Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Pure Kitkat Rom

OP vacdk

7th November 2014, 10:18 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2014
Hi, im new to this flashing and rom thing.
I have tryed it at its working fine.

But my question is, if its possible to get a pure Kitkat rom to install on the S5 without any modifications ?
7th November 2014, 04:21 PM   |  #2  
TigerDNA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 49
 
411 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by vacdk

Hi, im new to this flashing and rom thing.
I have tryed it at its working fine.

But my question is, if its possible to get a pure Kitkat rom to install on the S5 without any modifications ?

Yes
7th November 2014, 06:28 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by TigerDNA

Yes

Thanks for verifying it, can someone allso point me in the right direction, Where can i find the rom?
7th November 2014, 06:36 PM   |  #4  
Theshawty's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,692
 
1010
16,009 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vacdk

Thanks for verifying it, can someone allso point me in the right direction, Where can i find the rom?

Pure as in vanilla?
7th November 2014, 07:52 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2014
Actually I don't know what version vanilla is. I have the S5 with touchwiz I only just want the Android look like a nexus. Don't like the touchwiz design.
7th November 2014, 08:07 PM   |  #6  
Theshawty's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,692
 
1010
16,009 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vacdk

Actually I don't know what version vanilla is. I have the S5 with touchwiz I only just want the Android look like a nexus. Don't like the touchwiz design.

Flash CM11 nightlies.

Check download.cyanogenmod.org.

Edit: if you have the G900f, check the klte category.

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Theshawty For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th November 2014, 08:27 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theshawty

Flash CM11 nightlies.

Check download.cyanogenmod.org.

Edit: if you have the G900f, check the klte category.

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

Thanks a lot ☺
I have the sm-g900f
7th November 2014, 08:32 PM   |  #8  
Theshawty's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,692
 
1010
16,009 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vacdk

Thanks a lot ☺

There's a button for that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vacdk

I have the sm-g900f

CM11; http://download.cyanogenmod.org/?device=klte
Gapps: http://wiki.cyanogenmod.org/w/Google_Apps

Download both and place them on your phone or the sd card. Boot into twrp/cwm and factory reset. Flash CM, then gapps. Boot up and you're done.
The Following User Says Thank You to Theshawty For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th November 2014, 08:36 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theshawty

There's a button for that.



CM11; http://download.cyanogenmod.org/?device=klte
Gapps: http://wiki.cyanogenmod.org/w/Google_Apps

Download both and place them on your phone or the sd card. Boot into twrp/cwm and factory reset. Flash CM, then gapps. Boot up and you're done.

Don't I have to save my original Rom so I always can come back?
7th November 2014, 08:40 PM   |  #10  
Theshawty's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,692
 
1010
16,009 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vacdk

Don't I have to save my original Rom so I always can come back?

Sure, you can do a nandroid within cwn/twrp but once you flash something, Knox will forever be broken.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes