Android 5.0 Lollipop in 3D–EVO 3D, That Is!

It is that time of the year once again. Flowers bloom (or snow falls, depending on which … more

Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[SOLVED] Is SD card usage wrong?

OP cviniciusm

20th August 2014, 04:33 PM   |  #1  
cviniciusm's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Brasília - DF
Thanks Meter: 69
 
388 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
Hello,

I encrypted internal memory.

Following, I installed several apps and moved some to the SD card.

The SD card usage not increased and the internal memory not decreased. So, I suppose it was due to the fact that I had encrypted the internal memory.

So, I uncrypted it. But, the issues remains.

How to solve this, please?





Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab Pro 10.1 (SM-T520) by Tapatalk.
Last edited by cviniciusm; 1st September 2014 at 01:28 PM. Reason: Solved
21st August 2014, 01:23 PM   |  #2  
dodo99x's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 73
 
331 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Setting, General, Storage, tap on Cached Data. It will ask you to confirm deleting it. Tap OK. It will free up some space.

Sent from my SM-P900 using Tapatalk
23rd August 2014, 05:39 AM   |  #3  
cviniciusm's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Brasília - DF
Thanks Meter: 69
 
388 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dodo99x

Setting, General, Storage, tap on Cached Data. It will ask you to confirm deleting it. Tap OK. It will free up some space.

Sent from my SM-P900 using Tapatalk

Hello,

I doesn't help.

I did factory reset and formatted SD card.

The same issue remains.
26th August 2014, 05:04 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Same here..
I found that the "moved to SD" apps were being moved to /mnt/asec which might be only a partition inside the ROM.
The external sd card is named as extSdCard and there is a "sdcard" that is actually a partition in the ROM.

Sent from my SM-T320 using XDA Free mobile app
27th August 2014, 04:53 PM   |  #5  
cviniciusm's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Brasília - DF
Thanks Meter: 69
 
388 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
Hello,

I did contact Samsung Support and used Smart Tutor.

"Move to SD" create the folders at SD card but doesn't move the files.

Even if you move the files manually it doesn't work, for example Amazon Kindle.

IT'S A BUG !!!
28th August 2014, 06:48 AM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
can I use sth like "directorybind", "foldermount"...
I'm using Link2SD Plus on my Xperia but I myself didn't like it
28th August 2014, 01:02 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Leipzig
Thanks Meter: 52
 
140 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
I use foldermount (pro version) to move several big folders to the external SD and it works like a charm on my T320.
29th August 2014, 02:34 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
193 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
I don't use the apptosd feature, I suggest installing link2sd its much better at moving the whole app to the external sdcard, and it just puts a link in the systems folders. Also I recommend buying the paid version of it as it will also move the data of the app as well

Sent from my SM-T320 using Tapatalk
29th August 2014, 02:40 AM   |  #9  
cviniciusm's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Brasília - DF
Thanks Meter: 69
 
388 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
Hello,

I am very sure that Samsung must correct this bug.
1st September 2014, 01:26 PM   |  #10  
cviniciusm's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Brasília - DF
Thanks Meter: 69
 
388 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
I was wrong
Quote:
Originally Posted by cviniciusm

Hello,

I am very sure that Samsung must correct this bug.

After read "The SDCard Bible for the Moto G 4G/LTE" (https://forums.motorola.com/posts/7e59cc7baf), I concluded I was wrong.

My UHS-I SanDisk Ultra® microSDHC™ 32 GB (SDSDQUA-032G) is working fine.

Feature "Move to SD card" is working fine, too.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes