Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,892 Members 42,868 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

AT&T reports my Nexus 5 as "LG 821"

Tip us?
 
mistahseller
Old
#11  
mistahseller's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 193
Posts: 796
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Saint Louis
ATT sent me a message saying I would be throttled at 3GB even though I have "unlimited data", and being throttled sucks, its awful.
 
compuw22c
Old
#12  
compuw22c's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 212
Posts: 556
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by mistahseller View Post
ATT sent me a message saying I would be throttled at 3GB even though I have "unlimited data", and being throttled sucks, its awful.
Should be 5gb on an LTE device. I'd call in with your imei to get put on an LTE unlimited plan if you're not already (hspa plans throttle after 3gb.). Note that you don't need to be on LTE or even have an LTE device, you just need any att compatible imei to give them so you're on the right plan.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
If this post (or other's) helped you, hit THANKS!

Device History:
98 Casio E11 (4mb) || 99 Palm Vx (8mb) || 2000 iPaq 3635 (with PCMCIA sled for BT/WIFI) || 2001 Kyocera 2135 (Verizon) || 2003 Samsung SPH-A620 / VGA1000 (Sprint) || 2004 LG PM325 (Sprint) || 2005 Treo 600 (Sprint) || 2006 Treo 650 (Sprint) || 2007 HTC Mogul/VX6800 (Sprint) || 2008 HTC Touch Pro (Sprint) || 2009 HTC Touch Pro 2 (Sprint) || 2010 Samsung Epic 4g (Sprint) || 2011 Samsung i9100 Galaxy SII || 2012 Google Nexus 4 (L3)
The Following User Says Thank You to compuw22c For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
californiarailroader
Old
#13  
californiarailroader's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 437
Posts: 4,038
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Redwood Valley, Northwestern California (Previous-Pocatello, Idaho(90-97)/Southern California(71-90)
I got mine from Google, it's the unlocked version, and AT&T is also saying it's an LG 821.
 
KedarWolf
Old
(Last edited by KedarWolf; 31st March 2014 at 02:54 AM.)
#14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 125
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default How Do I Check The Model Number?

Hi,

Bought my phone from Google Play. How do I check the model number other then the boot loader?

I checked in 'About Phone', can't find it.

Edit. XDA really has to stop ads from playing with audio with while on the site, drives me nuts.
 
cesierra
Old
#15  
cesierra's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 207
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Juan
I tried to use the phone on PTA or Phone APN but it only accepts wap.cingular, because I switched from a 3G phone. The CS rep said my plan is not compatible with LTE, and nothing can be done. I am stuck with HSPA. Oh well, the plus side, I am not throttled.
 
Jerryatric
Old
#16  
Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 86
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Rochester, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by WoodburyMan View Post
LG821 here as well. I have LTE using attphone APN. I had a Galaxy S4 (LTE) before it, just kept that plan so it all works. Have to have had a LTE capable phone before you get the N5 for it to work properly with your plan to access LTE>
This is not true. My wife has a T-Mobile N5 and I have a play store N5. Just started ATT service yesterday and we both have LTE. Also both devices show up as LG 821.
 
nb31b
Old
#17  
nb31b's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 94
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by KedarWolf View Post
Hi,

Bought my phone from Google Play. How do I check the model number other then the boot loader?

I checked in 'About Phone', can't find it.

Edit. XDA really has to stop ads from playing with audio with while on the site, drives me nuts.
Did you try looking at the box?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
WoodburyMan
Old
#18  
WoodburyMan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 477
Posts: 819
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Connecticut
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerryatric View Post
This is not true. My wife has a T-Mobile N5 and I have a play store N5. Just started ATT service yesterday and we both have LTE. Also both devices show up as LG 821.
This is true in some cases. It depends on the person that sets your phone up. Search. When they provision the phone, some AT&T workers, since the Nexus 5 is officially not in their provisioning software, have to select a generic template. If they are smart and do the right thing, you get set up with a LTE capable provisioning for your phone that works perfect. Some however don't know what they are doing and set the phone up with a plan that cannot access 3G for whatever reason. It completely depends on the person provisioning your phone. With phones that are in AT&T's system that might be unlocked but are in their system, such as Galaxy S4 Google Edition or something, it works no problem since the S4 is in their system. However with "oddball" phones like ours that AT&T doesn't officially support you run into issues as some workers may not know how to handle them.
Black OnePLus 64gb Android 4.4.4 Unofficial SlimROM Daily Builds
White Nexus 5 32gb Android 4.4.4 Unofficial SlimROM Daily Builds
Nexus 7 2013 Android 4.4.4 Unofficial SlimROM Daily Builds
Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 Android 4.4.4 Unofficial SlimROM Daily Builds
Archos Home Connect 35 4gb Android 2.2 Rooted Stock Firmware 2.4.83

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Learn How to Make a Live Wallpaper all by Yourself

Stillimages can bebeautiful, but some of you prefer to see animations on your screens. … more

Google Play Services Updated to Version 6.1

In addition to Android operating system proper, Google is focusing hard on giving the developers … more

CyanogenMod 11 M10 Available for Supported Devices

Summer vacation isover for most students out there, and it’s the time to get back to … more

XDA Forums Added for the First Batch of Android One Devices!

Just yesterday, we talked about the highly anticipated launch of the first batch … more