Official MEGA Layers Overlays Collection

The Layers Overlays is getting more popular every day and is a nice alternative to … more

Why Your Smartphone Needs Infrared Sensors

Is it useful? Yes. Is it fun? Even more so! As of now, infrared or thermal vision solutions on … more

Giefroot Root Tool For Locked Z3, Z3 Compact

Check out this tool to root Xperia Z3 or Z3 Compact regardless of the locked bootloader. It … more

Five Free Icon Packs to Rule Them All

Android’s charm as an operating system is multi-faceted, and that’s after downplaying it … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Formatting Windows 8

OP Thin_Bezel

7th September 2014, 12:23 PM   |  #1  
Thin_Bezel's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 224
 
660 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Hello all,

I want to format Windows 7 and install Windows 8. I booted from the USB and went to the page where I can select which drives to format. I have 2 1 TB drives. The C drive which has windows and I want to format it and the D drive which has all my back up photos, music and videos. I deleted the system cache which is 100 mb and I don't know which of the two drives is the one that has windows. Is it in an alphabetic order. C drive is first and then D drive is below it?

Sent from my SM-G900H using XDA Free mobile app
7th September 2014, 12:28 PM   |  #2  
CoolApps's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 603
 
3,345 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Yup.
The "C drive" contains the Windows operating system.
7th September 2014, 12:32 PM   |  #3  
Thin_Bezel's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 224
 
660 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
I know that. But on the installation screen it says Disk 1 and Disk 2. I want to know which of these is Disk C

Sent from my SM-G900H using XDA Free mobile app
7th September 2014, 12:50 PM   |  #4  
CoolApps's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 603
 
3,345 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
I believe it should say more than that.
Does it say the amount of storage after selecting the disk or anything like that?
7th September 2014, 01:46 PM   |  #5  
Thin_Bezel's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 224
 
660 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolApps

I believe it should say more than that.
Does it say the amount of storage after selecting the disk or anything like that?

Yes it does say but they are exactly the same size and have the same free space.

Sent from my SM-G900H using XDA Free mobile app
7th September 2014, 03:41 PM   |  #6  
Thin_Bezel's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 224
 
660 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Anyone

Sent from my SM-G900H using XDA Free mobile app
7th September 2014, 07:21 PM   |  #7  
CoolApps's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 603
 
3,345 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
I would unplug your external(?) storage device (drive D) to see if the first one is the C drive.
Personally, I think the C drive should be on top as it could be in the order by drives.
8th September 2014, 01:46 AM   |  #8  
Thin_Bezel's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 224
 
660 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolApps

I would unplug your external(?) storage device (drive D) to see if the first one is the C drive.
Personally, I think the C drive should be on top as it could be in the order by drives.

Well it isn't external. Yeah that's what I am thinking.

Sent from my SM-G900H using XDA Free mobile app
8th September 2014, 08:24 AM   |  #9  
ShadowLea's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Enschede, The Netherlands
Thanks Meter: 1,067
 
4,287 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Uh, the Windows install always displays the drive letter. (Even the pirated ones.) And usually even the name of the drive.

Can you still get to the device manager? If so, it has a partition manager which'll list which drive is which.

If not, boot into BIOS. Check which one is set as the boot device, that one's C:/.

Also, you can disconnect an internal harddrive.. Just open the door and pull out the cable... (I always do that on a Windows install to prevent conflicts and potential data loss. (even on my laptop. My Asus grants full hardware access.).)

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk 2
Last edited by ShadowLea; 8th September 2014 at 08:27 AM.
8th September 2014, 08:54 AM   |  #10  
Thin_Bezel's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 224
 
660 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowLea

Uh, the Windows install always displays the drive letter. (Even the pirated ones.) And usually even the name of the drive.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk 2

It is not my computer. The menu is like this.

And when I try to go to BIOS is requires a password and my friend says he doesn't know it.

We can't boot the current windows because we deleted the first small partition.

Sent from my SM-G900H using XDA Free mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	windows-8-clean-install-11.png
Views:	24
Size:	52.5 KB
ID:	2928898  
Last edited by Thin_Bezel; 8th September 2014 at 09:01 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes