Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,540 Members 38,288 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How do you say, "start"?

Tip us?
 
gadgetgaz
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 183
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Yorkshire

 
DONATE TO ME
Default How do you say, "start"?

This may seem a stupid question but....
I cannot get my watch to recognise the word "START"

Here's a transcript
ME: START
watch: stute

ME: START
watch: stop

ME: START
watch: stop

ME: START
watch: start Yes!!

ME: START
watch: stocks

........you get the picture? What gives?
 
JimSmith94
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 207
Posts: 1,345
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Irving, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgetgaz View Post
This may seem a stupid question but....
I cannot get my watch to recognise the word "START"

Here's a transcript
ME: START
watch: stute

ME: START
watch: stop

ME: START
watch: stop

ME: START
watch: start Yes!!

ME: START
watch: stocks

........you get the picture? What gives?
I don't have the watch yet, but try "open" instead.
 
gadgetgaz
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 183
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Yorkshire

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimSmith94 View Post
I don't have the watch yet, but try "open" instead.
Thanks, that was a nice idea and it recognises the word every time but it just takes me to a google search. It seems the word "open" is not a recognised keyword.

I am having a bit more success with "start" by saying "STARD" instead, and I only mean a bit more success.
 
adiliyo
Old
#4  
adiliyo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 227
Posts: 1,360
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Los Angeles
you have to say it like us yanks.
Phones: OnePlus One 64gb - PA
Tablets: Nexus 7 32GB (2013)
 
cherrytontonne
Old
#5  
cherrytontonne's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 71
Join Date: Jul 2013
What exactly are you trying to do with the word start? Mine works perfectly when I say "open hue control", "open Tinder" etc
 
rikwebb
Old
#6  
rikwebb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 124
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Derby
Do you have a heavy Yorkshire accent ?

try 'SStarrt' - in other words long S and long R

Nike, HTC Diamond, HTC Pro, HTC Wildfire, HTC HD - Blackstone, HTC HD2 - Leo, HTC Desire S, HTC Sensation XE
Asus Transformer
Google Nexus 7, Google Nexus 10, Google Nexus 4
HTC One X

HTC One
Samsung Gear Live - Android Wear
 
gadgetgaz
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 183
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Yorkshire

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by rikwebb View Post
Do you have a heavy Yorkshire accent ?

try 'SStarrt' - in other words long S and long R

Non-Yorkshire people say I do, Yorkshire people say I don't so I guess I'm somewhere inbetween!

Anyway, like cherrytontonne says, open seems to work just as well so I'll stop saying start.
 
rikwebb
Old
#8  
rikwebb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 124
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Derby
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgetgaz View Post
Non-Yorkshire people say I do, Yorkshire people say I don't so I guess I'm somewhere inbetween!

Anyway, like cherrytontonne says, open seems to work just as well so I'll stop saying start.
I know what you mean mate
My Farther in Law is from East Yorkshire - and although he may say he doesnt have an accent - I cant understand a word hehehe
Nike, HTC Diamond, HTC Pro, HTC Wildfire, HTC HD - Blackstone, HTC HD2 - Leo, HTC Desire S, HTC Sensation XE
Asus Transformer
Google Nexus 7, Google Nexus 10, Google Nexus 4
HTC One X

HTC One
Samsung Gear Live - Android Wear
 
atomkinder
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 22
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Birmingham
I usually go with "go go gadget strava" mostly for novelty value.
 
JimSmith94
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 207
Posts: 1,345
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Irving, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgetgaz View Post
Thanks, that was a nice idea and it recognises the word every time but it just takes me to a google search. It seems the word "open" is not a recognised keyword.

I am having a bit more success with "start" by saying "STARD" instead, and I only mean a bit more success.
Maybe "run" will work?!?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Google Play Services Updated to Version 6.1

In addition to Android operating system proper, Google is focusing hard on giving the developers … more

CyanogenMod 11 M10 Available for Supported Devices

Summer vacation isover for most students out there, and it’s the time to get back to … more

XDA Forums Added for the First Batch of Android One Devices!

Just yesterday, we talked about the highly anticipated launch of the first batch … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: DonkeyGuard, Don’t Be a Donkey, Control Your Device – XDA Developer TV

Some applications ask for the world … more