Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] How to know if it is Art or Dalvik which is used?

OP ilan78

23rd July 2014, 11:44 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Hello i have a s5 with stock rom G900FXXU1ANG2 and itis rooted.

I have choosen art instead of dalvik in developper settings, the phone has rebooted but without installed anithing. The reboot was very quickly , normal as usual as a normal reboot.

I would like to know how can i check which runtime is used between art and dalvik because i have the impression that my choice to use art is not ok....

Help me please...

I would like to use art because my phone is hot and not so speed..and i would like to try ART because a lot af people say that is better than dalvik....
24th July 2014, 12:00 AM   |  #2  
fffft's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 632
 
1,978 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilan78


Help me please...


Settings > General > Developer options > Select runtime > Dalvik /ART
Reboot to recovery mode and clear the system cache.

You can confirm which is active by looking at
/data/property/persist.sys.dalvik.vm.lib

libdvm.so = Dalvik
libart.so = ART

.
24th July 2014, 04:13 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by fffft

Settings > General > Developer options > Select runtime > Dalvik /ART
Reboot to recovery mode and clear the system cache.

You can confirm which is active by looking at
/data/property/persist.sys.dalvik.vm.lib

libdvm.so = Dalvik
libart.so = ART

.

Thank you for your help but it doesn't work.. After choosing "use art" it reboots normally and i check and in data/property, it's always dalvik.....
5th January 2015, 07:28 PM   |  #4  
Member
Flag Fremoont
Thanks Meter: 0
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Hello
I have nexus 7, recently update to lollipop 5.0.2 and rooted. I have no select runtime available under developer options. So I dont know what runtime is being used. Please help.
thanks
5th January 2015, 10:05 PM   |  #5  
speedme's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Breda
Thanks Meter: 114
 
475 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tahrang

Hello
I have nexus 7, recently update to lollipop 5.0.2 and rooted. I have no select runtime available under developer options. So I dont know what runtime is being used. Please help.
thanks

Android 5 (0.2) only has ART as runtime, there is no Dalvik anymore
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes