Google Invites Selected Devs to Buy Project Tango Development Kit

Just about a month ago, the curious Project Tango development kit was … more

Micromax Yureka: Indian Handset with CyanogenMod

Thesoap opera involving Cyanogen Inc., OnePlus, and Micromax is one of the most talked about … more

Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

AT&T reports my Nexus 5 as "LG 821"

OP mr_blanket

16th March 2014, 01:16 AM   |  #11  
mistahseller's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Saint Louis
Thanks Meter: 199
 
814 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
ATT sent me a message saying I would be throttled at 3GB even though I have "unlimited data", and being throttled sucks, its awful.
16th March 2014, 04:19 AM   |  #12  
compuw22c's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago, IL
Thanks Meter: 226
 
592 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mistahseller

ATT sent me a message saying I would be throttled at 3GB even though I have "unlimited data", and being throttled sucks, its awful.

Should be 5gb on an LTE device. I'd call in with your imei to get put on an LTE unlimited plan if you're not already (hspa plans throttle after 3gb.). Note that you don't need to be on LTE or even have an LTE device, you just need any att compatible imei to give them so you're on the right plan.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to compuw22c For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th March 2014, 02:38 PM   |  #13  
californiarailroader's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Redwood Valley, Northwestern California (Previous-Pocatello, Idaho(90-97)/Southern California(71-90)
Thanks Meter: 460
 
4,147 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
I got mine from Google, it's the unlocked version, and AT&T is also saying it's an LG 821.
31st March 2014, 02:17 AM   |  #14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 65
 
125 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
How Do I Check The Model Number?
Hi,

Bought my phone from Google Play. How do I check the model number other then the boot loader?

I checked in 'About Phone', can't find it.

Edit. XDA really has to stop ads from playing with audio with while on the site, drives me nuts.
Last edited by KedarWolf; 31st March 2014 at 03:54 AM.
31st March 2014, 03:57 AM   |  #15  
cesierra's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Juan
Thanks Meter: 10
 
207 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
I tried to use the phone on PTA or Phone APN but it only accepts wap.cingular, because I switched from a 3G phone. The CS rep said my plan is not compatible with LTE, and nothing can be done. I am stuck with HSPA. Oh well, the plus side, I am not throttled.
1st April 2014, 09:36 PM   |  #16  
Member
Flag Rochester, MN
Thanks Meter: 17
 
86 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by WoodburyMan

LG821 here as well. I have LTE using attphone APN. I had a Galaxy S4 (LTE) before it, just kept that plan so it all works. Have to have had a LTE capable phone before you get the N5 for it to work properly with your plan to access LTE>

This is not true. My wife has a T-Mobile N5 and I have a play store N5. Just started ATT service yesterday and we both have LTE. Also both devices show up as LG 821.
2nd April 2014, 01:20 AM   |  #17  
nb31b's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
99 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by KedarWolf

Hi,

Bought my phone from Google Play. How do I check the model number other then the boot loader?

I checked in 'About Phone', can't find it.

Edit. XDA really has to stop ads from playing with audio with while on the site, drives me nuts.

Did you try looking at the box?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
4th April 2014, 04:30 PM   |  #18  
WoodburyMan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Connecticut
Thanks Meter: 484
 
834 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerryatric

This is not true. My wife has a T-Mobile N5 and I have a play store N5. Just started ATT service yesterday and we both have LTE. Also both devices show up as LG 821.

This is true in some cases. It depends on the person that sets your phone up. Search. When they provision the phone, some AT&T workers, since the Nexus 5 is officially not in their provisioning software, have to select a generic template. If they are smart and do the right thing, you get set up with a LTE capable provisioning for your phone that works perfect. Some however don't know what they are doing and set the phone up with a plan that cannot access 3G for whatever reason. It completely depends on the person provisioning your phone. With phones that are in AT&T's system that might be unlocked but are in their system, such as Galaxy S4 Google Edition or something, it works no problem since the S4 is in their system. However with "oddball" phones like ours that AT&T doesn't officially support you run into issues as some workers may not know how to handle them.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes