Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,807,727 Members 52,651 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Problems using Linux Firefox and Chromium to create/edit forum posts

Tip us?
 
workdowg
Old
(Last edited by workdowg; 28th July 2014 at 11:01 PM.)
#1  
workdowg's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 435
Posts: 1,011
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Seneca Falls
Default Problems using Linux Firefox and Chromium to create/edit forum posts

Today Firefox decided not to let me edit one of my larger posts. When I selected edit, it came up blank. Nadda, nothing. Also tried to edit another one and it no longer does WYSIWYG.

Am I missing something new?

Also I can't really use Chromium to edit either because it doesn't support WYSIWYG at all. And when I pasted my newly edited thread content in, I lost all my hyperlinks...

I'm going to install Chrome to see how that fairs...

Edit: Tried Windows Firefox and Chrome also with no results either. Guess I'll just have to keep my post small and simple....
LG G3- VS985 - Rooted and Rockin' Stock
Asus Transformer Infinity TF700t (nvflash) - ZOMBi-X-Beta7 - _that10+ (Kexecboot)

Android ROM's, Linux on Android (native and chroot), Linux News and more
 
aus9
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Perth
Hi

I am on Xubuntu 64 bit running firefox from unpack bz2 rather than from repo.
Also unpack is on its own data partition so I can image using fsarchiver.

try right hand clicking the edit button and there should be an option to "inspect element"

post that element when you can.....maybe there is a little fault in the javascript?
 
workdowg
Old
#3  
workdowg's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 435
Posts: 1,011
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Seneca Falls
Quote:
Originally Posted by aus9 View Post
Hi

I am on Xubuntu 64 bit running firefox from unpack bz2 rather than from repo.
Also unpack is on its own data partition so I can image using fsarchiver.

try right hand clicking the edit button and there should be an option to "inspect element"

post that element when you can.....maybe there is a little fault in the javascript?
Actually it's too late to check. I got frustrated and cut most of the content out and put it in a text file for anyone needing the information. It was mostly background stuff anyway. I think there is a character limit, but it doesn't give a character count, so you just end up finding out when it happens.
LG G3- VS985 - Rooted and Rockin' Stock
Asus Transformer Infinity TF700t (nvflash) - ZOMBi-X-Beta7 - _that10+ (Kexecboot)

Android ROM's, Linux on Android (native and chroot), Linux News and more
 
aus9
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Perth
Default 4945

Ok as a work-a-round on your next big post

prepare it on Linux text editor

show the format as ....but change img to u r l with no gaps....my post count too low to show it

Code:
  [img]imagesrc[/img]
good luck
The Following User Says Thank You to aus9 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bitpushr
Old
#5  
bitpushr's Avatar
XDA:Administrator
Thanks Meter 1,190
Posts: 1,003
Join Date: Mar 2007
Sounds strange, haven't heard of this. Check which plugins you have installed, I have seen some block proper editing. If you have the issue again, check to see if you can inspect with Chrome or FF to see where the mistake might be coming in.
Current Phone: Nexus 5 (Android L)

Tox Secure IM Secure Hash: 79C7D3CDA80B4A657A215DD020586AA38C9C7A685F039F46E0 98CF4D107A3D427A9FA590CE3D
The Following User Says Thank You to bitpushr For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
workdowg
Old
#6  
workdowg's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 435
Posts: 1,011
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Seneca Falls
Quote:
Originally Posted by bitpushr View Post
Sounds strange, haven't heard of this. Check which plugins you have installed, I have seen some block proper editing. If you have the issue again, check to see if you can inspect with Chrome or FF to see where the mistake might be coming in.
I've had the same result with Firefox in Windows also. I must have been a character limit thing...

From my Debloated Stock LG-G3, VS985 4G VZN
LG G3- VS985 - Rooted and Rockin' Stock
Asus Transformer Infinity TF700t (nvflash) - ZOMBi-X-Beta7 - _that10+ (Kexecboot)

Android ROM's, Linux on Android (native and chroot), Linux News and more
The Following User Says Thank You to workdowg For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
workdowg
Old
#7  
workdowg's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 435
Posts: 1,011
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Seneca Falls
Also Firefox and Chrome editors are different. Chrome doesn't allow wysiwyg display. The button is literally missing.
Chrome:
Name:  2014-09-09--1410295368_52x45_scrot.png
Views: 10
Size:  261 Bytes

Firefox:
Name:  2014-09-09--1410295357_70x43_scrot.png
Views: 10
Size:  466 Bytes
LG G3- VS985 - Rooted and Rockin' Stock
Asus Transformer Infinity TF700t (nvflash) - ZOMBi-X-Beta7 - _that10+ (Kexecboot)

Android ROM's, Linux on Android (native and chroot), Linux News and more

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes