Would the LG G4 Fare Well With The Snapdragon 808?

The LG G4 has a lot to prove, given that last year’s LG G3 was among the best … more

CyanogenMod 12.1 for Android One

Android One devices once again got a pretty stable release of Android 5.1. XDA Recognized … more

DexPatcher: Patch Android APKs Using Java

You’ve probably seen or installed modified applications, be it a patched dialer for your … more

Is Cloud Storage Ready to Replace External Storage?

With more and more OEMs ditching SD cards on their flagships, cloud storage is … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Chrome / not remembering browser

21st August 2014, 02:23 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Wiltshire UK
Thanks Meter: 17
 
119 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Hey
Every time I open a web link the tab s keeps asking me to select which browser I wish to use even when I tell it to remember my selection, it doesn't.

I've installed the chrome samsung app but did nothing.

Seems to do it on both beta and the standard app.

Any ideas?
24th August 2014, 01:03 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 346
 
763 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
I think I saw that happen on a new tab s 10.5. If I can remember correctly it only happened when the browser was being launched from specific apps. This is on my sister's tablet which I was showing her how to use so I can't retest, sorry. I only noted the odd interaction because it happened that the browser was the first time that the dialogue with "Always" came up and we chose always for Chrome but it came up a second time and my sister asked why?

A theory is that multiple URL extensions ".html" and ".htm" and a variety of others (e.g. Streaming extensions) may all need to be added to the default app list. That is just a theory.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using XDA Premium HD app
10th October 2014, 01:41 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Wiltshire UK
Thanks Meter: 17
 
119 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3DSammy

I think I saw that happen on a new tab s 10.5. If I can remember correctly it only happened when the browser was being launched from specific apps. This is on my sister's tablet which I was showing her how to use so I can't retest, sorry. I only noted the odd interaction because it happened that the browser was the first time that the dialogue with "Always" came up and we chose always for Chrome but it came up a second time and my sister asked why?

A theory is that multiple URL extensions ".html" and ".htm" and a variety of others (e.g. Streaming extensions) may all need to be added to the default app list. That is just a theory.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using XDA Premium HD app

no as even if I go back to the original web link and click it a second time, its still asking which browser to use and whether I can to set as 'default' or 'use just once'.

After seeing a device on display in a shop, which didnt do this, I determined my device must have been fault so they exchanged it.

However the new one is doing exactly the same...!

Is no one else with a tab s having this issue?
12th January 2015, 03:24 PM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Flag Wiltshire UK
Thanks Meter: 17
 
119 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
I'm still having this issue.

It is not just chrome browser but any app where different options are available. On my other devices you can select which one to use as default or use an an 'just once'.

I fear my tablet has alzheimers.
16th January 2015, 06:26 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Wiltshire UK
Thanks Meter: 17
 
119 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Found it woo hoo. ...After 2 hours taking off app by app, it national express UK, anyone else having this problem try removing an app at a time after a factory reset. They've been informed!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes