Lockdown Pro 2 Brings Material Design and Media Support

Back in March of this year, we took a look at a rather innovated security application … more

Mural Watchface Brings 500px to Android Wear

On a traditional watch, you can’t really do too much to change its appearance once … more

Android 5.0 Favorite Features, Release November 3rd? – XDA TV

Google Confirms Android 5.0 Lollipop for November 3rd! That and much more … more

Prepare Your Build Machines: Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn Now Official

Today is an important day for any and all Linux enthusiasts. One of the … more
Post Reply

Phone wont sleep ro turn off while charging.

OP sliex

29th August 2014, 05:44 PM   |  #1  
sliex's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
72 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
For some reason my phone has to be turned off manually every time. Does not time out at all. Set to 30 seconds.
Dev options "stay awake" is off, daydreaming is off, most of the bells and whistles are off (air view, gestures, etc...)
While plugged into charger it stays awake just the same, but even if i turn it off manually it will light up by itself in 5 seconds...

How to ascertain what keeps my phone awake ? This is annoying...

Help ?

P.S. Prefer not to wipe if i can...
29th August 2014, 11:17 PM   |  #2  
Info 2 i
Quote:
Originally Posted by sliex

For some reason my phone has to be turned off manually every time. Does not time out at all. Set to 30 seconds.
Dev options "stay awake" is off, daydreaming is off, most of the bells and whistles are off (air view, gestures, etc...)
While plugged into charger it stays awake just the same, but even if i turn it off manually it will light up by itself in 5 seconds...

How to ascertain what keeps my phone awake ? This is annoying...

Help ?

P.S. Prefer not to wipe if i can...

IF you are sure everything normal in Settings
so
This can happen because of some bad apps (called malware or ...)
u should check if u installed an application that get System Permissions to wake ur screen up!
u can search "wakelock permission android" to read more about it.
the solution is finding this app and uninstall it
if u cannot find it so u need to Reset to Factory
and If u guess an app can do this but problem remains after uninstall it then it s problem in ur rom
u can Flash another Stock firmware (sammobile.com/firmware) so u don't need to wipe rom.

after all if u still see the same issue WIPE it

Hit Thanks if it was useful
30th August 2014, 02:35 AM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
98 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
I'm having the same problem with mine phone...
30th August 2014, 09:48 AM   |  #5  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,146
 
8,559 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zorrigas

Flash a Stock Rom !

+ data factory reset to wipe wrong settings.
30th August 2014, 07:25 PM   |  #6  
Member
Flag Chile
Thanks Meter: 21
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gee2012

+ data factory reset to wipe wrong settings.


I said thinking if has a custom rom ;P
30th August 2014, 07:43 PM   |  #7  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,146
 
8,559 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zorrigas

I said thinking if has a custom rom ;P

Yup but a data factory reset would be adviced too next to flashing a stock rom first.
The Following User Says Thank You to gee2012 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th August 2014, 11:02 PM   |  #8  
Michael_P's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 103
 
655 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Try to remember which apps you installed recently and force stop one by one until the screen times out.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy S 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank