Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Nexus 5 T-Mobile $30 Prepaid Plan with Hangouts & Google Voice

OP jnbanda

18th September 2014, 07:09 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
IF YOU EVER WORRY ABOUT USING UP YOUR 100 MINUTES AND DON'T WANT TO SET UP A SIP ACCOUNT, KEEP READING.
***THIS APPLIES IF YOU HAVE A GOOGLE VOICE NUMBER THAT YOU CONSIDER YOUR PRIMARY NUMBER***

So I know everybody and his/her mothers already knows about the beauty of Tmo's $30 prepaid plan, which comes with 5 GB of LTE data (2G after that), 100 minutes, and unlimited text. I just wanted to add a tip that I thought might come in handy.

My personal situation is the following:

--->Tmo subscriber with Nexus 5 and two phone numbers: Google Voice and Tmo. (I have LTE coverage virtually everywhere I live. No hit or miss.)
--->Ported my old Sprint number over to Google Voice. This is the only number I give out. I don't mind not having full MMS functionality just yet (I can receive MMS from other Tmo subscribers). My Tmo number is just linked to my Google Voice account.
--->I have Hangouts and Google Voice apps/extensions installed everywhere and anywhere: Nexus 10, Nexus 5, laptop, work PC, etc.
--->I have a yearly subscription with Skype ($30/yr) that I use to make calls over LTE. I like the integration with my phone, especially when I use Google to make calls with the "OK Google" detection. The Skype Dialer always comes up as an option, and I'm allowed to decide whether to make calls over Skype or via the phone. (This allows me to show either my Google Voice number or Tmo number).

So my personal setup usually involved answering the calls over Hangouts via my PC, since I always had access to the internet via WiFi or LAN.
But now with the Hangouts and Google Voice integration, I let Hangouts ring whenever people dial my Google Voice number, and I set Google Voice to not ring my personal Tmo number anymore. Whereas I used to debate about whether or not to set up a SIP account, now I don't need one. Hangouts will automatically ring my phone whenever people call my Google Voice number, and whenever I answer the calls, they are automatically answered over LTE. No more worrying about using up my 100 minutes.

This, of course, depends on the user having guaranteed LTE, HSPA+, or even decent 3G everywhere.

With regards to the Skype subscription, I may or may not get rid of it. I like being able to dial using my voice, and the Hangouts Dialer currently doesn't appear as an option for making calls whenever I issue the voice command.

Hope somebody found this useful. Comments welcome.
The Following User Says Thank You to jnbanda For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th September 2014, 09:20 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 82
 
249 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Been doing something similar since Google updated Hangouts—particularly since my home office is in the basement and I get poor T-Mobile (same prepaid plan) coverage there. Go Google!
The Following User Says Thank You to BinkXDA For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th September 2014, 03:30 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BinkXDA

Been doing something similar since Google updated Hangouts—particularly since my home office is in the basement and I get poor T-Mobile (same prepaid plan) coverage there. Go Google!

Sounds like a plan! I just hope that the devs can hammer out a few of the minor issues with Hangouts, specifically the lag. All in good time though. Happy to have what I got so far!
The Following User Says Thank You to jnbanda For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th September 2014, 03:36 PM   |  #4  
adrman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NYC
Thanks Meter: 167
 
558 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
I also disabled forwarding to my sip did and tm #. Hangouts/GV is doing just fine on its own.
19th September 2014, 04:32 PM   |  #5  
denis_y_s's Avatar
Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 8
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Does someone knows if the Google Voice app now can be uninstalled? Will I be able to make and receive calls with my Google voice number from the Hangouts without G.Voice app?
19th September 2014, 04:35 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by denis_y_s

Does someone knows if the Google Voice app now can be uninstalled?


You shouldn't uninstall the voice app as it's still needed for other apps trying to use a dialer.
The Following User Says Thank You to mrlad For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th September 2014, 05:16 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 82
 
249 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnbanda

I just hope that the devs can hammer out a few of the minor issues with Hangouts, specifically the lag.

Outside of call setup, I have no lag! That said, Hangouts does seem to use FAR more of the battery for calls compared to the built-in Internet calling.
19th September 2014, 05:42 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by denis_y_s

Does someone knows if the Google Voice app now can be uninstalled? Will I be able to make and receive calls with my Google voice number from the Hangouts without G.Voice app?

I guess it depends on how you want to make and receive calls.

I uninstalled the Google Voice app because it no longer receives my SMS messages. The messages automatically get forwarded to Hangouts.
Furthermore, I don't make calls using the stock dialer app, so I don't have a need to make calls from my phone via Google Voice. (I don't need Google Voice to generate an automatic number for the person I wish to call anymore. This issue led me to saving two numbers for every contact: one labeled as their "true carrier" number, and one labeled as the Google Voice assigned number that I would see on my phone.)

If you still intend to make calls using the stock dialer, I'd say leave Google Voice installed. If you don't plan on making calls through the stock dialer anymore, but instead wish to make and receive calls via Hangouts only, then it should be OK to uninstall.

***NOTE: Be sure to check the two boxes in the Hangouts App settings labeled "Incoming Phone Calls" and "Messages" under
Settings->"yourgmailaccount@gmail.com". If you don't want your phone to ring twice for every call, you need to disable forwarding of calls to your carrier number through the Google Voice website settings, under the tab "Groups & Circles". Be aware that your phone WILL NOT RING THROUGH THE STOCK DIALER APP ANYMORE if you disable the call forwarding. It will ONLY RING THROUGH HANGOUTS, which requires an active internet connection.***
Last edited by jnbanda; 19th September 2014 at 05:50 PM. Reason: Update
The Following User Says Thank You to jnbanda For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th September 2014, 05:59 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BinkXDA

Outside of call setup, I have no lag! That said, Hangouts does seem to use FAR more of the battery for calls compared to the built-in Internet calling.

Hmmm.. Interesting. The only lag I see is in the amount of time it takes to launch the app and allow me to open up/tap a conversation. At first I had a few crashes when I would try to open up a convo pretty fast, like immediate tapping on the screen as soon as Hangouts launched. The crash issue seems to be resolved with the update. Perhaps it is an issue with my personal setup. I'm running rooted/stock/Franco kernel/Dalvik.
2nd October 2014, 07:32 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Still uses minutes
I have been making calls through the hangout dialer and have confirmed that the call is going out as my Google Voice number. The problem is that it still uses minutes. I just got off the chat with a rep at T-Mobile and she confirmed that on the $30 T-Mobile plan VOIP and wifi calling still use minutes.

Is there any way around this?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes