Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,541 Members 52,420 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Beats by Dre not fully functional on my nexus 5??

Tip us?
 
BruKnowsBest
Old
#1  
BruKnowsBest's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 111
Posts: 281
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Washington, DC
Audio [Q] Beats by Dre not fully functional on my nexus 5??

I have a Beats by Dre Headphone and a Nexus 5, Is there a way of making it so the ContolTalk works on my phone ?

as of right now I know it was only fully functional on iOS but not on Android (only mic and call button works on it)

I will love you forever (and kiss your forehead) if you find me a solution, specially if I don't have to root it ( which I'll probably have too )
I'm not a Developer, Just really Curious

"Have you ever seen a hater doing better than you??? Me Neither..."



Current Devices:

TWRP | Cyanogenmod 11 | Xposed Modules | Apex Launcher Pro


TWRP | Always trying new ROMs | Apex Launcher Pro
 
SomeGuyDude
Old
#2  
SomeGuyDude's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 208
Posts: 1,169
Join Date: Jun 2010
There's no solution because it's a hardware thing. The cable is not compatible fully with an Android device and no rooting will do anything about it any more than rooting would make the N5 work with an iPhone-designed radio.
So punish me for weakness, blame me for everything.
I don't like suffering, I like the sympathy it brings.
 
BruKnowsBest
Old
#3  
BruKnowsBest's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 111
Posts: 281
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Washington, DC
Quote:
Originally Posted by SomeGuyDude View Post
There's no solution because it's a hardware thing. The cable is not compatible fully with an Android device and no rooting will do anything about it any more than rooting would make the N5 work with an iPhone-designed radio.

damn, well thanks anyway for the reply
I'm not a Developer, Just really Curious

"Have you ever seen a hater doing better than you??? Me Neither..."



Current Devices:

TWRP | Cyanogenmod 11 | Xposed Modules | Apex Launcher Pro


TWRP | Always trying new ROMs | Apex Launcher Pro
 
hepbhoe
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 25
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brunolarogian View Post
I have a Beats by Dre Headphone and a Nexus 5, Is there a way of making it so the ContolTalk works on my phone ?

as of right now I know it was only fully functional on iOS but not on Android (only mic and call button works on it)

I will love you forever (and kiss your forehead) if you find me a solution, specially if I don't have to root it ( which I'll probably have too )
1st receipe: Go to the E-Bay. Try to find a "Samsung headset control cable". It's very rare thing so you could fail with it. Try aliexpress, dx or similar sites.

2nd receipe: Go to the E-Bay and get the pair of the cheapest Samsung headsets there. Find someone familiar with the soldering iron and tell him to use the headset as the donor to the original cable. Changes will occur for resistors and wiring he'd changeover mic and ground contacts as describede below.

headset pinout
The Following User Says Thank You to hepbhoe For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
BruKnowsBest
Old
#5  
BruKnowsBest's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 111
Posts: 281
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Washington, DC
Quote:
Originally Posted by hepbhoe View Post
1st receipe: Go to the E-Bay. Try to find a "Samsung headset control cable". It's very rare thing so you could fail with it. Try aliexpress, dx or similar sites.

2nd receipe: Go to the E-Bay and get the pair of the cheapest Samsung headsets there. Find someone familiar with the soldering iron and tell him to use the headset as the donor to the original cable. Changes will occur for resistors and wiring he'd changeover mic and ground contacts as describede below.

headset pinout


I just wanted my beats to work with it, thanks but I don't want a new one
I'm not a Developer, Just really Curious

"Have you ever seen a hater doing better than you??? Me Neither..."



Current Devices:

TWRP | Cyanogenmod 11 | Xposed Modules | Apex Launcher Pro


TWRP | Always trying new ROMs | Apex Launcher Pro
 
hepbhoe
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 25
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brunolarogian View Post
I just wanted my beats to work with it, thanks but I don't want a new one
Try to read my reply again.
 
DigitalJosee
Old
#7  
DigitalJosee's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 105
Posts: 264
Join Date: Mar 2013
Instead of doing this workaround, just buy this adapter:
http://www.amazon.com/Sony-EC250-Hea.../dp/B009HW15UG

It convert from CTIA to OMTP.
 
th3xeroeagle
Old
#8  
th3xeroeagle's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 335
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Montreal
I hear the xiaomi pistons work with n5 volume and pause/play
 
Akoolive
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 52
Posts: 273
Join Date: Oct 2010
Get viper audio mod!!!!!
 
Znamir81
Old
#10  
Znamir81's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 98
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by th3xeroeagle View Post
I hear the xiaomi pistons work with n5 volume and pause/play
Sure thing they do. Plus they are a lot cheaper than Beats and sound better even straight out of the box. Not to mention how much better they sound once you burn them in.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes