Nvidia Shield Tablet Updated to Version 2.2.1

more

Lolistat – Statusbar Coloring Module

more

Flat Style Icons for Root Explorer

more

Watches: Luxurious Frivolity vs. Humble Practicality

The post Watches: Luxurious Frivolity vs. Humble Practicality appeared first on … more
Post Reply

S5 Active - Options?

OP BuLLitz

17th August 2014, 12:57 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
I hope this is the right place for this post. I have yet to do one in the right place.

I recently purchased an S5 Active from ATT. When I purchased it, I got the Gear 2 Neo for only $99.
I AM STEAMED that the sales person did not tell me that the S5 Active is not really compatible with the Gear 2.

When I go into the Gear Manager on my S5 Active, under Utilities category, there are only 4 applications available to me.
It was 3, but they just added a new one. 2 of my top reasons why I wanted the Gear are not available in the Gear Manager.

When I install the Gear Manager on my wife's S5, there are more Utility applications in HER Gear Manager than I want to count.

Do I have any options other than to wait and HOPE that Samsung pulls their heads out of their lower orifices???
Is there a way to trick the Gear Manager into not knowing that I have the Active model?
Is there another Gear Manager that I can use that would not block the apps?
17th August 2014, 01:01 AM   |  #2  
adrock74's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Newburgh
Thanks Meter: 66
 
288 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
What apps are you wanting? My neo works great with my active. Though i do hope for some developers to open it up
17th August 2014, 01:41 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrock74

What apps are you wanting? My neo works great with my active. Though i do hope for some developers to open it up

Backcountry Navigator is available on my wifes S5, but not on my Active.
Sleep As Android is another although I coundn't find that on either the regular S5 or the Active...
http://challengepost.com/software/sl...id-gear-add-on

Apparently, there is a whole world of stuff I am missing out on...
17th August 2014, 01:43 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuLLitz

Backcountry Navigator is available on my wifes S5, but not on my Active.
Sleep As Android is another although I coundn't find that on either the regular S5 or the Active...
http://challengepost.com/software/sl...id-gear-add-on

Apparently, there is a whole world of stuff I am missing out on...

PS: According to the support desk for BackCountry Navigator, it is not the developers holding back items for the S5 Active.
It is Samsung holding back.
20th August 2014, 03:46 AM   |  #5  
lordmorphous's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Clermont, FL
Thanks Meter: 398
 
1,243 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
I rooted my active and changed the build.prop to identify my device as a regular s5. I have all the apps now and no down side that I've noticed yet.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to lordmorphous For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th August 2014, 11:56 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordmorphous

I rooted my active and changed the build.prop to identify my device as a regular s5. I have all the apps now and no down side that I've noticed yet.

Thanks for the info. Yes! There is way!
I will research how to that and see what I can find.
Thanks again.
25th August 2014, 06:05 PM   |  #7  
lordmorphous's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Clermont, FL
Thanks Meter: 398
 
1,243 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuLLitz

Thanks for the info. Yes! There is way!
I will research how to that and see what I can find.
Thanks again.

Once rooted, use a root enabled file explorer (I like Root Explorer), open up /system/build.prop, look for the line ro.product.model=SAMSUNG-SM-G870A and change to ro.product.model=SAMSUNG-SM-G900A
Reboot, and voila! Samsung Apps thinks your phone is an AT&T model S5.
The Following User Says Thank You to lordmorphous For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th August 2014, 04:23 AM   |  #8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordmorphous

Once rooted, use a root enabled file explorer (I like Root Explorer), open up /system/build.prop, look for the line ro.product.model=SAMSUNG-SM-G870A and change to ro.product.model=SAMSUNG-SM-G900A
Reboot, and voila! Samsung Apps thinks your phone is an AT&T model S5.

I finally got up the nerve to do this.

I now have access to all of the same apps in the gear store that my wife does!

Thank you thank you thank you
29th August 2014, 03:32 PM   |  #9  
lordmorphous's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Clermont, FL
Thanks Meter: 398
 
1,243 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Glad you got it working....Just don't update your phone when AT&T pushes any out. There is a small update going around that if you install, breaks root and Towelroot won't work.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes