Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

permanent way to disable hardware power key

OP endofwed

17th July 2014, 09:44 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
hello.

my power button on my galaxy s2 is not functioning properly. I think what happened was it got pushed too many times over the year and now its jammed, causing it to resent itself and glitch randomly at times.


I want to permantly disable the hardware power button. I've tried several apps but not seem to permanently disable it as it occasional still works sometimes. (my phone at random still resets itself)

Apps I've tried

xposed + xposed additions (to remap keys)
button remap app




Anything else I can do? I was thinking about just trying to pry to home key out of its socket but that seems a bit silly..
Last edited by endofwed; 18th July 2014 at 10:04 AM.
17th July 2014, 11:40 AM   |  #2  
Kobro's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Moshav Matityahu
Thanks Meter: 73
 
463 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by endofwed

hello.

my home button on my galaxy s2 is not functioning properly. I think what happened was it got pushed too many times over the year and now its jammed, causing it to resent itself and glitch randomly at times.


I want to permantly disable the hardware power button. I've tried several apps but not seem to permanently disable it as it occasional still works sometimes. (my phone at random still resets itself)

Apps I've tried

xposed + xposed additions (to remap keys)
button remap app


just get a new button, it shoouldnt cost too much.

Anything else I can do? I was thinking about just trying to pry to home key out of its socket but that seems a bit silly..


just get a new button, it shouldnt cost too much.
if u cant, try adding soft buttons to your phone. that would give you a workable solution.
17th July 2014, 12:09 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kobro

just get a new button, it shouldnt cost too much.
if u cant, try adding soft buttons to your phone. that would give you a workable solution.


the thing is, im trying to disable the home button because its jammed so i think its whats causing the random resets on my phone.

I would replace the home button but im comfortable opening up the phone.
17th July 2014, 02:22 PM   |  #4  
Kobro's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Moshav Matityahu
Thanks Meter: 73
 
463 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by endofwed

the thing is, im trying to disable the home button because its jammed so i think its whats causing the random resets on my phone.

I would replace the home button but im comfortable opening up the phone.

which button is jammed, home or power???
18th July 2014, 10:04 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kobro

which button is jammed, home or power???

the power button. the physical button on the side.

sorry, i didnt notice i wrote home instead of power.
18th July 2014, 10:13 AM   |  #6  
Kobro's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Moshav Matityahu
Thanks Meter: 73
 
463 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by endofwed

the power button. the physical button on the side.

sorry, i didnt notice i wrote home instead of power.

The xposed module gravitybox has button functionality replacement, I think.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes