Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,151 Members 51,023 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How do you say, "start"?

Tip us?
 
gadgetgaz
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 180
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Yorkshire

 
DONATE TO ME
Default How do you say, "start"?

This may seem a stupid question but....
I cannot get my watch to recognise the word "START"

Here's a transcript
ME: START
watch: stute

ME: START
watch: stop

ME: START
watch: stop

ME: START
watch: start Yes!!

ME: START
watch: stocks

........you get the picture? What gives?
 
JimSmith94
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 195
Posts: 1,288
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Irving, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgetgaz View Post
This may seem a stupid question but....
I cannot get my watch to recognise the word "START"

Here's a transcript
ME: START
watch: stute

ME: START
watch: stop

ME: START
watch: stop

ME: START
watch: start Yes!!

ME: START
watch: stocks

........you get the picture? What gives?
I don't have the watch yet, but try "open" instead.
 
gadgetgaz
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 180
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Yorkshire

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimSmith94 View Post
I don't have the watch yet, but try "open" instead.
Thanks, that was a nice idea and it recognises the word every time but it just takes me to a google search. It seems the word "open" is not a recognised keyword.

I am having a bit more success with "start" by saying "STARD" instead, and I only mean a bit more success.
 
adiliyo
Old
#4  
adiliyo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 214
Posts: 1,348
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Los Angeles
you have to say it like us yanks.
Phones: OnePlus One 64gb - PA
Tablets: Nexus 7 32GB (2013)
 
cherrytontonne
Old
#5  
cherrytontonne's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 70
Join Date: Jul 2013
What exactly are you trying to do with the word start? Mine works perfectly when I say "open hue control", "open Tinder" etc
 
rikwebb
Old
#6  
rikwebb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 123
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Derby
Do you have a heavy Yorkshire accent ?

try 'SStarrt' - in other words long S and long R

Nike, HTC Diamond, HTC Pro, HTC Wildfire, HTC HD - Blackstone, HTC HD2 - Leo, HTC Desire S, HTC Sensation XE
Asus Transformer
Google Nexus 7, Google Nexus 10, Google Nexus 4
HTC One X

HTC One
Samsung Gear Live - Android Wear
 
gadgetgaz
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 180
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Yorkshire

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by rikwebb View Post
Do you have a heavy Yorkshire accent ?

try 'SStarrt' - in other words long S and long R

Non-Yorkshire people say I do, Yorkshire people say I don't so I guess I'm somewhere inbetween!

Anyway, like cherrytontonne says, open seems to work just as well so I'll stop saying start.
 
rikwebb
Old
#8  
rikwebb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 123
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Derby
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgetgaz View Post
Non-Yorkshire people say I do, Yorkshire people say I don't so I guess I'm somewhere inbetween!

Anyway, like cherrytontonne says, open seems to work just as well so I'll stop saying start.
I know what you mean mate
My Farther in Law is from East Yorkshire - and although he may say he doesnt have an accent - I cant understand a word hehehe
Nike, HTC Diamond, HTC Pro, HTC Wildfire, HTC HD - Blackstone, HTC HD2 - Leo, HTC Desire S, HTC Sensation XE
Asus Transformer
Google Nexus 7, Google Nexus 10, Google Nexus 4
HTC One X

HTC One
Samsung Gear Live - Android Wear
 
atomkinder
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Birmingham
I usually go with "go go gadget strava" mostly for novelty value.
 
JimSmith94
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 195
Posts: 1,288
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Irving, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgetgaz View Post
Thanks, that was a nice idea and it recognises the word every time but it just takes me to a google search. It seems the word "open" is not a recognised keyword.

I am having a bit more success with "start" by saying "STARD" instead, and I only mean a bit more success.
Maybe "run" will work?!?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Give Your Screen Some Color with HexaTime Live Wallpaper

We don’t often cover very many live wallpapers here on the XDA Portal. You may … more

Android Wear App Review: Command Google Now with Commandr – XDA Developer TV

OK Google. Make Me a sandwich. How many times have you … more

Play Your Hits and Learn the Lyrics with NextGen Music Player

There are plenty of music players for Android available in Play Store. They … more

Control Your Toast Notifications with SlicedToasts

Toasts are delicious, even in their Android flavor. In Android, toast doesn’t lead … more