Android App Review: Google Inbox to Improve Your Life – XDA TV

Recently, Google+ exploded with the announcement of Google Inbox, as … more

Damp the LG G3 Thermal Throttling

As our mobile devices grow thinner and more powerfulwith each passing generation, it’s inevitable … more

Google Play Developer Distribution Agreement Due Tomorrow

Every once in a while, Google updates theGoogle PlayDeveloper Distribution … more

LG to Release Octa-Core “Nuclun” SoC in the LG G3 Screen

LG is set to follow the likes of Samsung and other manufacture its own … more
Post Reply

How do you say, "start"?

OP gadgetgaz

11th July 2014, 08:45 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Yorkshire
Thanks Meter: 17
 
183 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Donate to Me
More
This may seem a stupid question but....
I cannot get my watch to recognise the word "START"

Here's a transcript
ME: START
watch: stute

ME: START
watch: stop

ME: START
watch: stop

ME: START
watch: start Yes!!

ME: START
watch: stocks

........you get the picture? What gives?
11th July 2014, 09:13 PM   |  #2  
JimSmith94's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Irving, TX
Thanks Meter: 238
 
1,531 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgetgaz

This may seem a stupid question but....
I cannot get my watch to recognise the word "START"

Here's a transcript
ME: START
watch: stute

ME: START
watch: stop

ME: START
watch: stop

ME: START
watch: start Yes!!

ME: START
watch: stocks

........you get the picture? What gives?

I don't have the watch yet, but try "open" instead.
11th July 2014, 09:21 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Yorkshire
Thanks Meter: 17
 
183 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimSmith94

I don't have the watch yet, but try "open" instead.

Thanks, that was a nice idea and it recognises the word every time but it just takes me to a google search. It seems the word "open" is not a recognised keyword.

I am having a bit more success with "start" by saying "STARD" instead, and I only mean a bit more success.
11th July 2014, 09:30 PM   |  #4  
adiliyo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 231
 
1,360 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
you have to say it like us yanks.
11th July 2014, 09:35 PM   |  #5  
cherrytontonne's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
71 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
What exactly are you trying to do with the word start? Mine works perfectly when I say "open hue control", "open Tinder" etc
11th July 2014, 09:37 PM   |  #6  
rikwebb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Derby
Thanks Meter: 25
 
125 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
More
Do you have a heavy Yorkshire accent ?

try 'SStarrt' - in other words long S and long R

12th July 2014, 09:41 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Yorkshire
Thanks Meter: 17
 
183 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rikwebb

Do you have a heavy Yorkshire accent ?

try 'SStarrt' - in other words long S and long R

Non-Yorkshire people say I do, Yorkshire people say I don't so I guess I'm somewhere inbetween!

Anyway, like cherrytontonne says, open seems to work just as well so I'll stop saying start.
12th July 2014, 09:45 PM   |  #8  
rikwebb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Derby
Thanks Meter: 25
 
125 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgetgaz

Non-Yorkshire people say I do, Yorkshire people say I don't so I guess I'm somewhere inbetween!

Anyway, like cherrytontonne says, open seems to work just as well so I'll stop saying start.

I know what you mean mate
My Farther in Law is from East Yorkshire - and although he may say he doesnt have an accent - I cant understand a word hehehe
16th July 2014, 07:15 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Flag Birmingham
Thanks Meter: 1
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
I usually go with "go go gadget strava" mostly for novelty value.
16th July 2014, 07:35 AM   |  #10  
JimSmith94's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Irving, TX
Thanks Meter: 238
 
1,531 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgetgaz

Thanks, that was a nice idea and it recognises the word every time but it just takes me to a google search. It seems the word "open" is not a recognised keyword.

I am having a bit more success with "start" by saying "STARD" instead, and I only mean a bit more success.

Maybe "run" will work?!?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes