Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,599 Members 43,042 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

S5 Lte-A UK Firmware Flash

Tip us?
 
andybg40
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jun 2011
Default S5 Lte-A UK Firmware Flash

Hi All

As the title says. Can I flash an LTE-A version with UK firmware?

Many thanks.
 
Galaxy_Guy
Old
#2  
Galaxy_Guy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 138
Posts: 378
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Aleppo
Quote:
Originally Posted by andybg40 View Post
Hi All

As the title says. Can I flash an LTE-A version with UK firmware?

Many thanks.
what do you mean by LTE-A?? do you mean the model SM-G900F ??
if yes well you can flash uk firmware.

hope that I helped
Current device: Samsung Galaxy S5 SM-G900F
Press Thanks if i helped you
Old device(sold): Samsung Galaxy Ace

http://forum.xda-developers.com/signaturepics/sigpic4653153_5.gif
 
andybg40
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galaxy_Guy View Post
what do you mean by LTE-A?? do you mean the model SM-G900F ??
if yes well you can flash uk firmware.

hope that I helped
I have the SM-G906K version of the prime device, is that still doable?
 
gee2012
Old
(Last edited by gee2012; 28th July 2014 at 10:06 AM.)
#4  
gee2012's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,049
Posts: 8,346
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Heerlen
Quote:
Originally Posted by andybg40 View Post
I have the SM-G906K version of the prime device, is that still doable?
I wouldn`t risk flashing firmware that`s designed for a different device model, in this case the G900F firmware on a G906K.
USE Search: /this thread /all threads/Google before posting your question, you`re most likely not the first one having this issue
 
fffft
Old
(Last edited by fffft; 28th July 2014 at 09:14 AM.)
#5  
fffft's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 412
Posts: 1,558
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by andybg40
Can I flash an LTE-A version with UK firmware?

There isn't a lot of reliable information about your model so there is no authorative answer.

Most will say that it's risky and not recommended to flash a firmware from another variant. As well, you don't simply have a different variant of the 801 Snapdragon based S5. You have a derivative model, with a different processor (805), screen resolution, et cetera. Strongly arguing that it is highly unlikely to work and would likely brick your phone.

The best you might hope for is someone alleging that they were able to do so. And then you'd still need to estimate the credibility of such a report.

If you have root and a custom recovery installed, you could remove much of the risk by trying a 900F based custom ROM, e.g. the Phoenix ROM, rather than flash stock 900F firmware. All in all though, it's an improbable fit.

.
 
andybg40
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by fffft View Post
There isn't a lot of reliable information about your model so there is no authorative answer.

Most will say that it's risky and not recommended to flash a firmware from another variant. As well, you don't simply have a different variant of the 801 Snapdragon based S5. You have a derivative model, with a different processor (805), screen resolution, et cetera. Strongly arguing that it is highly unlikely to work and would likely brick your phone.

The best you might hope for is someone alleging that they were able to do so. And then you'd still need to estimate the credibility of such a report.

If you have root and a custom recovery installed, you could remove much of the risk by trying a 900F based custom ROM, e.g. the Phoenix ROM, rather than flash stock 900F firmware. All in all though, it's an improbable fit.

.
Thanks for your help guys.

Yep, I imported this model for the specs. It's not a real drama on the stock firmware tbh. I just wanted to remove the splash screen and network installed apps from Korea.

I've hidden the apps, but there are still a couple of Korean bits and pieces I would like to get rid of. Maybe a firmware or suitable rom will become available soon.
 
Mandoza
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 22
Join Date: Aug 2014
No, u can't use the SM-G900F firmware on the SM-G906K

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Jair Player with a Major Update–Here’s What’s New!

Back in May, we talked a bit aboutJair Player, a nice looking music … more

Paid Android App Developers Will Soon Have to Provide Physical Address

Google has now changed its policies regarding paid app developers. … more

Windows Developers Rejoice! Dev Program’s $99 Yearly Fee is No More!

Microsoft rule in the mobile market, much like the giant dinosaurs … more

Add the Xperia Z2 Lock Screen to Your Favorite KitKat ROM

Almost every OEM adds its own unique flair to their stock firmwares. While some of … more