fake the Phone info too.
13th July 2014, 02:26 PM   |  #10  
fffft's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 550
 
1,877 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by lingowistico

Quote:
Originally Posted by fffft

If your phone really has a Mediatek processor then it is a fake. But as already mentioned, not all programs correctly identify the chip. You should confirm the finding with another program and preferably provide us with a lot more details about your phone so that we have more confidence in the verdict.

Photos of the phone and any literature? In particular the top exterior, the label under the battery (you may wish to obscure part of the IMEI number) and a screen shot of at least the Settings menu > General > About Device. Particularly helpful would be installing the Phone Info app and tell us the results.

Good fakes fake the Phone info too.


?

I already made that exact point, i.e. that apps do not detect 100% of fakes. Hence the suggestion to check with a second app. And the request for additional information and photos, so that we can discern what he has.

.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy S 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank