How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] DTMF tones

OP xbluesx

21st August 2014, 03:30 PM   |  #11  
metalfan78's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Littleton, CO
Thanks Meter: 1,784
 
4,028 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Do you have the modified hiddenmenu? If not you need your msl number to get to the edit menu.
21st August 2014, 08:16 PM   |  #12  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalfan78

Do you have the modified hiddenmenu? If not you need your msl number to get to the edit menu.

I dont know anything about the modified hidden menu so I assume I don't have it. Would I need root access for that? I dont have the MSL number either. I assume I get that from AT&T? Thanks!
21st August 2014, 09:25 PM   |  #13  
metalfan78's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Littleton, CO
Thanks Meter: 1,784
 
4,028 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Yes to, you would need root access. I had an app for gett8ng your msl. Look for it in the play store.

---------- Post added at 01:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:25 PM ----------

Msl utility I think
21st August 2014, 10:34 PM   |  #14  
DarkMidnight's Avatar
Member
Flag Pittsburgh
Thanks Meter: 27
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xbluesx

I dont know anything about the modified hidden menu so I assume I don't have it. Would I need root access for that? I dont have the MSL number either. I assume I get that from AT&T? Thanks!

(Forgive me if I'm incorrect, the below instructions may only apply to those of us with Verizon phones, but this is how I enabled hidden menus on my phone)

1) go to /efs/carrier/HiddenMenu and change OFF to ON
2 ) Reboot your phone.

The ##3282# menu should work after that. Also, I did not need the MSL code (again, the Galaxy S5 is globally unlocked with Verizon) but should you need it (credit to metalfan78)

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...om.esccode.msl
22nd August 2014, 03:01 PM   |  #15  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalfan78

Yes to, you would need root access. I had an app for gett8ng your msl. Look for it in the play store.

---------- Post added at 01:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:25 PM ----------

Msl utility I think

None of the MSL code utilities in the play store worked, so I'll try and go the root route to unlock my hidden menu. After I root, how would I go about unlocking my hidden menu?
22nd August 2014, 04:06 PM   |  #16  
metalfan78's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Littleton, CO
Thanks Meter: 1,784
 
4,028 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Search XDA for the msl utility app. I was going to upload it but I can find it.

---------- Post added at 08:06 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:55 AM ----------

Try this one

https://www.dropbox.com/s/bimjty4i5r...MSLUtility.apk
27th August 2014, 03:56 AM   |  #17  
DarkMidnight's Avatar
Member
Flag Pittsburgh
Thanks Meter: 27
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xbluesx

I tried this and the only thing that pops up is "USSD and then my phone number". No menus or anything. Just a button to hit OK.

Ok, when you open your phone app to make a call, go to Menu (top right)/Settings/DTMF Tones.

Can you get there?
27th August 2014, 04:25 PM   |  #18  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalfan78

Search XDA for the msl utility app. I was going to upload it but I can find it.

---------- Post added at 08:06 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:55 AM ----------

Try this one

https://www.dropbox.com/s/bimjty4i5r...MSLUtility.apk

I appreciate you uploading this, but it doesn't work either. When I run it I get an error: "A fatal error has occured. Could not read SPC. Please ensure you downloaded the application for your particular phone."
27th August 2014, 04:29 PM   |  #19  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkMidnight

Ok, when you open your phone app to make a call, go to Menu (top right)/Settings/DTMF Tones.

Can you get there?


When I go to settings I get two choices, "Call" and Contacts". When I choose "Call" I get these options:

Call rejection
Answering and ending calls
Call notification pop ups
In-call status pop-up
Show caller information
Call alerts
Call accessories
Additional settings

Ringtone and keypad tones
Personalize call sound
Noise reduction

Voicemail service
Voicemail settings
Sound
Vibrate

Ive gone through each one of the sub menus available and there is no DTMF tones or anything like it anywhere.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes