Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Android Lollipop Lands for the Sony Xperia Z Ultra

The undisputed king of the beasts–at least in Sony’s current stable,is the … more

Android 5.0 Lollipop in 3D–EVO 3D, That Is!

It is that time of the year once again. Flowers bloom (or snow falls, depending on which … more

Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

S5 Lte-A UK Firmware Flash

OP andybg40

27th July 2014, 09:44 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Hi All

As the title says. Can I flash an LTE-A version with UK firmware?

Many thanks.
27th July 2014, 11:22 PM   |  #2  
Galaxy_Guy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Aleppo
Thanks Meter: 145
 
392 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by andybg40

Hi All

As the title says. Can I flash an LTE-A version with UK firmware?

Many thanks.

what do you mean by LTE-A?? do you mean the model SM-G900F ??
if yes well you can flash uk firmware.

hope that I helped
28th July 2014, 09:07 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galaxy_Guy

what do you mean by LTE-A?? do you mean the model SM-G900F ??
if yes well you can flash uk firmware.

hope that I helped

I have the SM-G906K version of the prime device, is that still doable?
28th July 2014, 09:10 AM   |  #4  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Heerlen
Thanks Meter: 3,248
 
8,819 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by andybg40

I have the SM-G906K version of the prime device, is that still doable?

I wouldn`t risk flashing firmware that`s designed for a different device model, in this case the G900F firmware on a G906K.
Last edited by gee2012; 28th July 2014 at 11:06 AM.
28th July 2014, 10:04 AM   |  #5  
fffft's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 615
 
1,978 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by andybg40

Can I flash an LTE-A version with UK firmware?


There isn't a lot of reliable information about your model so there is no authorative answer.

Most will say that it's risky and not recommended to flash a firmware from another variant. As well, you don't simply have a different variant of the 801 Snapdragon based S5. You have a derivative model, with a different processor (805), screen resolution, et cetera. Strongly arguing that it is highly unlikely to work and would likely brick your phone.

The best you might hope for is someone alleging that they were able to do so. And then you'd still need to estimate the credibility of such a report.

If you have root and a custom recovery installed, you could remove much of the risk by trying a 900F based custom ROM, e.g. the Phoenix ROM, rather than flash stock 900F firmware. All in all though, it's an improbable fit.

.
Last edited by fffft; 28th July 2014 at 10:14 AM.
28th July 2014, 02:45 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by fffft

There isn't a lot of reliable information about your model so there is no authorative answer.

Most will say that it's risky and not recommended to flash a firmware from another variant. As well, you don't simply have a different variant of the 801 Snapdragon based S5. You have a derivative model, with a different processor (805), screen resolution, et cetera. Strongly arguing that it is highly unlikely to work and would likely brick your phone.

The best you might hope for is someone alleging that they were able to do so. And then you'd still need to estimate the credibility of such a report.

If you have root and a custom recovery installed, you could remove much of the risk by trying a 900F based custom ROM, e.g. the Phoenix ROM, rather than flash stock 900F firmware. All in all though, it's an improbable fit.

.

Thanks for your help guys.

Yep, I imported this model for the specs. It's not a real drama on the stock firmware tbh. I just wanted to remove the splash screen and network installed apps from Korea.

I've hidden the apps, but there are still a couple of Korean bits and pieces I would like to get rid of. Maybe a firmware or suitable rom will become available soon.
29th August 2014, 03:21 AM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
73 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
No, u can't use the SM-G900F firmware on the SM-G906K

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes