Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

NEC Terrain Rooting and Flashing Guide

13th July 2014, 03:01 PM   |  #1  
jungleexplorer's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Dallas
Thanks Meter: 1
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
I am starting this thread to be a place for Terrain owners to come for the latest info on how to root and flash their phones. The Terrain is one of the best "rugged" phones on the market, but it has been abandoned by it's manufacturer, leaving owners to find their own solutions to problems and upgrades. This is actually a good thing price wise as you can now buy a brand new Terrain for less then $85. The Terrain has about as of hardware specs as any other ruggedized smartphone on the market currently, but at one third or a 1/4 of the cost. This makes this phone a huge attraction to anyone who is looking for a rugged waterproof phone on a budget and is why this guide is essential for users.

The NEC Terrain still has plenty of life left and this is why we need to come together and find solutions for it. Please feel free to post you success stories in rooting and flashing your terrain to this thread for the benefit of all. Hopefully, will be able to form a complete guide from all the information that get's posted here.

Thanks.
The Following User Says Thank You to jungleexplorer For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th July 2014, 11:16 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
Hi!
I myself just today recieved this phone, and it would be great at least to debloat it.
Previous threads on XDA, just for reference:
NEC Terrain: ADB/CDC Serial Driver, 3e Recovery Password, and Root
[Q] Rooting NEC Terrain
[Q] Unlocking of NEC Terrain SIM/Root
17th July 2014, 07:09 PM   |  #3  
jungleexplorer's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Dallas
Thanks Meter: 1
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamerka

Hi!
I myself just today recieved this phone, and it would be great at least to debloat it.
Previous threads on XDA, just for reference:
NEC Terrain: ADB/CDC Serial Driver, 3e Recovery Password, and Root
[Q] Rooting NEC Terrain
[Q] Unlocking of NEC Terrain SIM/Root


Thanks for the post and the links. It appreas that much of the information on these links are still a work in progress. Hopefully this work will continue and we can create a How To guide from this.

For those that may be interested. You can buy the NEC Terrain Unlock on Amazon for $79.99. Here is the link.

http://www.amazon.com/NEC-Terrain-UN...ds=nec+terrain


For full specs on this great phone you can go here.

http://www.gsmarena.com/nec_terrain-5553.php
Last edited by jungleexplorer; 17th July 2014 at 07:15 PM.
22nd July 2014, 08:18 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
Well, I almost bricked it few days ago.
I read a thread about a patch to unlock GSM in CDMA phones and saw there a code to enter some hidden menu. I entered that menu and messed a little with band settings (wanted to get LTE to work with my operator). Next thing I know Terrain stopped receiving any GSM signal and for next hour I tried to fix it. Factory reset got me 2G signal and that's all.
It turned out that the only way to fully fix it is to re-flash firmware or radio module and as we know that can't be done.
4th August 2014, 11:07 PM   |  #5  
jungleexplorer's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Dallas
Thanks Meter: 1
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Well, this is not about unlocking or flashing, but it is a solution to another problem I and many other have been having with the predictive text bar blocking critical function keys from being accessed. The predictive txt bar is a function of the Adaptxt keyboard app and disabling it does remove that bar, but the keyboard also loses all special character function, upper case letters and numbers. After trying more then a dozen keyboard apps to replace adaptxt, I found one that works and brings back all keyboard functions without the stupid predictive text bar. It is called TouchPal.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...tinputv5&hl=en
11th August 2014, 08:04 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Forgive me for this slight OT-posting, but it's not that easy to find people with this device - let alone an unlocked one. I'm located in Germany and the device runs just fine - except for the fact that Tethering does not work - neither USB nor WIFI. The PC can connect to the phone, however the connection in Windows 7 always is shown as being limited (no internet access), while internet on the phone works fine.

GMail - as well as some other functions of google also rarely sync and basically just do so on request, while they sync just fine when being connected to Wifi. And no, background data are not restricted in the settings.

Has anyone experienced something similar?
2nd September 2014, 08:11 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by laserdrome

device runs just fine - except for the fact that Tethering does not work - neither USB nor WIFI.

I have the same problem! After few minutes of "thinking" phone reports "There is a temporary nework problem... bla, bla, bla"
Is there any suggestions how to fix it?
4th September 2014, 11:37 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by iDomino

I have the same problem! After few minutes of "thinking" phone reports "There is a temporary nework problem... bla, bla, bla"
Is there any suggestions how to fix it?

Well actually I know that message as well. For me changing the APN helped. You could also try to restart the phone. I just remember I also had this problem sometimes. But like I said - even without that particular message I would not get tethering to work.

iDomino: Do you also experience the problem with syncing that I had?
8th September 2014, 10:22 AM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
That's funny, actually I haven't noticed syncing problems untill I read your posts. I myself have all the same problems that you mention.
Even more of that, Terrain has some silly feature that TURNS OFF WI-FI if it thinks that that hotspot has no internet connection. It is massively annoying and can drain all your data traffic. The only solution that I found is to install the app "Smart Wi-Fi Toggler", it constantly turns wi-fi on if terrain turns it off, but only in places where I turned wi-fi on myself (like home and work).
17th September 2014, 01:09 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
It's a pity the phone has so many flaws and due to its tight security and the locked down NEC mobile devision no one can do anything about it. I wonder if this just affects the users who use an unlocked phone outside the US or if people in the US have similar problems. I have tried contacting NEC about this - actually about providing us with some kind of unlock mechanism - but all I got was this:

"Dear Sir,

Thank you for inquiry.

We, however, regret to inform you that our phone is not available about your request.
If you have any issue, would you try to contact the company or shop where you have purchased this model, who might be of help to you.


Thanks and Best Regards,
Fujii /NEC"

By the way, I discovered a new bug: When Roaming the actually used Network-Provider is not shown and I also didn't find a way to choose one...
Last edited by laserdrome; 17th September 2014 at 01:12 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes