ATAP Joins Google, Project Tango is Alive and Kicking

Advanced Technology and Projects group (or simply ATAP) are the group of masterminds … more

Official TWRP for Sony Xperia L

TWRP is one of the most commonly used custom recoveries for Android. Thanks to TeamWin members and XDA Senior … more

Purple Material Design Theme

Wondering what your phone’s UI would look like in purple? This theme for CyanogenMod 12 made by XDA Senior … more

Both Cellular Nexus 7s Get 5.0.2 Lollipop!

If you are eager to try out the latest and greatest on your Nexus 7 LTE (2013) or Nexus 7 Mobile … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Please help asap

OP carrd

2nd July 2014, 01:39 PM   |  #1  
carrd's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 51
 
249 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
HI, really sorry if this is a noob question but would someone be able to answer this asap. I live in the UK and purchased an S5 off ebay it stated it was the SM-G900F (UK varient I believe) but upon delivery I checked and its the SM-G900S which is the Korean vairent.
So I put my sim in and it displays that im roaming which is obviously wrong. Can I just flash a UK rom and will everything work like uk varient or is the radio bands or anything else different. Please answer asap as I will need to contact ebay.

Also is this 4G version and will it work in UK?
2nd July 2014, 01:51 PM   |  #2  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,362
 
9,089 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by carrd

HI, really sorry if this is a noob question but would someone be able to answer this asap. I live in the UK and purchased an S5 off ebay it stated it was the SM-G900F (UK varient I believe) but upon delivery I checked and its the SM-G900S which is the Korean vairent.
So I put my sim in and it displays that im roaming which is obviously wrong. Can I just flash a UK rom and will everything work like uk varient or is the radio bands or anything else different. Please answer asap as I will need to contact ebay.

Also is this 4G version and will it work in UK?

Here are the specs http://pdadb.net/index.php?m=specs&i...amsung_pacific and here http://www.droidgod.com/2014/05/sams...ions-features/. It looks quite similar for the G900F but check if the supportd LTE bands are compatible.
Last edited by gee2012; 2nd July 2014 at 01:54 PM.
2nd July 2014, 01:54 PM   |  #3  
carrd's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 51
 
249 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by gee2012

Here are the specs http://pdadb.net/index.php?m=specs&i...amsung_pacific and here http://www.droidgod.com/2014/05/sams...ions-features/. It looks quite similar for the G900F but check if the LTE bands are compatible.

Thank you for your reply. so is it just a casf flashing the UK vairent (F) will the model change in settings?
2nd July 2014, 01:56 PM   |  #4  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,362
 
9,089 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by carrd

Thank you for your reply. so is it just a casf flashing the UK vairent (F) will the model change in settings?

No, LTE bands are defined in the radio chip. You cannot change these bands by flash a different rom or modem.
2nd July 2014, 01:58 PM   |  #5  
carrd's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 51
 
249 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by gee2012

No, LTE bands are defined in the radio chip. You cannot change these bands by flash a different rom or modem.

apoligies I should of been more clear my fault if the bands match can i just flash the uk version via odin or will it not work?
2nd July 2014, 02:01 PM   |  #6  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,362
 
9,089 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by carrd

apoligies I should of been more clear my fault if the bands match can i just flash the uk version via odin or will it not work?

Yes, as the cpu/gpu, screen and reoslution are similar i guess you could do that. Don`t know the supported LTE bands of the 900S though. Maybe its best to file a complaint to Ebay about the seller misleading you as you probably will not have warranty either.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes