AOSP Lollipop 5.1.0 for LG Optimus 4X HD

One of the main rivals of the legendary Samsung Galaxy SIII, the LG Optimus 4X HD has received … more

S6 Pre-orders on T-Mobile are Arriving

T-Mobile appears to be first off the mark with delivering the S6, as some customers are already … more

Best Alarm App for Android?

There are tons of choices to choose from when looking for a great alarm app for Android. While the stock … more

Unofficial CM12.1 Available for Moto E 2014

While Motorola is yet to release a final 5.0.2 build for the Moto E 2014, XDA Senior … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Boot Img kitchen[N5][Linux]

10th February 2014, 08:29 AM   |  #1  
kylon's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,822
 
2,553 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Hi,

i could not find something like this for linux, so i made this and i m sharing it with you:

This script will help you to unpack, repack and edit a boot.img easily and quickly.
All the tools, execpt dtbTool are compiled from source as of 07/02/14 (src - here)


Instructions:

How to unpack a boot.img
place a boot.img* in the script folder
run the script
now you have 2 folders: out and ramdisk ( I suppose you know what to do now :) )

How to repack a boot.img
place a zImage** in the script folder (dt.img is supported)
run the script
the resulting boot.img will contain the current date in the name


* any name is allowed, the important thing is that the name contain the word boot
**any name is allowed, the first word must be zImage(case sensitive)

XDA:DevDB Information
Boot Img kitchen[N5], a Tool/Utility for the Google Nexus 5

Contributors
kylon

Version Information
Status: Stable

Created 2014-02-10
Last Updated 2014-02-10
Attached Files
File Type: zip Nex5-kitchen.zip - [Click for QR Code] (348.4 KB, 435 views)
Last edited by kylon; 10th February 2014 at 08:33 AM.
The Following 16 Users Say Thank You to kylon For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th February 2014, 08:05 AM   |  #2  
zeradchoid91's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag seoul
Thanks Meter: 181
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Thx

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
20th February 2014, 12:20 PM   |  #3  
jjhiza's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dirty Jersey
Thanks Meter: 2,723
 
3,111 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Spectacular tool, thank you!! I've spent an inordinate amount of time the last two days (ever since I discovered this thread), compiling and modifying my own kernel. This really was a life saver, because I was at my wit's end with other perl scripts and methods. :thumbup:

A quick question in relation to kernel building... Do you know of any pre-built Linaro arm-eabi toolchains that work "out of the box" for the N5? I've tried a couple, and can't get to a point where I can compile, so I'm using the standard arm-eabi-4.6 toolchain from Google. Thanks again!

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
20th February 2014, 12:31 PM   |  #4  
kylon's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,822
 
2,553 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Wich kernel?
I can compile cm11 with linaro 4.7
Custom kernel can be compiled with linaro 4.8
Aosp kernel(untouched) no idea

Inviato dal mio Nexus 5 utilizzando Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to kylon For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th February 2014, 12:48 PM   |  #5  
jjhiza's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dirty Jersey
Thanks Meter: 2,723
 
3,111 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kylon

Wich kernel?
I can compile cm11 with linaro 4.7
Custom kernel can be compiled with linaro 4.8
Aosp kernel(untouched) no idea

Inviato dal mio Nexus 5 utilizzando Tapatalk

Ah, I was trying to compile with the AOSP kernel initially. I've only added governors and schedulers to my build so far... Do I need to modify the ramdisk in order to get Linaro 4.8 to work properly?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
20th February 2014, 01:31 PM   |  #6  
kylon's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,822
 
2,553 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
No

Inviato dal mio Nexus 5 utilizzando Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to kylon For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st March 2014, 04:14 PM   |  #7  
Snoop05's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Levice
Thanks Meter: 1,233
 
174 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
On Ubuntu 13.10 x64, i can't run mkbootimg - says file don't exist, from script or standalone with terminal it can't be runned.

Can you please post OSX binaries? all three (unpackbootimg, mkbootfs, mkbootimg)

and why is there dtbTool? its not even used in script, only check its md5

Attachment 2607658
2nd March 2014, 07:45 AM   |  #8  
jjhiza's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dirty Jersey
Thanks Meter: 2,723
 
3,111 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snoop05

On Ubuntu 13.10 x64, i can't run mkbootimg - says file don't exist, from script or standalone with terminal it can't be runned.

Can you please post OSX binaries? all three (unpackbootimg, mkbootfs, mkbootimg)

and why is there dtbTool? its not even used in script, only check its md5

Attachment 2607658

The N5 kernel output is a zImage-dtb file, not a regular "kernel" file... Use THAT file instead of the regular zImage one to unpack your ramdisk. Secondly, if you're running Linux, and have all the build essentials, tools (java jdk6), etc installed, you should have no problems setting this up and running it. If you need help, let me know, but in my opinion, OSX binaries (and potential issues setting up a build environment) aren't the way to go. I run this flawlessly on Mint 16, so Ubuntu should serve you equally well.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
2nd March 2014, 10:03 AM   |  #9  
kylon's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,822
 
2,553 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snoop05

On Ubuntu 13.10 x64, i can't run mkbootimg - says file don't exist, from script or standalone with terminal it can't be runned.

Can you please post OSX binaries? all three (unpackbootimg, mkbootfs, mkbootimg)

and why is there dtbTool? its not even used in script, only check its md5

strange error, i don t know what s wrong in your distro

i don t have a mac, but you can compile them for mac os, if you have it.
you are rigth, dtbTool is not used in the script, i was using the kitchen with a kernel source. Anyway i ll remove it

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes