Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Easter egg to skip initial setup wizard

OP javispedro

30th August 2014, 01:19 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Hello,

I figured out how to skip the initial setup wizard without pairing with anything!
I've tested on my Gear 2 and probably works on Gear 2 Neo too.

Instructions as follows:
  1. On the screen that says "Select the device you want to connect from the list", repeteadly tap on the "Gear 2" part on the top-left corner of the screen. I think you need to tap around 25 or 30 times.
  2. A popup will appear: "Please press BT address while 3 seconds".
  3. Wait a few seconds until the popup dismisses itself
  4. Now tap and hold on the "Gear 2" part again.
  5. After 3 seconds the setup wizard should disappear!!!!

If you mess up, tapping "Previous" and then "Next" again resets the counter.

Enjoy!
The Following 12 Users Say Thank You to javispedro For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st August 2014, 04:09 AM   |  #2  
Binary100100's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Detroit, Mi
Thanks Meter: 1,125
 
5,455 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
Donate to Me
More
Nice find!

But... why would anyone want or need to do this? Just curious.
31st August 2014, 05:48 AM   |  #3  
gav83collins's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bunbury-Western Australia
Thanks Meter: 1,000
 
2,400 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Binary100100

Nice find!

But... why would anyone want or need to do this? Just curious.

me lol, when beta testing a gear 1 or gear 2 accross multiple device like ios or cyanogen mod, each phone needs to reset the gear to pair with gear manager, and in devices like iphone gear manager isnt possible, so it takes first configuring in an android, then pairing to iphone

---------- Post added at 11:48 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:45 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by javispedro

Hello,

I figured out how to skip the initial setup wizard without pairing with anything!
I've tested on my Gear 2 and probably works on Gear 2 Neo too.

Instructions as follows:

  1. On the screen that says "Select the device you want to connect from the list", repeteadly tap on the "Gear 2" part on the top-left corner of the screen. I think you need to tap around 25 or 30 times.
  2. A popup will appear: "Please press BT address while 3 seconds".
  3. Wait a few seconds until the popup dismisses itself
  4. Now tap and hold on the "Gear 2" part again.
  5. After 3 seconds the setup wizard should disappear!!!!

If you mess up, tapping "Previous" and then "Next" again resets the counter.

Enjoy!

wow dude awesome , thanks a lot, i can confirm this works on a gear 1 too
The Following User Says Thank You to gav83collins For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st August 2014, 09:17 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Binary100100

Nice find!

But... why would anyone want or need to do this? Just curious.

No Android nor other Samsung device here. See http://forum.xda-developers.com/gear...tocol-t2857377
5th November 2014, 12:39 PM   |  #5  
Member
Flag Zurich
Thanks Meter: 21
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by javispedro

Hello,

I figured out how to skip the initial setup wizard without pairing with anything!
I've tested on my Gear 2 and probably works on Gear 2 Neo too.

Instructions as follows:

  1. On the screen that says "Select the device you want to connect from the list", repeteadly tap on the "Gear 2" part on the top-left corner of the screen. I think you need to tap around 25 or 30 times.
  2. A popup will appear: "Please press BT address while 3 seconds".
  3. Wait a few seconds until the popup dismisses itself
  4. Now tap and hold on the "Gear 2" part again.
  5. After 3 seconds the setup wizard should disappear!!!!

If you mess up, tapping "Previous" and then "Next" again resets the counter.

Enjoy!


It also works with the new Gear S, so you can use it as a stand-alone phone without a samsung phone!
The Following User Says Thank You to Cyman For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th November 2014, 04:39 AM   |  #6  
crazyshakespeare13's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2014
More
Process question
Was there anything special you had to do with the gear s? I'm picking one up in Sunday and dint have any other Samsung devices, so I'm really interested. Also when it says to press the gear 2 area...what exactly does that mean? Thanks for the info
8th November 2014, 09:34 AM   |  #7  
gav83collins's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bunbury-Western Australia
Thanks Meter: 1,000
 
2,400 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Just press repeatedly where it says gear 2

Sent from my SM-G900F using XDA Free mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to gav83collins For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th December 2014, 06:41 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by gav83collins

me lol, when beta testing a gear 1 or gear 2 accross multiple device like ios or cyanogen mod, each phone needs to reset the gear to pair with gear manager, and in devices like iphone gear manager isnt possible, so it takes first configuring in an android, then pairing to iphone

---------- Post added at 11:48 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:45 AM ----------



wow dude awesome , thanks a lot, i can confirm this works on a gear 1 too

How did you bypass the setup on the gear1? I cant seem to figure it out
30th December 2014, 12:39 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Ontario
Thanks Meter: 29
 
404 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
One thing to be aware of. If you pair without using a phone your time will be offset. Mine was offset for two hours and I spent hours looking through every setting trying to change the time but could not.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes