Post Reply

[Q] How is it possible to run Kitkat on a 290mb ram device?

20th June 2014, 11:51 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
63 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
I thought the minimum was 512mb, do you remove stuff under the hood or how is it done?
Also, how is it possible to run Kitkat on such low internal storage?

I remember a month ago nobody even thought of Kitkat but then androidarmv6 came in
Last edited by galaxyYtester; 20th June 2014 at 11:55 PM.
21st June 2014, 01:08 AM   |  #2  
lionelsuyog's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kathmandu
Thanks Meter: 123
 
344 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Its possible
Quote:
Originally Posted by galaxyYtester

I thought the minimum was 512mb, do you remove stuff under the hood or how is it done?
Also, how is it possible to run Kitkat on such low internal storage?

I remember a month ago nobody even thought of Kitkat but then androidarmv6 came in

Of cource, it is possible! Our orginal RAM is 0.38 GB, but only 290 MB is user available! Even device than galaxy Y runs kitkat almost stable like Galaxy 5!
Infact, 500 MB RAM is used to run KK flawlesslt!
24th June 2014, 12:08 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Flag Bekasi
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by galaxyYtester

I thought the minimum was 512mb, do you remove stuff under the hood or how is it done?
Also, how is it possible to run Kitkat on such low internal storage?

I remember a month ago nobody even thought of Kitkat but then androidarmv6 came in

I think not
Android Jelly Bean Smartphone with 512MB of RAM can sometimes make the performance of the smartphone to be slow, let alone KitKat on 300MB RAM?
Sorry for bad english
25th June 2014, 05:10 AM   |  #4  
NightRaven49's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag most likely in school
Thanks Meter: 131
 
430 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
More
I'm currently running KitKat on my TassVe, which is essentially a Totoro under a Galaxy Mini shell, and I can say that it's smooth most of the time. Typing can be a bit laggy, and some apps (such as Titanium Backup) can take a long time to boot. But overall still smooth enough for daily use. Only complaint is the epic power consumption of the ROM.

Oh and this is the experimental build. Before asking, no, I will not provide links to it.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy Y GT-S5360 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank