FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

How do you say, "start"?

201 posts
Thanks Meter: 20
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
This may seem a stupid question but....
I cannot get my watch to recognise the word "START"

Here's a transcript
ME: START
watch: stute

ME: START
watch: stop

ME: START
watch: stop

ME: START
watch: start Yes!!

ME: START
watch: stocks

........you get the picture? What gives?
 
 
11th July 2014, 09:13 PM |#2  
JimSmith94's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Irving, TX
Thanks Meter: 304
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgetgaz

This may seem a stupid question but....
I cannot get my watch to recognise the word "START"

Here's a transcript
ME: START
watch: stute

ME: START
watch: stop

ME: START
watch: stop

ME: START
watch: start Yes!!

ME: START
watch: stocks

........you get the picture? What gives?

I don't have the watch yet, but try "open" instead.
11th July 2014, 09:21 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Yorkshire
Thanks Meter: 20
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimSmith94

I don't have the watch yet, but try "open" instead.

Thanks, that was a nice idea and it recognises the word every time but it just takes me to a google search. It seems the word "open" is not a recognised keyword.

I am having a bit more success with "start" by saying "STARD" instead, and I only mean a bit more success.
11th July 2014, 09:30 PM |#4  
adiliyo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 242
 
More
you have to say it like us yanks.
11th July 2014, 09:35 PM |#5  
cherrytontonne's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
What exactly are you trying to do with the word start? Mine works perfectly when I say "open hue control", "open Tinder" etc
11th July 2014, 09:37 PM |#6  
rikwebb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Derby
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
Do you have a heavy Yorkshire accent ?

try 'SStarrt' - in other words long S and long R

12th July 2014, 09:41 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Yorkshire
Thanks Meter: 20
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rikwebb

Do you have a heavy Yorkshire accent ?

try 'SStarrt' - in other words long S and long R

Non-Yorkshire people say I do, Yorkshire people say I don't so I guess I'm somewhere inbetween!

Anyway, like cherrytontonne says, open seems to work just as well so I'll stop saying start.
12th July 2014, 09:45 PM |#8  
rikwebb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Derby
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgetgaz

Non-Yorkshire people say I do, Yorkshire people say I don't so I guess I'm somewhere inbetween!

Anyway, like cherrytontonne says, open seems to work just as well so I'll stop saying start.

I know what you mean mate
My Farther in Law is from East Yorkshire - and although he may say he doesnt have an accent - I cant understand a word hehehe
16th July 2014, 07:15 AM |#9  
Junior Member
Flag Birmingham
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I usually go with "go go gadget strava" mostly for novelty value.
16th July 2014, 07:35 AM |#10  
JimSmith94's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Irving, TX
Thanks Meter: 304
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgetgaz

Thanks, that was a nice idea and it recognises the word every time but it just takes me to a google search. It seems the word "open" is not a recognised keyword.

I am having a bit more success with "start" by saying "STARD" instead, and I only mean a bit more success.

Maybe "run" will work?!?
16th July 2014, 12:19 PM |#11  
Androidious's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NE
Thanks Meter: 216
 
More
Lol try mini launcher if it's having a hard time hearing your voice command to 'start' an app. There must be some way to train Google Now via the phone to help you with this issue.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes