Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,743,029 Members 42,230 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Any chance of activating this phone?

Tip us?
 
otto325
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 118
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default [Q] Any chance of activating this phone?

I live in Ontario, Canada and just bought a $30 Sprint CDMA HTC Evo3d from across the border(Buffalo NY) that works perfectly.

Since Rogers acquired Sprint Canada in 2005, I asked on Rogers forum if Rogers can activate this phone for use and they said no as Rogers only bought Sprint "home phone and long distance"...So I guess sprint wireless never even existed in Canada.

Is there any way of activating this phone in Canada with any other carrier, if it is unlocked perhaps? I already got it to s-off...

...

Also, I found this list of Sprint international carriers so maybe one of those companies(Canada) I can sign on with, or are these just for roaming coverage??

http://www.sprint.com/popups/pop-gprsCarriers.html#c
 
Trozzul
Old
#2  
Trozzul's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 193
Posts: 1,465
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Seattle

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by otto325 View Post
I live in Ontario, Canada and just bought a $30 Sprint CDMA HTC Evo3d from across the border(Buffalo NY) that works perfectly.

Since Rogers acquired Sprint Canada in 2005, I asked on Rogers forum if Rogers can activate this phone for use and they said no as Rogers only bought Sprint "home phone and long distance"...So I guess sprint wireless never even existed in Canada.

Is there any way of activating this phone in Canada with any other carrier, if it is unlocked perhaps? I already got it to s-off...

...

Also, I found this list of Sprint international carriers so maybe one of those companies(Canada) I can sign on with, or are these just for roaming coverage??

http://www.sprint.com/popups/pop-gprsCarriers.html#c
Rogers is GSM right? i dont think it would work since you said its a CDMA device.
"Oh, you can't help that,' said the Cat: 'we're all mad here. I'm mad. You're mad.'
"How do you know I'm mad?' said Alice.
"You must be,' said the Cat, 'or you wouldn't have come here."

Motorola Moto X
Stock KitKat (4.4.4) XT1060
Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1
Rom: Cyanogemod 11 (4.4.4) P5113

Asus Nexus 7
Stock (4.4.4) Broken Digitizer, any recommendations?
Chromecast
Stock
Nikon Coolpix s800c
Stock Gingerbread (2.3.3)
 
otto325
Old
(Last edited by otto325; 6th July 2014 at 04:00 AM.)
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 118
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trozzul View Post
Rogers is GSM right? i dont think it would work since you said its a CDMA device.
I spoke with Bell support, they said Sprint can give you a code to unlock it over the phone so it can be used on a different CDMA carrier(such as bell)
 
Trozzul
Old
#4  
Trozzul's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 193
Posts: 1,465
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Seattle

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by otto325 View Post
I spoke with Bell support, they said Sprint can give you a code to unlock it over the phone so it can be used on a different carrier
thats true you could ask them, though be careful what you say, don't just say hey i want to use this on a different carrier.
"Oh, you can't help that,' said the Cat: 'we're all mad here. I'm mad. You're mad.'
"How do you know I'm mad?' said Alice.
"You must be,' said the Cat, 'or you wouldn't have come here."

Motorola Moto X
Stock KitKat (4.4.4) XT1060
Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1
Rom: Cyanogemod 11 (4.4.4) P5113

Asus Nexus 7
Stock (4.4.4) Broken Digitizer, any recommendations?
Chromecast
Stock
Nikon Coolpix s800c
Stock Gingerbread (2.3.3)
 
otto325
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 118
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trozzul View Post
thats true you could ask them, though be careful what you say, don't just say hey i want to use this on a different carrier.
Turns out you need the MSL password to access the EPST *edit* menu(CDMA frequencies and phone identity info for the new carrier to program in)

MSL can be obtained by ROOT app called "MSL Reader"

hope this helps someone some day
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes