Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Google Invites Selected Devs to Buy Project Tango Development Kit

Just about a month ago, the curious Project Tango development kit was … more

YU Yureka: Indian Handset with CyanogenMod

Thesoap opera involving Cyanogen Inc., OnePlus, and Micromax is one of the most talked about … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Galaxy Tab 3 8.0 On screen controls, Netflix, BBC iPlayer

OP philwaters21

5th July 2014, 09:04 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
There is definitely an issue with the on screen controls and Netflix, BBC iPlayer, TV Anywhere (Virgin) etc

Many people have complained on Netflix's Play Store page by giving 1 star and saying since the Netflix update you are not able to pause, scroll forward or back as the on screen controls appear for a split second and then disappear, but it isn't Netflix's fault as the same issue exists with BBC iPlayer (downloaded content playing back only - not streaming) and Virgin's TV Anywhere.

This only began after the OTA upgrade to 4.4.2.

Apart from my feelings that the battery is draining quicker, the navigation is not as fluid and the native video player sound is not as good, this update has proved to be a failure in my view.

I read that the bootloader was locked so custom rom is out of the question at the moment (I think, not that clued up on such issues) - but I wouldn't want to root anyway as it renders Sky Go and other apps useless.

Can someone shed some light as to what is wrong and how to fix?
5th July 2014, 05:16 PM   |  #2  
Member
Flag Tampere
Thanks Meter: 0
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
No problem with BBC I Player. Don't use the other two. I'm rooted and been able to get rid of some of the Samsung junk. Can't run apk's as reported in another thread. Have you a link to the bootloader issue?

Sent from my SM-T310 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
5th July 2014, 05:32 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rofa1

No problem with BBC I Player. Don't use the other two. I'm rooted and been able to get rid of some of the Samsung junk. Can't run apk's as reported in another thread. Have you a link to the bootloader issue?

Sent from my SM-T310 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

So if you download a programme on iPlayer and watch you are able to pause while watching?

The thread I saw the locked bootloader info was here - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2788770 - but I am not sure if this is referencing a different rom?
14th July 2014, 04:58 PM   |  #4  
Member
Flag Tampere
Thanks Meter: 0
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Sorry for delay in replying. Yes I can pause. I'm also note on CM11 4.4.4. And extremely happy

Sent from my GT-I9300 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
14th July 2014, 05:09 PM   |  #5  
Gilly10's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 164
 
499 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Netflix is still broken, there's been about 3 bug fixes lately & not one of those fixes the controls.
15th July 2014, 08:50 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Puerto Rico
Thanks Meter: 29
 
196 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Yep still broken.

Sent from my SM-T310 using Tapatalk
25th September 2014, 12:44 AM   |  #7  
gr8nole's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Lynchburg, VA
Thanks Meter: 3,869
 
2,510 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilly10

Netflix is still broken, there's been about 3 bug fixes lately & not one of those fixes the controls.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lakland

Yep still broken.

Sent from my SM-T310 using Tapatalk

If you guys still need a fix, I have it. It is an edit to android.policy.jar. Let me know if you need it.
14th November 2014, 07:42 AM   |  #8  
infektedpc's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Springfield
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
i need it
Im still having this issue
Quote:
Originally Posted by gr8nole

If you guys still need a fix, I have it. It is an edit to android.policy.jar. Let me know if you need it.

14th November 2014, 03:56 PM   |  #9  
Gilly10's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 164
 
499 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by gr8nole

If you guys still need a fix, I have it. It is an edit to android.policy.jar. Let me know if you need it.

@gr8nole
Yeah if you could provide it that'd be great, totally forgot about this thread.
17th November 2014, 03:45 PM   |  #10  
gr8nole's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Lynchburg, VA
Thanks Meter: 3,869
 
2,510 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by infektedpc

Im still having this issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilly10

@gr8nole
Yeah if you could provide it that'd be great, totally forgot about this thread.

Here is the android.policy.jar from my deodexed rom. It has the fix built in, but you will need be using deodexed rom for it to work.
Attached Files
File Type: jar android.policy.jar - [Click for QR Code] (281.2 KB, 14 views)

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to gr8nole For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes