Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

HMDI connected Android TV Box

OP Qefx

21st July 2014, 08:55 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
124 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Hi folks,

Im not quit sure if it is an Android problem or a problem with my box.

When I switch off the TV when the box is connected via HMDI the box goes "off" (switching off sound for example) is there a way or setting to keep it on? So I can switch off TV and keep spotify for example on?
22nd July 2014, 08:23 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Yes!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qefx

Hi folks,

Im not quit sure if it is an Android problem or a problem with my box.

When I switch off the TV when the box is connected via HMDI the box goes "off" (switching off sound for example) is there a way or setting to keep it on? So I can switch off TV and keep spotify for example on?

Yes! I use my Chromecast in this way. What you need is an HDMI pass through device, like a stereo tuner. I have both a Chromecast and Roku dongle plugged into the HDMI ports on my tuner (it has a total of 4 hdmi ports) . A single HDMI cable then runs from the tuner to the TV. The sound comes out of my stereo speakers, not the tv, and I use the stereo's remote control to switch inputs (the TV itself is never changed from its HDMI1 input). This allows me to listen to the audio without having the TV turned on. Tuners with HDMI pass through can be expensive, but I got lucky and found one, virtually brand new with 4 HDMI inputs, at my local Good Will for $65. And if you're into cord cutting, check out my website at cablegobyebye.com
23rd July 2014, 01:19 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
124 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by thabluebull

Yes! I use my Chromecast in this way. What you need is an HDMI pass through device, like a stereo tuner. I have both a Chromecast and Roku dongle plugged into the HDMI ports on my tuner (it has a total of 4 hdmi ports) . A single HDMI cable then runs from the tuner to the TV. The sound comes out of my stereo speakers, not the tv, and I use the stereo's remote control to switch inputs (the TV itself is never changed from its HDMI1 input). This allows me to listen to the audio without having the TV turned on. Tuners with HDMI pass through can be expensive, but I got lucky and found one, virtually brand new with 4 HDMI inputs, at my local Good Will for $65. And if you're into cord cutting, check out my website at cablegobyebye.com

I found a solution which might work. You need to "block" pin 19 from HDMI which reports powersaving / energy modes. I just need to try it at home
5th August 2014, 07:30 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qefx

I found a solution which might work. You need to "block" pin 19 from HDMI which reports powersaving / energy modes. I just need to try it at home

Did you ever get this to work?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes