Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Did I buy a fake

OP Suzook1

13th July 2014, 01:28 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 87
 
934 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
I bought a phone off CL (yes I know) everything looked super legit

the model number though is a G9006V

Is this a real S5 or a chinese copy. Seems to be no way to root or install custom
13th July 2014, 01:48 AM   |  #2  
gdmlaz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Miami
Thanks Meter: 313
 
1,300 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suzook1

I bought a phone off CL (yes I know) everything looked super legit

the model number though is a G9006V

Is this a real S5 or a chinese copy. Seems to be no way to root or install custom

install CPU-Z and it will tell you all the information about the phone
13th July 2014, 01:54 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 87
 
934 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
EF ME.... Mediatek MT6572 1.00ghz....
13th July 2014, 01:55 AM   |  #4  
lingowistico's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Stockholm
Thanks Meter: 196
 
825 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suzook1

I bought a phone off CL (yes I know) everything looked super legit

the model number though is a G9006V

Is this a real S5 or a chinese copy. Seems to be no way to root or install custom

tits pics or gtfo.
13th July 2014, 09:40 AM   |  #5  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,288
 
8,932 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suzook1

EF ME.... Mediatek MT6572 1.00ghz....

Fake, don`t flash anything from this forum because It will brick your phone, good luck and try to get your money back
13th July 2014, 12:08 PM   |  #6  
aspot72's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Anywhere with GSM signal
Thanks Meter: 46
 
402 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Lightbulb
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suzook1

EF ME.... Mediatek MT6572 1.00ghz....

Definitely FAKE. Samsung uses Snapdragon or Exynos chipsets only.
13th July 2014, 12:14 PM   |  #7  
verny94's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kladno
Thanks Meter: 73
 
388 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdmlaz

install CPU-Z and it will tell you all the information about the phone

CPU-Z is not 100% Also Phone info etc.

One sure metod is Download mode
13th July 2014, 12:47 PM   |  #8  
fffft's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 622
 
1,978 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
..
Last edited by fffft; 16th November 2014 at 12:25 PM.
13th July 2014, 03:16 PM   |  #9  
lingowistico's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Stockholm
Thanks Meter: 196
 
825 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fffft

If your phone really has a Mediatek processor then it is a fake. But as already mentioned, not all programs correctly identify the chip. You should confirm the finding with another program and preferably provide us with a lot more details about your phone so that we have more confidence in the verdict.

Photos of the phone and any literature? In particular the top exterior, the label under the battery (you may wish to obscure part of the IMEI number) and a screen shot of at least the Settings menu > General > About Device. Particularly helpful would be installing the Phone Info app and tell us the results.

.

Good fakes fake the Phone info too.
13th July 2014, 03:26 PM   |  #10  
fffft's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 622
 
1,978 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
..
Last edited by fffft; 16th November 2014 at 12:25 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes