Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Replaced cracked Digitizer

OP demetrios3

13th July 2014, 01:59 AM   |  #1  
demetrios3's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag White Plains, NY
Thanks Meter: 55
 
221 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
I dropped my GT-P7510 and the screen shattered but didn't call out. I was able to use the tablet but was worried about cutting my fingers as I swipped. I bought replacement digitizer on Amazon for $15 and with the help of a YouTube video was able to remove the old screen and install the new one. It took me no more than 20 minutes, all I needed was a hair dryer and a few butter knives.

"This seemed too easy" was my thoughts as I was powering the tablet. Everything started up fine, was working perfectly UNTIL I noticed a few "dead spots" on the new touchscreen. One of which is right over the install button in the Play Store.

It's not the end of the world as this tablet is quite old and I really only use this to play Appeak Poker and the only new apps I install are the sponsored apps in Appeak that give me free chis just for running them.

Has anyone else experienced this problem after replacing their digitizer and if so, is there a fix?

Thanks
31st October 2014, 10:23 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by demetrios3

I dropped my GT-P7510 and the screen shattered but didn't call out. I was able to use the tablet but was worried about cutting my fingers as I swipped. I bought replacement digitizer on Amazon for $15 and with the help of a YouTube video was able to remove the old screen and install the new one. It took me no more than 20 minutes, all I needed was a hair dryer and a few butter knives.

"This seemed too easy" was my thoughts as I was powering the tablet. Everything started up fine, was working perfectly UNTIL I noticed a few "dead spots" on the new touchscreen. One of which is right over the install button in the Play Store.

It's not the end of the world as this tablet is quite old and I really only use this to play Appeak Poker and the only new apps I install are the sponsored apps in Appeak that give me free chis just for running them.

Has anyone else experienced this problem after replacing their digitizer and if so, is there a fix?

Thanks

Try checking the connection between the digitizer ribbon cable and mainboard socket thingy. Push it as far as possible without damaging and press the clip to secure connector.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes