Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,941 Members 38,414 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] DTMF tones

Tip us?
 
metalfan78
Old
#11  
metalfan78's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,641
Posts: 3,882
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Littleton, CO
Do you have the modified hiddenmenu? If not you need your msl number to get to the edit menu.
 
xbluesx
Old
#12  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalfan78 View Post
Do you have the modified hiddenmenu? If not you need your msl number to get to the edit menu.
I dont know anything about the modified hidden menu so I assume I don't have it. Would I need root access for that? I dont have the MSL number either. I assume I get that from AT&T? Thanks!
 
metalfan78
Old
#13  
metalfan78's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,641
Posts: 3,882
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Littleton, CO
Yes to, you would need root access. I had an app for gett8ng your msl. Look for it in the play store.

---------- Post added at 01:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:25 PM ----------

Msl utility I think
 
DarkMidnight
Old
#14  
DarkMidnight's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 79
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Pittsburgh

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by xbluesx View Post
I dont know anything about the modified hidden menu so I assume I don't have it. Would I need root access for that? I dont have the MSL number either. I assume I get that from AT&T? Thanks!
(Forgive me if I'm incorrect, the below instructions may only apply to those of us with Verizon phones, but this is how I enabled hidden menus on my phone)

1) go to /efs/carrier/HiddenMenu and change OFF to ON
2 ) Reboot your phone.

The ##3282# menu should work after that. Also, I did not need the MSL code (again, the Galaxy S5 is globally unlocked with Verizon) but should you need it (credit to metalfan78)

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...om.esccode.msl
 
xbluesx
Old
#15  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalfan78 View Post
Yes to, you would need root access. I had an app for gett8ng your msl. Look for it in the play store.

---------- Post added at 01:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:25 PM ----------

Msl utility I think
None of the MSL code utilities in the play store worked, so I'll try and go the root route to unlock my hidden menu. After I root, how would I go about unlocking my hidden menu?
 
metalfan78
Old
#16  
metalfan78's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,641
Posts: 3,882
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Littleton, CO
Search XDA for the msl utility app. I was going to upload it but I can find it.

---------- Post added at 08:06 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:55 AM ----------

Try this one

https://www.dropbox.com/s/bimjty4i5r...MSLUtility.apk
 
DarkMidnight
Old
#17  
DarkMidnight's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 79
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Pittsburgh

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by xbluesx View Post
I tried this and the only thing that pops up is "USSD and then my phone number". No menus or anything. Just a button to hit OK.
Ok, when you open your phone app to make a call, go to Menu (top right)/Settings/DTMF Tones.

Can you get there?
 
xbluesx
Old
#18  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalfan78 View Post
Search XDA for the msl utility app. I was going to upload it but I can find it.

---------- Post added at 08:06 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:55 AM ----------

Try this one

https://www.dropbox.com/s/bimjty4i5r...MSLUtility.apk
I appreciate you uploading this, but it doesn't work either. When I run it I get an error: "A fatal error has occured. Could not read SPC. Please ensure you downloaded the application for your particular phone."
 
xbluesx
Old
#19  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkMidnight View Post
Ok, when you open your phone app to make a call, go to Menu (top right)/Settings/DTMF Tones.

Can you get there?

When I go to settings I get two choices, "Call" and Contacts". When I choose "Call" I get these options:

Call rejection
Answering and ending calls
Call notification pop ups
In-call status pop-up
Show caller information
Call alerts
Call accessories
Additional settings

Ringtone and keypad tones
Personalize call sound
Noise reduction

Voicemail service
Voicemail settings
Sound
Vibrate

Ive gone through each one of the sub menus available and there is no DTMF tones or anything like it anywhere.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes