Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,290 Members 46,017 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Easter egg to skip initial setup wizard

Tip us?
 
javispedro
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 31
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default Easter egg to skip initial setup wizard

Hello,

I figured out how to skip the initial setup wizard without pairing with anything!
I've tested on my Gear 2 and probably works on Gear 2 Neo too.

Instructions as follows:
  1. On the screen that says "Select the device you want to connect from the list", repeteadly tap on the "Gear 2" part on the top-left corner of the screen. I think you need to tap around 25 or 30 times.
  2. A popup will appear: "Please press BT address while 3 seconds".
  3. Wait a few seconds until the popup dismisses itself
  4. Now tap and hold on the "Gear 2" part again.
  5. After 3 seconds the setup wizard should disappear!!!!

If you mess up, tapping "Previous" and then "Next" again resets the counter.

Enjoy!
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to javispedro For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Binary100100
Old
#2  
Binary100100's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 1,121
Posts: 5,444
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Detroit, Mi

 
DONATE TO ME
Nice find!

But... why would anyone want or need to do this? Just curious.
Device(s) Info:

HTC Amaze 4G :
Energy ICS | Rooted | SIM Unlocked | HBOOT-1.93.2222 JuopunutBear S-OFF | Recovery 4ext | Kernel: HTC Stock

HTC EVO View 4G:
[ACS]CleverNameHere Rom RLS 1 (HC) | hboot 6.14.5556 | Revolutionary S-OFF | TWRP 1.0.3 Port

Samsung SGH-T959 Vibrant (unlocked) :
FFC v2 Mod
| Bionix NextGen 2 | Kernel: OverStock 2.4.1 | KB5 Modem | ClockworkMod Recovery


 
gav83collins
Old
#3  
gav83collins's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 733
Posts: 1,938
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Bunbury-Western Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Binary100100 View Post
Nice find!

But... why would anyone want or need to do this? Just curious.
me lol, when beta testing a gear 1 or gear 2 accross multiple device like ios or cyanogen mod, each phone needs to reset the gear to pair with gear manager, and in devices like iphone gear manager isnt possible, so it takes first configuring in an android, then pairing to iphone

---------- Post added at 11:48 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:45 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by javispedro View Post
Hello,

I figured out how to skip the initial setup wizard without pairing with anything!
I've tested on my Gear 2 and probably works on Gear 2 Neo too.

Instructions as follows:
  1. On the screen that says "Select the device you want to connect from the list", repeteadly tap on the "Gear 2" part on the top-left corner of the screen. I think you need to tap around 25 or 30 times.
  2. A popup will appear: "Please press BT address while 3 seconds".
  3. Wait a few seconds until the popup dismisses itself
  4. Now tap and hold on the "Gear 2" part again.
  5. After 3 seconds the setup wizard should disappear!!!!

If you mess up, tapping "Previous" and then "Next" again resets the counter.

Enjoy!
wow dude awesome , thanks a lot, i can confirm this works on a gear 1 too
Galaxy S5 G900f
ROM Omega latest
KERNEL testing
STATE Rooted / UnLocked
RECOVERY twrp

Also S4 I9506 & S3 I305T
iPhone 4 ios7 jb
IPad mini ios 7 jb

Evo3D
multi booting x9 roms currently

Galaxy Gear 1 & Gear 2 SM-V700 / SM-R380
STATE Rooted/BusyBox
ROM TizenMod V3.0

Gear <S4 <Note2 <S3 <Evo3D <S2 <dhd <Omnia HD <Omnia 2 < Omnia 1
(not including iphones)
The Following User Says Thank You to gav83collins For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
javispedro
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 31
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Binary100100 View Post
Nice find!

But... why would anyone want or need to do this? Just curious.
No Android nor other Samsung device here. See http://forum.xda-developers.com/gear...tocol-t2857377
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes