FORUMS

T-Mobile Galaxy S6 Battery Woes

I’ve been using a T-Mobile Galaxy S6 since the device launched with T-mobile’s … more

Earthquake Early Warning in Your Pocket

Probably all of us reading this have a smartphone in our pocket. For many of us, the … more

Sony: The OEM You Want To Save

In our recent Discuss article, we asked you readers on which OEM you would like to help. While the … more

How to Lock and Protect Your Apps – XDA Xposed Tuesday

The smartphone revolution has passed. Everybody has mobile apps. Some of … more

Did I buy a fake

994 posts
Thanks Meter: 94
 
By Suzook1, Senior Member on 13th July 2014, 12:28 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I bought a phone off CL (yes I know) everything looked super legit

the model number though is a G9006V

Is this a real S5 or a chinese copy. Seems to be no way to root or install custom
 
 
13th July 2014, 12:48 AM |#2  
gdmlaz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Miami
Thanks Meter: 478
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suzook1

I bought a phone off CL (yes I know) everything looked super legit

the model number though is a G9006V

Is this a real S5 or a chinese copy. Seems to be no way to root or install custom

install CPU-Z and it will tell you all the information about the phone
13th July 2014, 12:54 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 94
 
More
EF ME.... Mediatek MT6572 1.00ghz....
13th July 2014, 12:55 AM |#4  
lingowistico's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Stockholm
Thanks Meter: 304
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suzook1

I bought a phone off CL (yes I know) everything looked super legit

the model number though is a G9006V

Is this a real S5 or a chinese copy. Seems to be no way to root or install custom

tits pics or gtfo.
13th July 2014, 08:40 AM |#5  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,737
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suzook1

EF ME.... Mediatek MT6572 1.00ghz....

Fake, don`t flash anything from this forum because It will brick your phone, good luck and try to get your money back
13th July 2014, 11:08 AM |#6  
aspot72's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Anywhere with GSM signal
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
Lightbulb
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suzook1

EF ME.... Mediatek MT6572 1.00ghz....

Definitely FAKE. Samsung uses Snapdragon or Exynos chipsets only.
13th July 2014, 11:14 AM |#7  
verny94's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kladno
Thanks Meter: 74
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdmlaz

install CPU-Z and it will tell you all the information about the phone

CPU-Z is not 100% Also Phone info etc.

One sure metod is Download mode
13th July 2014, 11:47 AM |#8  
fffft's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 667
 
More
..
Last edited by fffft; 16th November 2014 at 11:25 AM.
13th July 2014, 02:16 PM |#9  
lingowistico's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Stockholm
Thanks Meter: 304
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fffft

If your phone really has a Mediatek processor then it is a fake. But as already mentioned, not all programs correctly identify the chip. You should confirm the finding with another program and preferably provide us with a lot more details about your phone so that we have more confidence in the verdict.

Photos of the phone and any literature? In particular the top exterior, the label under the battery (you may wish to obscure part of the IMEI number) and a screen shot of at least the Settings menu > General > About Device. Particularly helpful would be installing the Phone Info app and tell us the results.

.

Good fakes fake the Phone info too.
13th July 2014, 02:26 PM |#10  
fffft's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 667
 
More
..
Last edited by fffft; 16th November 2014 at 11:25 AM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes