FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Announced: Specs, Price and Details

The OnePlus 2 has just had its Virtual Reality Launch event, and at the XDA Office we all … more

A Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services

With the launch of Apple Music, music streaming services have recently gained a lot of … more

An Inside Look at the Redesign of Business Calendar

The much-acclaimed calendar app, Business Calendar, underwent a major design … more

New Android One Device Dead On Arrival

Today, Google announced the second generation of Android One devices, with the new Lava Pixel … more

S5 Active - Options?

46 posts
Thanks Meter: 6
 
By BuLLitz, Member on 16th August 2014, 11:57 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I hope this is the right place for this post. I have yet to do one in the right place.

I recently purchased an S5 Active from ATT. When I purchased it, I got the Gear 2 Neo for only $99.
I AM STEAMED that the sales person did not tell me that the S5 Active is not really compatible with the Gear 2.

When I go into the Gear Manager on my S5 Active, under Utilities category, there are only 4 applications available to me.
It was 3, but they just added a new one. 2 of my top reasons why I wanted the Gear are not available in the Gear Manager.

When I install the Gear Manager on my wife's S5, there are more Utility applications in HER Gear Manager than I want to count.

Do I have any options other than to wait and HOPE that Samsung pulls their heads out of their lower orifices???
Is there a way to trick the Gear Manager into not knowing that I have the Active model?
Is there another Gear Manager that I can use that would not block the apps?
 
 
17th August 2014, 12:01 AM |#2  
adrock74's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Newburgh
Thanks Meter: 87
 
More
What apps are you wanting? My neo works great with my active. Though i do hope for some developers to open it up
17th August 2014, 12:41 AM |#3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrock74

What apps are you wanting? My neo works great with my active. Though i do hope for some developers to open it up

Backcountry Navigator is available on my wifes S5, but not on my Active.
Sleep As Android is another although I coundn't find that on either the regular S5 or the Active...
http://challengepost.com/software/sl...id-gear-add-on

Apparently, there is a whole world of stuff I am missing out on...
17th August 2014, 12:43 AM |#4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuLLitz

Backcountry Navigator is available on my wifes S5, but not on my Active.
Sleep As Android is another although I coundn't find that on either the regular S5 or the Active...
http://challengepost.com/software/sl...id-gear-add-on

Apparently, there is a whole world of stuff I am missing out on...

PS: According to the support desk for BackCountry Navigator, it is not the developers holding back items for the S5 Active.
It is Samsung holding back.
20th August 2014, 02:46 AM |#5  
lordmorphous's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Clermont, FL
Thanks Meter: 400
 
More
I rooted my active and changed the build.prop to identify my device as a regular s5. I have all the apps now and no down side that I've noticed yet.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to lordmorphous For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th August 2014, 10:56 PM |#6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordmorphous

I rooted my active and changed the build.prop to identify my device as a regular s5. I have all the apps now and no down side that I've noticed yet.

Thanks for the info. Yes! There is way!
I will research how to that and see what I can find.
Thanks again.
25th August 2014, 05:05 PM |#7  
lordmorphous's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Clermont, FL
Thanks Meter: 400
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuLLitz

Thanks for the info. Yes! There is way!
I will research how to that and see what I can find.
Thanks again.

Once rooted, use a root enabled file explorer (I like Root Explorer), open up /system/build.prop, look for the line ro.product.model=SAMSUNG-SM-G870A and change to ro.product.model=SAMSUNG-SM-G900A
Reboot, and voila! Samsung Apps thinks your phone is an AT&T model S5.
The Following User Says Thank You to lordmorphous For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th August 2014, 03:23 AM |#8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordmorphous

Once rooted, use a root enabled file explorer (I like Root Explorer), open up /system/build.prop, look for the line ro.product.model=SAMSUNG-SM-G870A and change to ro.product.model=SAMSUNG-SM-G900A
Reboot, and voila! Samsung Apps thinks your phone is an AT&T model S5.

I finally got up the nerve to do this.

I now have access to all of the same apps in the gear store that my wife does!

Thank you thank you thank you
29th August 2014, 02:32 PM |#9  
lordmorphous's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Clermont, FL
Thanks Meter: 400
 
More
Glad you got it working....Just don't update your phone when AT&T pushes any out. There is a small update going around that if you install, breaks root and Towelroot won't work.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes