FORUMS

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

CleanSlate Brings Fingerprint Scanner Mod to HTC One M9+

Work of XDA Recognized Developer tbalden, CleanSlate custom kernel for the HTC … more

Sunday Debate: Which Factors Caused HTC’s Woes?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on HTC’s situation. Come with your … more

HTC’s New Ad Campaign And What It Really Means

HTC has just released three new blind test adverts comparing app loading … more

[Q] Formatting Windows 8

667 posts
Thanks Meter: 229
 
By Thin_Bezel, Senior Member on 7th September 2014, 11:23 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hello all,

I want to format Windows 7 and install Windows 8. I booted from the USB and went to the page where I can select which drives to format. I have 2 1 TB drives. The C drive which has windows and I want to format it and the D drive which has all my back up photos, music and videos. I deleted the system cache which is 100 mb and I don't know which of the two drives is the one that has windows. Is it in an alphabetic order. C drive is first and then D drive is below it?

Sent from my SM-G900H using XDA Free mobile app
 
 
7th September 2014, 11:28 AM |#2  
CoolApps's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 604
 
Donate to Me
More
Yup.
The "C drive" contains the Windows operating system.
7th September 2014, 11:32 AM |#3  
Thin_Bezel's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 229
 
More
I know that. But on the installation screen it says Disk 1 and Disk 2. I want to know which of these is Disk C

Sent from my SM-G900H using XDA Free mobile app
7th September 2014, 11:50 AM |#4  
CoolApps's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 604
 
Donate to Me
More
I believe it should say more than that.
Does it say the amount of storage after selecting the disk or anything like that?
7th September 2014, 12:46 PM |#5  
Thin_Bezel's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 229
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolApps

I believe it should say more than that.
Does it say the amount of storage after selecting the disk or anything like that?

Yes it does say but they are exactly the same size and have the same free space.

Sent from my SM-G900H using XDA Free mobile app
7th September 2014, 02:41 PM |#6  
Thin_Bezel's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 229
 
More
Anyone

Sent from my SM-G900H using XDA Free mobile app
7th September 2014, 06:21 PM |#7  
CoolApps's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 604
 
Donate to Me
More
I would unplug your external(?) storage device (drive D) to see if the first one is the C drive.
Personally, I think the C drive should be on top as it could be in the order by drives.
8th September 2014, 12:46 AM |#8  
Thin_Bezel's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 229
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolApps

I would unplug your external(?) storage device (drive D) to see if the first one is the C drive.
Personally, I think the C drive should be on top as it could be in the order by drives.

Well it isn't external. Yeah that's what I am thinking.

Sent from my SM-G900H using XDA Free mobile app
8th September 2014, 07:24 AM |#9  
ShadowLea's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Enschede, The Netherlands
Thanks Meter: 1,213
 
More
Uh, the Windows install always displays the drive letter. (Even the pirated ones.) And usually even the name of the drive.

Can you still get to the device manager? If so, it has a partition manager which'll list which drive is which.

If not, boot into BIOS. Check which one is set as the boot device, that one's C:/.

Also, you can disconnect an internal harddrive.. Just open the door and pull out the cable... (I always do that on a Windows install to prevent conflicts and potential data loss. (even on my laptop. My Asus grants full hardware access.).)

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk 2
Last edited by ShadowLea; 8th September 2014 at 07:27 AM.
8th September 2014, 07:54 AM |#10  
Thin_Bezel's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 229
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowLea

Uh, the Windows install always displays the drive letter. (Even the pirated ones.) And usually even the name of the drive.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk 2

It is not my computer. The menu is like this.

And when I try to go to BIOS is requires a password and my friend says he doesn't know it.

We can't boot the current windows because we deleted the first small partition.

Sent from my SM-G900H using XDA Free mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	windows-8-clean-install-11.png
Views:	24
Size:	52.5 KB
ID:	2928898  
Last edited by Thin_Bezel; 8th September 2014 at 08:01 AM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes