Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,588 Members 45,615 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] can't format data

Tip us?
 
Hit1402
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jul 2014
Prompt [Q] can't format data

Galaxy y
-Flashed custom rom hyperion 9 2nd time
-Error occurred can't format data in recovery mode
-Also I am not able goto download mode when I try it shows only bootlogo and freezes
-If I start then same
-Also same in adb restart bootloader
bootloader
 
marcussmith2626
Old
(Last edited by marcussmith2626; 9th July 2014 at 09:10 AM.)
#2  
marcussmith2626's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,405
Posts: 4,445
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: London
it shouldnt show boot logo when you put it in download mode

pull the battery
connect your phone via usb cable to pc
press and hold vol down home button then also hold power power button (try it with the battery still removed and with the battery)
you should then be in download mode


if you cant get into download mode by button presses you can try a usb jig


if you still cant get into download mode after that you will have to goto a repair shop

My Work And Threads For Galaxy Y GT-S5360


My PM is not a Question & Answer thread - Dont treat it as such!
 
Hit1402
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jul 2014
Default USB jig?

What's that USB jig?
 
marcussmith2626
Old
#4  
marcussmith2626's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,405
Posts: 4,445
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hit1402 View Post
What's that USB jig?
its a usb cable that has been cut and had some resisters placed accross the pins - you can make one yourself or just buy one for about 3 uk pounds from amazon

if you turn the phone off and put the usb jig in the usb socket it puts the phone into download mode without button presses - iv got one

remember if you dont know something google is your friend

My Work And Threads For Galaxy Y GT-S5360


My PM is not a Question & Answer thread - Dont treat it as such!
 
Hit1402
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jul 2014
Default can I use adb to reformat data

Can I use adb to format data
I think data is formatted in ext4 but needs ext3
That's problem I can adb shell but can't sug
 
marcussmith2626
Old
#6  
marcussmith2626's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,405
Posts: 4,445
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hit1402 View Post
Can I use adb to format data
I think data is formatted in ext4 but needs ext3
That's problem I can adb shell but can't sug
iv no idea why you would want to do that


if you cant format data in recovery mode just flash stock rom via odin in download mode

if you cant get into download mode theres something wrong with the bootloader and no ammount of formatting data will help you there

My Work And Threads For Galaxy Y GT-S5360


My PM is not a Question & Answer thread - Dont treat it as such!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Real-World Battery Saving Tips for Android – XDA Developer TV

You need Real-World Battery Saving Tips for your Android device. Our … more

Android L Will Have Data Encryption Turned On by Default

Android L, once it is eventually released, will featuredata encryption turned on by … more

Lock Apps and Functions Easily with Droid Protector

Access and security are some of the key issues facingmobile technology. Whether … more

ARChon Lets You Run Android Apps in Google Chrome Browser

Not too long ago, Google added the ability torun select Android applications on … more