Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

CPU Spy Gets an Android Lollipop Makeover

At some point in the distant past, you probably heard of CPU Spy for Android by XDARetired … more

Amazon Fire TV Stick vs Chromecast – XDA TV

There is no doubt that Amazon is a huge player in many markets, and they want to be a huge … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Anyone use Tasker with their GS5?

OP JoeFCaputo113

8th July 2014, 12:46 AM   |  #1  
JoeFCaputo113's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Dutchess County, New York
Thanks Meter: 1,859
 
4,562 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
And have you been able to activate Power Saving Mode automatically with it? TIA!
8th July 2014, 12:56 AM   |  #2  
dpwhitty11's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston/Waco
Thanks Meter: 222
 
1,632 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
You'll probably just have to hunt around the for activity that starts power save mode and set it to activate whenever criteria are met.


I use Tasker for wireless charging. I have one set up in my car and nightstand, so when it gets set on them, the screen timeout is set to 7 seconds and then it starts to Daydream.


I'd love one for turning on FoxFi when it realizes it's connected to a computer... But it's impossible to contact the devs. I wish they'd make it so we could launch each activity ourselves. Or at least make a plugin for it.
8th July 2014, 01:03 AM   |  #3  
JoeFCaputo113's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Dutchess County, New York
Thanks Meter: 1,859
 
4,562 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpwhitty11

You'll probably just have to hunt around the for activity that starts power save mode and set it to activate whenever criteria are met.


I use Tasker for wireless charging. I have one set up in my car and nightstand, so when it gets set on them, the screen timeout is set to 7 seconds and then it starts to Daydream.


I'd love one for turning on FoxFi when it realizes it's connected to a computer... But it's impossible to contact the devs. I wish they'd make it so we could launch each activity ourselves. Or at least make a plugin for it.

Do you happen to know the activity?
8th July 2014, 01:05 AM   |  #4  
dpwhitty11's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston/Waco
Thanks Meter: 222
 
1,632 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
No idea, sorry. Best guess is to find which apk the power save comes from, and from there decompile it and try each activity until it triggers.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
8th July 2014, 01:35 AM   |  #5  
JoeFCaputo113's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Dutchess County, New York
Thanks Meter: 1,859
 
4,562 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpwhitty11

No idea, sorry. Best guess is to find which apk the power save comes from, and from there decompile it and try each activity until it triggers.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

It comes from within the settings. I have the package name for it can I do it with that?
8th July 2014, 06:07 AM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Get the app 'Activity Launcher' from the play store.

Once installed, activate the power saving option from the settings.
Open activity launcher and it should be in your "recently used" list. From here you should be able to get the procedure to call using tasker.
8th July 2014, 07:40 AM   |  #7  
volkie1912's Avatar
Member
Flag Izmir/KSK
Thanks Meter: 2
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe0113

And have you been able to activate Power Saving Mode automatically with it? TIA!

I tried with secure settings plug in, and doesn't work
8th July 2014, 07:55 AM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
http://www.reddit.com/r/tasker/comme...er_saver_mode/

Someone does it there with screen taps.

Not ideal, but at least it's something.
8th July 2014, 08:05 AM   |  #9  
JoeFCaputo113's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Dutchess County, New York
Thanks Meter: 1,859
 
4,562 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by moonrakerone

http://www.reddit.com/r/tasker/comme...er_saver_mode/

Someone does it there with screen taps.

Not ideal, but at least it's something.

That's cool! But I want to just activate regular PSM over night!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes