Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

ViPER4Android driver install failed

OP wix256

26th August 2014, 07:48 AM   |  #21  
ifly4vamerica's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 316
 
1,280 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bataga

Well I installed the thunder rom and viper works on everything. Oh well

Weird I am on stock, just rooted and debloated and everything works a-ok. Glad you got it going!
The Following User Says Thank You to ifly4vamerica For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th September 2014, 04:32 PM   |  #22  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
146 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ifly4vamerica

OK all I have a fix for installing Viper on the Tab S.
Use any file explorer and navigate to /system/vendor/etc
Copy the audio.effects.conf in that location
Navigate to /system/etc and paste the file you copied there
Once copied change the permissions to match the other files in the /system/etc folder
Install Viper and it should work this time, apparently the audio.effects.conf file is expected to be in the /system/etc location and is not there by default for some reason....

THX for your hints ... is this necessary as well on tab s ?
Quote:

extract from system, and backup audio.effects.conf in both system/etc and system/vendor/etc
Insert under libraries section in both files

Code:
  v4a_fx {
   path /system/lib/soundfx/libv4a_fx_ics.so
  }
... and under the effects section again both files
  v4a_standard_fx  {
    library v4a_fx
    uuid 41d3c987-e6cf-11e3-a88a-11aba5d5c51b
   }
push back to thier places, set permissions, reboot.

Last edited by gggg; 15th September 2014 at 08:16 AM.
14th September 2014, 04:50 PM   |  #23  
ifly4vamerica's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 316
 
1,280 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Nope I didn't have to do that. Just follow my post and you should be good to go.

Sent from my SM-N900P using Tapatalk
4th October 2014, 10:22 AM   |  #24  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 72
 
276 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ifly4vamerica

OK all I have a fix for installing Viper on the Tab S.

Use any file explorer and navigate to /system/vendor/etc
Copy the audio.effects.conf in that location
Navigate to /system/etc and paste the file you copied there
Once copied change the permissions to match the other files in the /system/etc folder

Install Viper and it should work this time, apparently the audio.effects.conf file is expected to be in the /system/etc location and is not there by default for some reason....

For advanced users I suppose you could just create a symlink to the other location also but I didn't try this myself.

let me know if this works for everybody else, so far it has worked on both of my Tab's

Make sure to cruise by the Viper thread and thank metaljim also as he gave me the initial help which headed me in the direction of adding the file to system etc.

Thank you very much for the solution. Only one thing: there is a typo. The filename isn't "audio.effects.conf" but "audio_effects.conf".

Here is the version I try with a Symlink and via ADB, which runs fine also:

- connect Tab S via usb-cable and open command shell with access to adb.exe

Code:
adb root
adb shell
mount -ro remount,rw /system
ln -s /system/vendor/etc/audio_effects.conf /system/etc/audio_effects.conf
exit
After a reboot the installation of Viper works.
7th November 2014, 01:04 AM   |  #25  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
help viper4android wont paste in the location.
audio_effects.conf (thats what it looks like)... it doesnt have the period between audio and effects.. :-/ and i cant paste it in the location.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ifly4vamerica

OK all I have a fix for installing Viper on the Tab S.

Use any file explorer and navigate to /system/vendor/etc
Copy the audio.effects.conf in that location
Navigate to /system/etc and paste the file you copied there
Once copied change the permissions to match the other files in the /system/etc folder

Install Viper and it should work this time, apparently the audio.effects.conf file is expected to be in the /system/etc location and is not there by default for some reason....

For advanced users I suppose you could just create a symlink to the other location also but I didn't try this myself.

let me know if this works for everybody else, so far it has worked on both of my Tab's

Make sure to cruise by the Viper thread and thank metaljim also as he gave me the initial help which headed me in the direction of adding the file to system etc.

7th November 2014, 07:16 PM   |  #26  
ifly4vamerica's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 316
 
1,280 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by krazysmurff

audio_effects.conf (thats what it looks like)... it doesnt have the period between audio and effects.. :-/ and i cant paste it in the location.

Yeah the period was a typo. What file manager are you using? Are you enabling write permissions to the new folder? You can also create a symlink as described in the post above yours.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes