Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,901 Members 54,353 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Snapdragon or Exynos Version?

Tip us?
 
Schwuar
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Nov 2012
Default Snapdragon or Exynos Version?

Hey all, I've decided to get a Tab s 10.5 however cant decide which CPU to go for, im not interested in LTE but it seems its the LTE version that has the snapdragon CPU. I live in the UK and on Samsungs official online store they sell both the WiFi version and LTE version with the Exynos CPU. However Carphone Warehouse are selling the LTE version with a "2.3ghz Processor" but it doesnt say Snapdragon although i assume it is. Its an extra 80 so is it worth it if i dont really need the 4G

http://www.carphonewarehouse.com/tab...ourCode=BRONZE (click features then specifications)

http://www.samsung.com/uk/consumer/c...SM-T800NTSABTU (need to click "ALL" on the right hand side)

http://www.samsung.com/uk/consumer/m...SM-T805NTSABTU (need to scroll down and click more specs)

I dont know if those links will work or not
 
qcjulle
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 14
Join Date: Jul 2014
I think all Euro/Asian version are with Exynos, both LTE and WiFi only. So far I have not heard of anyone having the Snapdragon variant, my guess is that it may be limited only to some US operator variants or such.
 
Melnificent
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jul 2014
Carphone warehouse 8.4 lte here on O2. It's Exynos, not snapdragon
 
Schwuar
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Nov 2012
Hmm so Carphone Warehouse have mis printed it? I suppose i could go in and ask to see the back of the box lol. If it turns out it is the snapdragon which is better? Itll mainly be used for youtube and browsing

Also i am going to tether it to my note 3 that has 4g but have never done it so dont know how it works. For me to utilise 4g on the tablet through my phone i take it ill need the LTE version?
 
mitchellvii
Old
(Last edited by mitchellvii; 8th August 2014 at 01:27 PM.)
#5  
mitchellvii's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,204
Posts: 5,353
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
It's all a bit confusing. Qualcomms website states that the Tab S LTE is powered by Snapdragon.
 
simacca
Old
#6  
simacca's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 149
Posts: 998
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Kent, uk
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schwuar View Post
Hmm so Carphone Warehouse have mis printed it? I suppose i could go in and ask to see the back of the box lol. If it turns out it is the snapdragon which is better? Itll mainly be used for youtube and browsing

Also i am going to tether it to my note 3 that has 4g but have never done it so dont know how it works. For me to utilise 4g on the tablet through my phone i take it ill need the LTE version?
You will only need the lte version if you plan to use a sim card inside the tablet. If you are tethering to your phone then you will only need the wifi model.

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk
 
pibach
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 178
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Berlin
As far as I know, Wifi only model does not come with ear speaker. I use it a lot as a phone, VoIP, replaced my phone at home, with Skype etc. Works great!
 
ChaoticDruid
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 281
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Wichita, Kansas
After doing a bit of research about it myself, recently. I have just found sellers with incorrect info about what they have for sale. All of them so far have the Exynos.

It is kind of funny though, the Samsung spec page has them listed as Exynos.
http://www.samsung.com/my/support/mo...AXME-techspecs

While the Qualcomm site says they are using their Snapdragon.
http://www.qualcomm.com/snapdragon/t...y-tab-s-84-lte
The Following User Says Thank You to ChaoticDruid For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mitchellvii
Old
#9  
mitchellvii's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,204
Posts: 5,353
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaoticDruid View Post
After doing a bit of research about it myself, recently. I have just found sellers with incorrect info about what they have for sale. All of them so far have the Exynos.

It is kind of funny though, the Samsung spec page has them listed as Exynos.
http://www.samsung.com/my/support/mo...AXME-techspecs

While the Qualcomm site says they are using their Snapdragon.
http://www.qualcomm.com/snapdragon/t...y-tab-s-84-lte
Yes confusing.
 
kenkiller
Old
#10  
kenkiller's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 444
Posts: 2,974
Join Date: Nov 2009
Supposedly only the Verizon LTE version uses the Snapdragon. Probably due to the modem integration.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Jair Player with a Major Update–Here’s What’s New!

Back in May, we talked a bit aboutJair Player, a nice looking music … more

Paid Android App Developers Will Soon Have to Provide Physical Address

Google has now changed its policies regarding paid app developers. … more

Windows Developers Rejoice! Dev Program’s $99 Yearly Fee is No More!

Microsoft rule in the mobile market, much like the giant dinosaurs … more