Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,480 Members 44,841 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Beats by Dre not fully functional on my nexus 5??

Tip us?
 
BruKnowsBest
Old
#1  
BruKnowsBest's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 137
Join Date: May 2013
Audio [Q] Beats by Dre not fully functional on my nexus 5??

I have a Beats by Dre Headphone and a Nexus 5, Is there a way of making it so the ContolTalk works on my phone ?

as of right now I know it was only fully functional on iOS but not on Android (only mic and call button works on it)

I will love you forever (and kiss your forehead) if you find me a solution, specially if I don't have to root it ( which I'll probably have too )
I'm not a Developer, Just really Curious
Current Devices:
TWRP, Cyanogenmod 11, Apex Launcher Pro
- TWRP, Cyanogenmod 11, Xposed Modules, Apex Launcher Pro


Previously Owned Devices:
(my first android phone and loving it)
 
SomeGuyDude
Old
#2  
SomeGuyDude's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 202
Posts: 1,148
Join Date: Jun 2010
There's no solution because it's a hardware thing. The cable is not compatible fully with an Android device and no rooting will do anything about it any more than rooting would make the N5 work with an iPhone-designed radio.
So punish me for weakness, blame me for everything.
I don't like suffering, I like the sympathy it brings.
 
BruKnowsBest
Old
#3  
BruKnowsBest's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 137
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by SomeGuyDude View Post
There's no solution because it's a hardware thing. The cable is not compatible fully with an Android device and no rooting will do anything about it any more than rooting would make the N5 work with an iPhone-designed radio.

damn, well thanks anyway for the reply
I'm not a Developer, Just really Curious
Current Devices:
TWRP, Cyanogenmod 11, Apex Launcher Pro
- TWRP, Cyanogenmod 11, Xposed Modules, Apex Launcher Pro


Previously Owned Devices:
(my first android phone and loving it)
 
hepbhoe
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 25
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brunolarogian View Post
I have a Beats by Dre Headphone and a Nexus 5, Is there a way of making it so the ContolTalk works on my phone ?

as of right now I know it was only fully functional on iOS but not on Android (only mic and call button works on it)

I will love you forever (and kiss your forehead) if you find me a solution, specially if I don't have to root it ( which I'll probably have too )
1st receipe: Go to the E-Bay. Try to find a "Samsung headset control cable". It's very rare thing so you could fail with it. Try aliexpress, dx or similar sites.

2nd receipe: Go to the E-Bay and get the pair of the cheapest Samsung headsets there. Find someone familiar with the soldering iron and tell him to use the headset as the donor to the original cable. Changes will occur for resistors and wiring he'd changeover mic and ground contacts as describede below.

headset pinout
The Following User Says Thank You to hepbhoe For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
BruKnowsBest
Old
#5  
BruKnowsBest's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 137
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by hepbhoe View Post
1st receipe: Go to the E-Bay. Try to find a "Samsung headset control cable". It's very rare thing so you could fail with it. Try aliexpress, dx or similar sites.

2nd receipe: Go to the E-Bay and get the pair of the cheapest Samsung headsets there. Find someone familiar with the soldering iron and tell him to use the headset as the donor to the original cable. Changes will occur for resistors and wiring he'd changeover mic and ground contacts as describede below.

headset pinout


I just wanted my beats to work with it, thanks but I don't want a new one
I'm not a Developer, Just really Curious
Current Devices:
TWRP, Cyanogenmod 11, Apex Launcher Pro
- TWRP, Cyanogenmod 11, Xposed Modules, Apex Launcher Pro


Previously Owned Devices:
(my first android phone and loving it)
 
hepbhoe
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 25
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brunolarogian View Post
I just wanted my beats to work with it, thanks but I don't want a new one
Try to read my reply again.
 
DigitalJosee
Old
#7  
DigitalJosee's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 105
Posts: 264
Join Date: Mar 2013
Instead of doing this workaround, just buy this adapter:
http://www.amazon.com/Sony-EC250-Hea.../dp/B009HW15UG

It convert from CTIA to OMTP.
 
th3xeroeagle
Old
#8  
th3xeroeagle's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 335
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Montreal
I hear the xiaomi pistons work with n5 volume and pause/play

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Control Your Toast Notifications with SlicedToasts

Toasts are delicious, even in their Android flavor. In Android, toast doesn’t lead … more

Rotation Lets You Take Full Control of Your Device’s Orientation Settings

To be brutally honest, the native options for screen … more

Change the Alarm Icon in the Status Bar with Xposed

It’s hard to find a more hated object than your alarm clock. They wake us up nearly … more

Return to Outer Space Outer Space with Ship Up Game

Since the release of Flappy Birds, we’ve had the “fortune” to see … more