FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Announced: Specs, Price and Details

The OnePlus 2 has just had its Virtual Reality Launch event, and at the XDA Office we all … more

A Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services

With the launch of Apple Music, music streaming services have recently gained a lot of … more

An Inside Look at the Redesign of Business Calendar

The much-acclaimed calendar app, Business Calendar, underwent a major design … more

New Android One Device Dead On Arrival

Today, Google announced the second generation of Android One devices, with the new Lava Pixel … more

AT&T reports my Nexus 5 as "LG 821"

171 posts
Thanks Meter: 41
 
By mr_blanket, Senior Member on 13th March 2014, 04:37 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I thought this was kind of interesting...
I bought my Nexus 5 from Tmobile (north america), found out that I have very little (read: zero) coverage between my home and work, so I had to cancel. I went ahead and paid off the N5 and switched to AT&T.

Oddly enough, the myAT&T screen shows me as having a LG 821, which, I believe, is the international version!

I found that concerning as I thought Tmobile might have worked better for me if I had the correct phone... but my bootloader shows D820.

Anyone else have the same quark on their myAT&T page?

The Following User Says Thank You to mr_blanket For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
13th March 2014, 05:51 PM |#2  
gbarayah's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 140
 
More
Funny - never noticed this before either, but AT&T reports mine as the 821 also.

I have the 820 model.
14th March 2014, 03:08 AM |#3  
an0ther's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 256
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_blanket

I thought this was kind of interesting...
I bought my Nexus 5 from Tmobile (north america), found out that I have very little (read: zero) coverage between my home and work, so I had to cancel. I went ahead and paid off the N5 and switched to AT&T.

Oddly enough, the myAT&T screen shows me as having a LG 821, which, I believe, is the international version!

I found that concerning as I thought Tmobile might have worked better for me if I had the correct phone... but my bootloader shows D820.

Anyone else have the same quark on their myAT&T page?

My wife and I both have Nexus 5's on at&t. I bought her's from google and mine from tmobile. Ours both show 821 too, but they are 820's. If they were 821's, you would have no LTE. Im in atlanta with lte everywhere.
14th March 2014, 03:22 AM |#4  
cesierra's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Juan
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
LG 821 too, bought it from the Google store. I can use the wap.cingular apn only. No LTE for me.
14th March 2014, 03:53 AM |#5  
WoodburyMan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Connecticut
Thanks Meter: 485
 
More
LG821 here as well. I have LTE using attphone APN. I had a Galaxy S4 (LTE) before it, just kept that plan so it all works. Have to have had a LTE capable phone before you get the N5 for it to work properly with your plan to access LTE>
14th March 2014, 02:23 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by WoodburyMan

LG821 here as well. I have LTE using attphone APN. I had a Galaxy S4 (LTE) before it, just kept that plan so it all works. Have to have had a LTE capable phone before you get the N5 for it to work properly with your plan to access LTE>

Do any of you get throttled on AT&T with the Nexus 5? I have the Galaxy Nexus, but a cracked screen and now water damage is making me purchase a new phone, and I have yet to be throttled while regularly using over 5G/month.

Thanks!
14th March 2014, 02:39 PM |#7  
compuw22c's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago, IL
Thanks Meter: 237
 
More
You only get throttled (or more accurately, your usage is only metered in the throttling system) when using PHONE or PTA apn. Using a galaxy nexus without lte, you're most likely on wap.cingular (which you can do on a phone with no lte). Once their system detects you're imei and determines you have an lte capable device, you're blocked from using wap.cingular, and this your usage will be monitored (as you'll need to use phone or pta). I can trick the system by putting my sim in my old non lte GS2 (i9100), doing "restore apns" then sim swapping back to my nexus 5. THEN I can use wap.cingular, but unfortunately after a day or two they do an imei sweep and I get locked out again On the bright side tmo just announced they'll be eliminating edge and upgrading everything to lte by 2015 so I'm looking forward to dumping ATT very soon.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
15th March 2014, 03:29 AM |#8  
WoodburyMan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Connecticut
Thanks Meter: 485
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by schwin97

Do any of you get throttled on AT&T with the Nexus 5? I have the Galaxy Nexus, but a cracked screen and now water damage is making me purchase a new phone, and I have yet to be throttled while regularly using over 5G/month.

Thanks!

No throttle. On 6gb family share plan now. I can get over 50mbit/s in SpeedTest with full LTE signal. 95% of the time I'm on WiFi so to boot LTE speeds don't really matter. My data usage last month was a whole 500mb.
15th March 2014, 11:07 AM |#9  
RainMotorsports's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 718
 
More
Not sure if the International has a different structure for the ESN/IMEI but its quite possible the 821 is what they have in their system as the Nexus 5. They do have traveling customers on the device but more likely prepaid customers. Interesting one indeed.
15th March 2014, 02:18 PM |#10  
compuw22c's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago, IL
Thanks Meter: 237
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by WoodburyMan

No throttle. On 6gb family share plan now. I can get over 50mbit/s in SpeedTest with full LTE signal. 95% of the time I'm on WiFi so to boot LTE speeds don't really matter. My data usage last month was a whole 500mb.

He's asking about the UNLIMITED plan being throttled I'm sure, and yes it will after 5gb, unless you're on the wap.cingular apn as I described above.

I should mention that the Nexus 4 will NOT be blocked from wap.cingular as it does not have LTE, so if true unlimited data is that important maybe the Nexus 4 might be a better choice.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
Last edited by compuw22c; 15th March 2014 at 02:20 PM.
16th March 2014, 12:16 AM |#11  
mistahseller's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Saint Louis
Thanks Meter: 204
 
More
ATT sent me a message saying I would be throttled at 3GB even though I have "unlimited data", and being throttled sucks, its awful.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes