The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

How to Root Android Wear 5.0.1 Lollipop Devices – XDA TV

The Lollipop update for Android Wear devices has hit the market and people are … more

Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

S5 Lte-A UK Firmware Flash

OP andybg40

27th July 2014, 09:44 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Hi All

As the title says. Can I flash an LTE-A version with UK firmware?

Many thanks.
27th July 2014, 11:22 PM   |  #2  
Galaxy_Guy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Aleppo
Thanks Meter: 169
 
412 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by andybg40

Hi All

As the title says. Can I flash an LTE-A version with UK firmware?

Many thanks.

what do you mean by LTE-A?? do you mean the model SM-G900F ??
if yes well you can flash uk firmware.

hope that I helped
28th July 2014, 09:07 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galaxy_Guy

what do you mean by LTE-A?? do you mean the model SM-G900F ??
if yes well you can flash uk firmware.

hope that I helped

I have the SM-G906K version of the prime device, is that still doable?
28th July 2014, 09:10 AM   |  #4  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,287
 
8,924 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by andybg40

I have the SM-G906K version of the prime device, is that still doable?

I wouldn`t risk flashing firmware that`s designed for a different device model, in this case the G900F firmware on a G906K.
Last edited by gee2012; 28th July 2014 at 11:06 AM.
28th July 2014, 10:04 AM   |  #5  
fffft's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 621
 
1,978 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by andybg40

Can I flash an LTE-A version with UK firmware?


There isn't a lot of reliable information about your model so there is no authorative answer.

Most will say that it's risky and not recommended to flash a firmware from another variant. As well, you don't simply have a different variant of the 801 Snapdragon based S5. You have a derivative model, with a different processor (805), screen resolution, et cetera. Strongly arguing that it is highly unlikely to work and would likely brick your phone.

The best you might hope for is someone alleging that they were able to do so. And then you'd still need to estimate the credibility of such a report.

If you have root and a custom recovery installed, you could remove much of the risk by trying a 900F based custom ROM, e.g. the Phoenix ROM, rather than flash stock 900F firmware. All in all though, it's an improbable fit.

.
Last edited by fffft; 28th July 2014 at 10:14 AM.
28th July 2014, 02:45 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by fffft

There isn't a lot of reliable information about your model so there is no authorative answer.

Most will say that it's risky and not recommended to flash a firmware from another variant. As well, you don't simply have a different variant of the 801 Snapdragon based S5. You have a derivative model, with a different processor (805), screen resolution, et cetera. Strongly arguing that it is highly unlikely to work and would likely brick your phone.

The best you might hope for is someone alleging that they were able to do so. And then you'd still need to estimate the credibility of such a report.

If you have root and a custom recovery installed, you could remove much of the risk by trying a 900F based custom ROM, e.g. the Phoenix ROM, rather than flash stock 900F firmware. All in all though, it's an improbable fit.

.

Thanks for your help guys.

Yep, I imported this model for the specs. It's not a real drama on the stock firmware tbh. I just wanted to remove the splash screen and network installed apps from Korea.

I've hidden the apps, but there are still a couple of Korean bits and pieces I would like to get rid of. Maybe a firmware or suitable rom will become available soon.
29th August 2014, 03:21 AM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
78 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
No, u can't use the SM-G900F firmware on the SM-G906K

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes