Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,623 Members 50,771 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Custom ROM in a clone of the S5

Tip us?
 
ariwake
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Aug 2014
Question [Q] Custom ROM in a clone of the S5

My parents got me a phone out of AliExpress but they wanted a cheap one so they just bought a clone instead of the real thing. The clone is the one with the MTK6592 Octa-Core CPU. I have been looking around but I have not found anything usefull on the subject. So I am asking, Is it possible to install a custom ROM like CyanogenMod and the like? If it is, can someone show me a tutorial on how to do it?
Thanks
 
Sock12345
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 185
Join Date: Jun 2014
Everything is possible, you can make your own rom based on source of CM

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G900F met Tapatalk
 
gee2012
Old
(Last edited by gee2012; 30th August 2014 at 05:11 PM.)
#3  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,049
Posts: 8,343
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Heerlen
Quote:
Originally Posted by ariwake View Post
My parents got me a phone out of AliExpress but they wanted a cheap one so they just bought a clone instead of the real thing. The clone is the one with the MTK6592 Octa-Core CPU. I have been looking around but I have not found anything usefull on the subject. So I am asking, Is it possible to install a custom ROM like CyanogenMod and the like? If it is, can someone show me a tutorial on how to do it?
Thanks
Do not flash ANYTHING for the S5 or you`ll brick your phone. Leave this forum and Google for possible (but not likely) roms for your forum. There is nothing any1 can do for you here. Good luck
PS tell your parents not to waste money, you would be better off with a Moto G 4G to be honest.
USE Search: /this thread /all threads/Google before posting your question, you`re most likely not the first one having this issue
 
fffft
Old
#4  
fffft's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 411
Posts: 1,548
Join Date: Jul 2013
As noted immediately above, don't try flashing anything intended for an authentic S5 as it won't work and will quite probably damage your clone. Look for a forum that specializes in clones e.g. China devices to see what your options are and what can be flashed on your phone.

.
 
Hellscythe
Old
#5  
Hellscythe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 460
Posts: 1,758
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: straya kienttt
No. It is a different device. It would probably be easier to get S5 software running on the M8 than that MediaTek device.
Previous devices:

HTC Incredible S S710e (Eventually stopped turning on)

Nexus 7 2012 (Half the screen stopped responding to touch after leaving it for 2 months, also has weird marks on bezel, no idea from where)

Sony Xperia Z C6603 (Passed it down to family member, I actually hated this device)

Current devices:

Samsung Galaxy S5 SM-G900I
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes