Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more

Project Ara Smartphone Will Run Modified Android L with Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and … more

Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more

Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more
Post Reply

How do you say, "start"?

11th July 2014, 08:45 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Yorkshire
Thanks Meter: 17
 
183 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Donate to Me
More
This may seem a stupid question but....
I cannot get my watch to recognise the word "START"

Here's a transcript
ME: START
watch: stute

ME: START
watch: stop

ME: START
watch: stop

ME: START
watch: start Yes!!

ME: START
watch: stocks

........you get the picture? What gives?
11th July 2014, 09:13 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Irving, TX
Thanks Meter: 210
 
1,391 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgetgaz

This may seem a stupid question but....
I cannot get my watch to recognise the word "START"

Here's a transcript
ME: START
watch: stute

ME: START
watch: stop

ME: START
watch: stop

ME: START
watch: start Yes!!

ME: START
watch: stocks

........you get the picture? What gives?

I don't have the watch yet, but try "open" instead.
11th July 2014, 09:21 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Yorkshire
Thanks Meter: 17
 
183 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimSmith94

I don't have the watch yet, but try "open" instead.

Thanks, that was a nice idea and it recognises the word every time but it just takes me to a google search. It seems the word "open" is not a recognised keyword.

I am having a bit more success with "start" by saying "STARD" instead, and I only mean a bit more success.
11th July 2014, 09:30 PM   |  #4  
adiliyo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 230
 
1,360 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
you have to say it like us yanks.
11th July 2014, 09:35 PM   |  #5  
cherrytontonne's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
71 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
What exactly are you trying to do with the word start? Mine works perfectly when I say "open hue control", "open Tinder" etc
11th July 2014, 09:37 PM   |  #6  
rikwebb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Derby
Thanks Meter: 23
 
124 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
More
Do you have a heavy Yorkshire accent ?

try 'SStarrt' - in other words long S and long R

12th July 2014, 09:41 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Yorkshire
Thanks Meter: 17
 
183 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rikwebb

Do you have a heavy Yorkshire accent ?

try 'SStarrt' - in other words long S and long R

Non-Yorkshire people say I do, Yorkshire people say I don't so I guess I'm somewhere inbetween!

Anyway, like cherrytontonne says, open seems to work just as well so I'll stop saying start.
12th July 2014, 09:45 PM   |  #8  
rikwebb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Derby
Thanks Meter: 23
 
124 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgetgaz

Non-Yorkshire people say I do, Yorkshire people say I don't so I guess I'm somewhere inbetween!

Anyway, like cherrytontonne says, open seems to work just as well so I'll stop saying start.

I know what you mean mate
My Farther in Law is from East Yorkshire - and although he may say he doesnt have an accent - I cant understand a word hehehe
16th July 2014, 07:15 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Flag Birmingham
Thanks Meter: 1
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
I usually go with "go go gadget strava" mostly for novelty value.
16th July 2014, 07:35 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Irving, TX
Thanks Meter: 210
 
1,391 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgetgaz

Thanks, that was a nice idea and it recognises the word every time but it just takes me to a google search. It seems the word "open" is not a recognised keyword.

I am having a bit more success with "start" by saying "STARD" instead, and I only mean a bit more success.

Maybe "run" will work?!?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes