Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,803,209 Members 43,891 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] What could go wrong? (Custom ROMs)

Tip us?
 
poch98
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Buenos Aires
Question [Q] What could go wrong? (Custom ROMs)

My device has no ROMs out there, it is the GT-S7562L, there's ROMs for the GT-S7562 (even some people here in XDA are developing CM11 for this phone, but not mine :P) but not mine for some reason, their only difference is the network frequencies. What could go wrong if i flashed a ROM for the S7562? Could my phone get bricked? Would something go wring with the network, and if so, does it have a solution? If something DOES go wrong, is it simply solved by restoring a previous backup? Thanks a lot!
 
Zeuscluts
Old
#2  
Zeuscluts's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,905
Posts: 1,852
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Mumbai

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by poch98 View Post
My device has no ROMs out there, it is the GT-S7562L, there's ROMs for the GT-S7562 (even some people here in XDA are developing CM11 for this phone, but not mine :P) but not mine for some reason, their only difference is the network frequencies. What could go wrong if i flashed a ROM for the S7562? Could my phone get bricked? Would something go wring with the network, and if so, does it have a solution? If something DOES go wrong, is it simply solved by restoring a previous backup? Thanks a lot!
Okk .
First of all try not to flash other models rom on your device.
If you are lucky it will only softbrick, bootloop or such.
If by chance you are unlucky dont blame xda.
Hardbrick might cause you a great problem.
Sometime some problems cannot be solved even after restoration of your old files.

Further I wont stop you, just want you not to get trouble.

*********----------**********
Instead just try to root your phone.
Install xposed framework on your stock rom & modify it as per your convince using different combinations of xposed modules.

Thankyou,
Zeuscluts

Hit thanks if I helped you.
Need Some Cool Graphic's Visit Gfxbandits

Click the Below TAB for More Info.
 

 
KkdGab
Old
#3  
KkdGab's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 170
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Auckland
The worst that could happen is bootloop, again I am not sure, but I have flashed a rom for the y210-0151 when my model is the y210-0100. Try porting it to ur device
 
poch98
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Buenos Aires
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeuscluts View Post
Okk .
First of all try not to flash other models rom on your device.
If you are lucky it will only softbrick, bootloop or such.
If by chance you are unlucky dont blame xda.
Hardbrick might cause you a great problem.
Sometime some problems cannot be solved even after restoration of your old files.

Further I wont stop you, just want you not to get trouble.

*********----------**********
Instead just try to root your phone.
Install xposed framework on your stock rom & modify it as per your convince using different combinations of xposed modules.

Thankyou,
Zeuscluts

Hit thanks if I helped you.
Thanks for responding. I'll try it out
 
Zeuscluts
Old
#5  
Zeuscluts's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,905
Posts: 1,852
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Mumbai

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by poch98 View Post
Thanks for responding. I'll try it out
If you need anyhelp.
Just mention me.

Hit Thanks if I helped you .
Need Some Cool Graphic's Visit Gfxbandits

Click the Below TAB for More Info.
 

 
poch98
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Buenos Aires
Quote:
Originally Posted by KkdGab View Post
The worst that could happen is bootloop, again I am not sure, but I have flashed a rom for the y210-0151 when my model is the y210-0100. Try porting it to ur device
How do you port a ROM (yes, I know little to nothing about technical stuff in phones). Also, what was the difference between the y210-0151 and the y210-0100, was it also the network frequencies?
 
Zeuscluts
Old
#7  
Zeuscluts's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,905
Posts: 1,852
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Mumbai

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by poch98 View Post
How do you port a ROM (yes, I know little to nothing about technical stuff in phones). Also, what was the difference between the y210-0151 and the y210-0100, was it also the network frequencies?
Like there are many tutorials for ut.
All you need to make some precautions while porting.

As for the network frequencies you saying try not to sway modems of the host you porting rom to your device also be precauted with kernel it bootloop, sometime hard brick also.

Regards,
Zeuscluts- Gfxbandits

Hit Thanks Button If I Helped you anyhow!![emoji6][emoji6]
Need Some Cool Graphic's Visit Gfxbandits

Click the Below TAB for More Info.
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Discover and Sample the Latest Billboard Music Hits with Billy

Music is a passion that transcends age, gender, race, culture, and geographic … more

Speed Up Jenkins Configuration Process with TSJ

When you are theleader of a largedevelopment project, Gerrit isn’t the only tool that … more

AutoData Regulates Your Connectivity to Save Battery Life

It’s absolutely no secret that battery life is somewhat of anundoingformany … more

Tale of the Great Recoveries

About a week ago, our fantastic writer and my esteemed colleague Tom embarked on a mission to learnthe vast and … more