FORUMS

Beats Music No Longer Accepting New Accounts

Whenever Apple launches a new product or service, it definitely manages to grab the … more

Do You Do Self-Repairs on Your Devices?

As smartphone designs become more and more complex, self-repairs on devices are also becoming … more

Sony Z4 Slips Out of Top 5 Smartphones in Japan

In a bid to streamline its flagship series which had been losing credibility over the … more

Sprint’s New Unlimited Plan with Ridiculous Capped Speeds

The carrier game in the United States is perpetually rushing forward at … more

[MOD] GPS Quick Fix - AGPS - NTP - Global

2,520 posts
Thanks Meter: 797
 
By v-b-n, Recognized Contributor on 12th February 2014, 03:17 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
26th February 2014, 07:46 PM |#31  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by simon12

I have the same gps issues and hope this config may help. However I have NO IDEA what I am supposed to do to flash it. I have an unrooted N5. Will I be able to flash it on there and if so could someone please explain just what I need to do as I have never done this before.

Thanks.

Per tcat007, GPS Status works just as well, you don't need root or to flash anything, just install from Play Store. I have used it on various phones including current Nexus 5 and it works great to fix and speed up GPS readings.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...sim.gpsstatus2
 
 
26th February 2014, 10:39 PM |#32  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Tried that and all it did was show just how slowly the satellites were being acquired. It did nothing to actually improve anything though.

Please if someone can tell me if I can flash this without rooting and if so, how?
26th February 2014, 10:50 PM |#33  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by simon12

Tried that and all it did was show just how slowly the satellites were being acquired. It did nothing to actually improve anything though.

Please if someone can tell me if I can flash this without rooting and if so, how?

GPS Test worked for me

Sent from my Nexus 5 using xda app-developers app
26th February 2014, 10:59 PM |#34  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Well, my N5 is currently telling me that I am about 50 miles from where I am. And it has been doing that since last night.

---------- Post added at 12:59 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:58 AM ----------

So, is it possible to flash this onto my phone without rooting it? And how please?
27th February 2014, 02:15 AM |#35  
Senior Member
Pittsburgh, PA.
Thanks Meter: 401
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by simon12

Well, my N5 is currently telling me that I am about 50 miles from where I am. And it has been doing that since last night.

---------- Post added at 12:59 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:58 AM ----------

So, is it possible to flash this onto my phone without rooting it? And how please?

Don't think it's possible. Pretty sure you need root to access and modify your /system settings.
The Following User Says Thank You to t1.8matt For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th January 2015, 11:18 PM |#36  
paul c's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Madrid
Thanks Meter: 237
 
More
Looks like a great fix - would the zipfile in the first post work on my Nexus4?

What application can be used to edit the gpsconf file? I would like to set to Europe/Spain.

Thanks in advance!
7th January 2015, 10:45 PM |#37  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
More
Hi

I have issues with GPS location and orientation.
Often I'm shown further down the road facing in the wrong direction.

Will this help me ?
Thanks
8th January 2015, 04:24 AM |#38  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 70
 
More
Is this still valid?
9th January 2015, 02:29 AM |#39  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 131
 
More
Has this been updated to aosp 5.0.2? Does it need to be? Is the GPS config different at all?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes