Android 5.0 Leaked for the Samsung Galaxy Note 3

Android Lollipop is still making its way to many new devices. Firmware updates have been … more

Learn to Sync Files Between Android And PC with Unison

Dropbox and similar cloud services are great if youre planning to keep your files … more

OnePlus Indian Ban Lifted, Android One Expanding – XDA TV

Android 5.0.1 Lollipop is available for the Nvidia SHIELD Tablet! That and … more

Nvidia and Robotics w/ Barrett Williams – XDA:DevCon 2014

Robotics continues to dominate our videos from this years XDA:DevCon 2014 in … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Screen Mirroring does not work with Custom Status (ROOT_Status) Need official status

OP btemtd

31st August 2014, 05:30 AM   |  #1  
btemtd's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,000
 
2,051 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Donate to Me
Hi Guys,

I have just realised something, this is nothing to do with KNOX, it is only the official status thing that changes when you have a custom Kernel or Custom rom.

Screen Mirroring does NOT work when you are in Custom Status, this happened to be the same when I googled and found S4 was the same post after post after post of people stating the same thing (I get an error or hardware device error when screen mirror starts or it will start for 4 seconds then stop.

For people wanting to see their status -
You can see this in Download Mode or You can see this in ABOUT DEVICE > STATUS> Scroll all the way down to bottom.

There is a solution which worked on the S4, where you were able to change status from custom back to Official, Yes KNOX is still tripped if you have tripped it but the status is able to be changed back to official

Can someone please direct me to a way we can get official status back on the S5, I love my kernel and my tweaks, and I love my latest firmware I dont care about Knox. For the people who are scared about Knox, I was able to change my phone for a new phone because of a defect and this is after I triggered knox, I was sent a new phone and I placed the old phone in the bag and sent it back, guess what ? I tripped knox again lol (who cares) most of the time when you go to swap your phone they don't check.

All I want is the official status back so I can get my screen mirroring working, this is an awesome feature
The Following User Says Thank You to btemtd For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st August 2014, 10:24 AM   |  #2  
btemtd's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,000
 
2,051 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Donate to Me
Anyone?

Am I the only person with a rooted Knox-tripped S5 with custom , Recovery,Kernel & want to use screen mirroring?

S5 Development is no where near the type of dev we had when the S3 came out, pretty sad.

I think now that the HTC + LG are up in terms of hardware many people left the samsung scene leaving less devs in the area.
9th October 2014, 03:25 PM   |  #3  
hiyachi-32's Avatar
Member
Flag İZMİR
Thanks Meter: 8
 
67 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Hi,
I have same promlem here. when I open screen mirroring tv and phone connects and suddenly disconnect and shows a error ''screen mirroring cant start caused by a hardware problem''.
I have sm g900h stock kernel+xtrestolit rom+cwm recowery
The Following User Says Thank You to hiyachi-32 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th October 2014, 08:51 PM   |  #4  
juDGEY2k10's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Liverpool
Thanks Meter: 102
 
747 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
works fine for me
9th October 2014, 10:00 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by btemtd

Am I the only person with a rooted Knox-tripped S5 with custom , Recovery,Kernel & want to use screen mirroring?

No, you aren't. For me with Knox tripped and custom recovery, kernel and NeatROM2.3 it works fine and I am in custom status.
10th October 2014, 08:36 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2014
More
Using Xposed app "Wanam Xposed", you can set your status to Official under the "security Hacks" section of the app.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes