Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,072 Members 47,472 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

S5 Active - Options?

Tip us?
 
BuLLitz
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 43
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default S5 Active - Options?

I hope this is the right place for this post. I have yet to do one in the right place.

I recently purchased an S5 Active from ATT. When I purchased it, I got the Gear 2 Neo for only $99.
I AM STEAMED that the sales person did not tell me that the S5 Active is not really compatible with the Gear 2.

When I go into the Gear Manager on my S5 Active, under Utilities category, there are only 4 applications available to me.
It was 3, but they just added a new one. 2 of my top reasons why I wanted the Gear are not available in the Gear Manager.

When I install the Gear Manager on my wife's S5, there are more Utility applications in HER Gear Manager than I want to count.

Do I have any options other than to wait and HOPE that Samsung pulls their heads out of their lower orifices???
Is there a way to trick the Gear Manager into not knowing that I have the Active model?
Is there another Gear Manager that I can use that would not block the apps?
 
adrock74
Old
#2  
adrock74's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 277
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Newburgh
What apps are you wanting? My neo works great with my active. Though i do hope for some developers to open it up
Samsung Galaxy S5 Active
Samsung Galaxy SII/AoCp 6.1 w/AJK 4.9
Samsung Galaxy SIII-LS 4.4.2/KT kernel
Samsung focus/DFT 7.8
Nook HD/ 10.1
Kindle fire 2/PAC-ROM KK(gave to my dad)
Microsoft Surface 2
 
BuLLitz
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 43
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrock74 View Post
What apps are you wanting? My neo works great with my active. Though i do hope for some developers to open it up
Backcountry Navigator is available on my wifes S5, but not on my Active.
Sleep As Android is another although I coundn't find that on either the regular S5 or the Active...
http://challengepost.com/software/sl...id-gear-add-on

Apparently, there is a whole world of stuff I am missing out on...
 
BuLLitz
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 43
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuLLitz View Post
Backcountry Navigator is available on my wifes S5, but not on my Active.
Sleep As Android is another although I coundn't find that on either the regular S5 or the Active...
http://challengepost.com/software/sl...id-gear-add-on

Apparently, there is a whole world of stuff I am missing out on...
PS: According to the support desk for BackCountry Navigator, it is not the developers holding back items for the S5 Active.
It is Samsung holding back.
 
lordmorphous
Old
#5  
lordmorphous's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 393
Posts: 1,232
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Clermont, FL
I rooted my active and changed the build.prop to identify my device as a regular s5. I have all the apps now and no down side that I've noticed yet.
Sent from my Samsung Galaxy SIII on AT&T having lost my IMEI only once....so far...
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to lordmorphous For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
BuLLitz
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 43
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordmorphous View Post
I rooted my active and changed the build.prop to identify my device as a regular s5. I have all the apps now and no down side that I've noticed yet.
Thanks for the info. Yes! There is way!
I will research how to that and see what I can find.
Thanks again.
 
lordmorphous
Old
#7  
lordmorphous's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 393
Posts: 1,232
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Clermont, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuLLitz View Post
Thanks for the info. Yes! There is way!
I will research how to that and see what I can find.
Thanks again.
Once rooted, use a root enabled file explorer (I like Root Explorer), open up /system/build.prop, look for the line ro.product.model=SAMSUNG-SM-G870A and change to ro.product.model=SAMSUNG-SM-G900A
Reboot, and voila! Samsung Apps thinks your phone is an AT&T model S5.
Sent from my Samsung Galaxy SIII on AT&T having lost my IMEI only once....so far...
The Following User Says Thank You to lordmorphous For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
BuLLitz
Old
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 43
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordmorphous View Post
Once rooted, use a root enabled file explorer (I like Root Explorer), open up /system/build.prop, look for the line ro.product.model=SAMSUNG-SM-G870A and change to ro.product.model=SAMSUNG-SM-G900A
Reboot, and voila! Samsung Apps thinks your phone is an AT&T model S5.
I finally got up the nerve to do this.

I now have access to all of the same apps in the gear store that my wife does!

Thank you thank you thank you
 
lordmorphous
Old
#9  
lordmorphous's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 393
Posts: 1,232
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Clermont, FL
Glad you got it working....Just don't update your phone when AT&T pushes any out. There is a small update going around that if you install, breaks root and Towelroot won't work.
Sent from my Samsung Galaxy SIII on AT&T having lost my IMEI only once....so far...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes