Post Reply
Exclamation

[Q]Help: Can't change custom rom

3rd July 2014, 04:16 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Hi,

I am new to this site and fairly new to rooting and stuff and need assistance with my Sony Xperia S (LT26i). If i am not in the right pace for this please point me in the right direction. I have installed a custom rom and custom recovery which let me upgrade from 4.1.2 to 4.3 which was working fine then when I flashed a different custom rom after that to get 4.4.1 I lost access to my custom recovery. The main issue is that I need help with changing the custom rom I have installed, for some reason I can no longer boot into TWRP or CWM (using power + vol up), the phone simply boots normally and skips the whole process therefore I cannot flash anything. I have looked for hours over the net on how to get into recovery but could not find a solution.

I also assumed that when installing custom recovery and custom roms that you would need to be rooted but when I check with Root Checker it says that I am not. So any assistance would be great
3rd July 2014, 02:01 PM   |  #2  
Paget96's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Krusevac
Thanks Meter: 170
 
670 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Wink
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bizzmagizz

Hi,

I am new to this site and fairly new to rooting and stuff and need assistance with my Sony Xperia S (LT26i). If i am not in the right pace for this please point me in the right direction. I have installed a custom rom and custom recovery which let me upgrade from 4.1.2 to 4.3 which was working fine then when I flashed a different custom rom after that to get 4.4.1 I lost access to my custom recovery. The main issue is that I need help with changing the custom rom I have installed, for some reason I can no longer boot into TWRP or CWM (using power + vol up), the phone simply boots normally and skips the whole process therefore I cannot flash anything. I have looked for hours over the net on how to get into recovery but could not find a solution.

I also assumed that when installing custom recovery and custom roms that you would need to be rooted but when I check with Root Checker it says that I am not. So any assistance would be great

try to root again or if it wont work, back to stock and start from begining
The Following User Says Thank You to Paget96 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th July 2014, 09:27 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paget96

try to root again or if it wont work, back to stock and start from begining

Thanks for the feedback, because I am quite new to this stuff can you tell me what the best and easiest way to root the phone is? I have tried the root toolkit but it wont work with my rom i have atm. I cant access my recovery either so how would I go about getting back to stock rom?
Last edited by Bizzmagizz; 4th July 2014 at 09:36 AM.
4th July 2014, 10:47 AM   |  #4  
Paget96's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Krusevac
Thanks Meter: 170
 
670 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bizzmagizz

Thanks for the feedback, because I am quite new to this stuff can you tell me what the best and easiest way to root the phone is? I have tried the root toolkit but it wont work with my rom i have atm. I cant access my recovery either so how would I go about getting back to stock rom?

you have all here
follow this,and back to stock, then root again, install cwm or twrp recovery, and install what ever you want

http://xperiafirmware.com/8-firmware...-xperia-s-lt26
The Following User Says Thank You to Paget96 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th July 2014, 12:44 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Do you know of any other site where I can get the firmware from?, when I try and extract the file after I download it it's corrupted. I have tried multiple times with no luck.
4th July 2014, 12:54 PM   |  #6  
Paget96's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Krusevac
Thanks Meter: 170
 
670 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Wink
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bizzmagizz

Do you know of any other site where I can get the firmware from?, when I try and extract the file after I download it it's corrupted. I have tried multiple times with no luck.

witch android do you want?

---------- Post added at 01:54 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:51 PM ----------

Here is 4.0.4

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B_d8...EwZUh5aTg/edit

steps:
how to install the newest Android 4.0.4 for Sony XPERIA S LT26i
a) first of all, check your firmware version (if you already have the newest one, you do not need this tutorial)
b) download and install latest Flashtool from here (mirrors Google Drive or Mega)
c) download also latest Android 4.0.4 (mirror) for Sony XPERIA S LT26i
d) paste the ftf file downloaded in step c) to folder „Firmware“ included in the XPERIA Flashtool
e) open the XPERIA Flashtool, click on flash and choose downloaded firmware, than click ok. Important - if you do not want to delete any data of your phone, just uncheck flashing userdata.sin file. All data will remain in your phone, but sometimes it can cause additional troubles. So it is better (and I recommend that) to do the backup of your personal data, than proceed with clean instalation and then restore your personal data.
f) turn off your phone and when Flashtool shows pop up window, connect phone to PC with holding volume down button
g) after few minutes all is done and your phone gets the new firmware


Here you got 3 ways to update good luck
http://androidteen.com/xperia-s-lt26...re-6-2-b-1-96/
Last edited by Paget96; 4th July 2014 at 01:02 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Paget96 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th July 2014, 01:14 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Ok so I successfully downloaded the firmware file but I got an error when using the flash tool, I have attached the log if you can maybe help me out with what went wrong.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Flash Log.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	146.6 KB
ID:	2832388  
4th July 2014, 01:24 PM   |  #8  
Paget96's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Krusevac
Thanks Meter: 170
 
670 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bizzmagizz

Ok so I successfully downloaded the firmware file but I got an error when using the flash tool, I have attached the log if you can maybe help me out with what went wrong.

The clue's in the error message - you don't have the required drivers installed.

There's a directory named "drivers" under the main flashtool dir. Run flashtool-drivers.exe and install the appropriate drivers. I think "Common Drivers Viskan Board" is the one you need. I ended up installing all of them to get it to flash (which took ages).
The Following User Says Thank You to Paget96 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th July 2014, 01:26 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
:)
Ok so I got it to work, all I had to do was hold down the vulumn down button for like an extra 5 seconds while it began to flash

Thanks for the help, I appreciate it
4th July 2014, 01:28 PM   |  #10  
Paget96's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Krusevac
Thanks Meter: 170
 
670 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bizzmagizz

Ok so I got it to work, all I had to do was hold down the vulumn down button for like an extra 5 seconds while it began to flash

Thanks for the help, I appreciate it

work??
dont forget to press thanks

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Paget96 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Questions and Answers by ThreadRank