FORUMS

AOSP 5.1 Lollipop for Nexus Q

Google Nexus Q is an intriguing device released with Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich. It was abandoned by … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (Apr 17 – 24)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Glimpse Notifications: Easier Lockscreen Notifications

Lollipop brought a revamp to the lockscreen, taking away custom widgets but … more

What Are the Best Looking Apps on Android?

As more developers are updating their apps with Material Design elements, we’re … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

(help) kali linux on galaxy s5 sm-g900f

2nd August 2014, 11:17 AM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
hello guys sorry for my english, but at the time is possibile to have kali linux on android 4.4.2 of galaxy s5??? i try a lot of guide but nothing, thanks
Last edited by fray37310; 2nd August 2014 at 11:27 AM.
 
 
3rd August 2014, 03:13 AM |#2  
la2o's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 79
 
Donate to Me
More
Post
Yes there is a way. I am running Kali Linux on my Galaxy s5 now!!

Download linux deploy and install Kali linux from there.

GL!
3rd August 2014, 11:36 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by la2o

Yes there is a way. I am running Kali Linux on my Galaxy s5 now!!

Download linux deploy and install Kali linux from there.

GL!


i've already tried but nothing , maybe can you send me a pvt message with a little guide for the installation?? p.s. i have a sdcard of 8 gb
4th October 2014, 11:22 PM |#4  
mascondante's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
I tried Linux on Android but it gives invalid argument mounting the loop device. Linux Deploy has an option to not use a loop device and install to a folder I think. Not positive. Try Advanced Linux Installer. That might work. It costs but it's way better than the free version. Try Standard Linux Installer first if you like.
6th October 2014, 09:53 AM |#5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Could you please add some note on how you managed to install?

I am trying with several options, but always get stuck on a "dd: permission denied" creating the volume

Z
7th October 2014, 08:43 PM |#6  
mascondante's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
I'll try to provide that info. What you're seeing likely means where it's trying to write isn't allowed. Try changing the install location to somewhere safe like /data/kali or something. Also I just found out the S5 won't do ext2 so if you're trying to do a loop device use ext4 if possible. Sorry I don't have more info at the moment.
27th November 2014, 04:13 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I am having the same issue. What SU app are you using? I am using SuperSU, I read that SuperSU might be the problem but I do not know the conditions on how to switch SU apps. Hopefully we can find a solution.
2nd December 2014, 10:55 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Flag wellington
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Just got running.

use a terminal emulator as root
cd /data/data/ru.meefik.linuxdeploy/linux/bin
rm sh chroot
ln -s /system/bin/mksh sh
ln -s /system/xbin/busybox chroot

make sure your file location is on your sd card
change image size to appropriate size.
also change to ext4 file system
4th February 2015, 02:20 AM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DipSprayArc

Just got running.

use a terminal emulator as root
cd /data/data/ru.meefik.linuxdeploy/linux/bin
rm sh chroot
ln -s /system/bin/mksh sh
ln -s /system/xbin/busybox chroot

make sure your file location is on your sd card
change image size to appropriate size.
also change to ext4 file system

Can you explain this deeper? I typed that in an emulater but no luck
4th February 2015, 02:27 AM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by DipSprayArc

Just got running.

use a terminal emulator as root
cd /data/data/ru.meefik.linuxdeploy/linux/bin
rm sh chroot
ln -s /system/bin/mksh sh
ln -s /system/xbin/busybox chroot

make sure your file location is on your sd card
change image size to appropriate size.
also change to ext4 file system

Also here are screen shots of my errors, settings, and anything else I figured might be useful to you. Thanks for help in advance.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2015-02-03-20-22-42.png
Views:	382
Size:	207.6 KB
ID:	3148825   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2015-02-03-20-22-57.png
Views:	378
Size:	201.1 KB
ID:	3148826   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2015-02-03-20-25-36.jpg
Views:	364
Size:	219.7 KB
ID:	3148830   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2015-02-03-20-25-46.jpg
Views:	312
Size:	208.8 KB
ID:	3148831  
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes