Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,373 Members 47,781 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] What could go wrong? (Custom ROMs)

Tip us?
 
poch98
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Buenos Aires
Question [Q] What could go wrong? (Custom ROMs)

My device has no ROMs out there, it is the GT-S7562L, there's ROMs for the GT-S7562 (even some people here in XDA are developing CM11 for this phone, but not mine :P) but not mine for some reason, their only difference is the network frequencies. What could go wrong if i flashed a ROM for the S7562? Could my phone get bricked? Would something go wring with the network, and if so, does it have a solution? If something DOES go wrong, is it simply solved by restoring a previous backup? Thanks a lot!
 
Zeuscluts
Old
#2  
Zeuscluts's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2898
Posts: 1,849
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Mumbai

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by poch98 View Post
My device has no ROMs out there, it is the GT-S7562L, there's ROMs for the GT-S7562 (even some people here in XDA are developing CM11 for this phone, but not mine :P) but not mine for some reason, their only difference is the network frequencies. What could go wrong if i flashed a ROM for the S7562? Could my phone get bricked? Would something go wring with the network, and if so, does it have a solution? If something DOES go wrong, is it simply solved by restoring a previous backup? Thanks a lot!
Okk .
First of all try not to flash other models rom on your device.
If you are lucky it will only softbrick, bootloop or such.
If by chance you are unlucky dont blame xda.
Hardbrick might cause you a great problem.
Sometime some problems cannot be solved even after restoration of your old files.

Further I wont stop you, just want you not to get trouble.

*********----------**********
Instead just try to root your phone.
Install xposed framework on your stock rom & modify it as per your convince using different combinations of xposed modules.

Thankyou,
Zeuscluts

Hit thanks if I helped you.
Need Some Cool Graphic's Visit Gfxbandits

Click the Below TAB for More Info.
 

 
KkdGab
Old
#3  
KkdGab's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 132
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Auckland
The worst that could happen is bootloop, again I am not sure, but I have flashed a rom for the y210-0151 when my model is the y210-0100. Try porting it to ur device
 
poch98
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Buenos Aires
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeuscluts View Post
Okk .
First of all try not to flash other models rom on your device.
If you are lucky it will only softbrick, bootloop or such.
If by chance you are unlucky dont blame xda.
Hardbrick might cause you a great problem.
Sometime some problems cannot be solved even after restoration of your old files.

Further I wont stop you, just want you not to get trouble.

*********----------**********
Instead just try to root your phone.
Install xposed framework on your stock rom & modify it as per your convince using different combinations of xposed modules.

Thankyou,
Zeuscluts

Hit thanks if I helped you.
Thanks for responding. I'll try it out
 
Zeuscluts
Old
#5  
Zeuscluts's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2898
Posts: 1,849
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Mumbai

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by poch98 View Post
Thanks for responding. I'll try it out
If you need anyhelp.
Just mention me.

Hit Thanks if I helped you .
Need Some Cool Graphic's Visit Gfxbandits

Click the Below TAB for More Info.
 

 
poch98
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Buenos Aires
Quote:
Originally Posted by KkdGab View Post
The worst that could happen is bootloop, again I am not sure, but I have flashed a rom for the y210-0151 when my model is the y210-0100. Try porting it to ur device
How do you port a ROM (yes, I know little to nothing about technical stuff in phones). Also, what was the difference between the y210-0151 and the y210-0100, was it also the network frequencies?
 
Zeuscluts
Old
#7  
Zeuscluts's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2898
Posts: 1,849
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Mumbai

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by poch98 View Post
How do you port a ROM (yes, I know little to nothing about technical stuff in phones). Also, what was the difference between the y210-0151 and the y210-0100, was it also the network frequencies?
Like there are many tutorials for ut.
All you need to make some precautions while porting.

As for the network frequencies you saying try not to sway modems of the host you porting rom to your device also be precauted with kernel it bootloop, sometime hard brick also.

Regards,
Zeuscluts- Gfxbandits

Hit Thanks Button If I Helped you anyhow!![emoji6][emoji6]
Need Some Cool Graphic's Visit Gfxbandits

Click the Below TAB for More Info.
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


[APK] Google News and Weather Gets Material Design Makeover, Minor Maps Updates

Although Google has somewhat gotten out of the habit of their … more

Software Build Automation with Jenkins – XDA Developer TV

Many members of the XDA community come to learn and begin in the exciting … more

Add Bits and Pieces of Honami to Your Current ROM

In the last few months, we’ve talked about quite a few Sony Honami-related projects. … more

Always Enter the Correct Password with HideNoPasswords

If you’ve ever entered apassword on your mobile device, you’ve surely … more