The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

How to Root Android Wear 5.0.1 Lollipop Devices – XDA TV

The Lollipop update for Android Wear devices has hit the market and people are … more

Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Returning rooted and s-off phone to Verizon?

OP TylerG3

21st July 2014, 06:27 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Hey guys, I have a rooted and s-offed m8 currently running viperrom. I plan on switching the phone around to another line soon.(So i would swap phones with another person on my plan, but keep my same number to clarify) Will anything the reps do flag that my phone has been modded? Also, if they will be able to know, is there anyway to return the phone to complete stock and not have the tampered sign on the fastboot screen? Or can I still switch the numbers on the phones around online and avoid taking it to the store completely?
Thanks Guys
21st July 2014, 06:54 PM   |  #2  
Planterz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tucson, AZ
Thanks Meter: 314
 
1,097 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TylerG3

Hey guys, I have a rooted and s-offed m8 currently running viperrom. I plan on switching the phone around to another line soon.(So i would swap phones with another person on my plan, but keep my same number to clarify) Will anything the reps do flag that my phone has been modded? Also, if they will be able to know, is there anyway to return the phone to complete stock and not have the tampered sign on the fastboot screen? Or can I still switch the numbers on the phones around online and avoid taking it to the store completely?
Thanks Guys

Is the phone originally from Verizon? Phones from other carriers won't work with Verizon. T-Mobile and AT&T use GSM, and although Sprint uses CDMA like VZW, their phones won't work on VZW either.

If the phone is a Verizon phone, then switching it to another line/number should be as simple as putting in the SIM card for that line.
The Following User Says Thank You to Planterz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st July 2014, 07:20 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Planterz

Is the phone originally from Verizon? Phones from other carriers won't work with Verizon. T-Mobile and AT&T use GSM, and although Sprint uses CDMA like VZW, their phones won't work on VZW either.

If the phone is a Verizon phone, then switching it to another line/number should be as simple as putting in the SIM card for that line.

Yes, it is originally from Verizon. I am swapping my m8 for a G3 on Verizon. I'm not sure if the G3 has the same size SIM card like you mention .
21st July 2014, 08:03 PM   |  #4  
Planterz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tucson, AZ
Thanks Meter: 314
 
1,097 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TylerG3

Yes, it is originally from Verizon. I am swapping my m8 for a G3 on Verizon. I'm not sure if the G3 has the same size SIM card like you mention .

From what I can gather, both use a micro SIM. You shouldn't have any problems.
The Following User Says Thank You to Planterz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd July 2014, 04:30 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Planterz

From what I can gather, both use a micro SIM. You shouldn't have any problems.

Thanks for all the help! I'm not positive, but i think the M8 uses a nano sim, while the G3 uses a micro, which is bigger.
22nd July 2014, 04:48 PM   |  #6  
Planterz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tucson, AZ
Thanks Meter: 314
 
1,097 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TylerG3

Thanks for all the help! I'm not positive, but i think the M8 uses a nano sim, while the G3 uses a micro, which is bigger.

I think you're right. The M7 uses a micro SIM, but google searches say the M8 uses a nano SIM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes