Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,782,230 Members 48,108 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

All sensors not working! - FIX - Nexus 5

Tip us?
 
paperWastage
Old
#41  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 395
Posts: 806
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonathanlc2005 View Post
So what is this thread for then

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
if you look at the android section, there is a HTC sense6 ROM port

the first version of that ROM port broke the sensors on the nexus 5. this thread is to point out how to fix it (useful if someone else broke their sensors in a different way as well)

the current port doesn't break it anymore (AFAIK)
Current Device:
Oppo Find 5 - experimental kernel
 
atishey23
Old
#42  
atishey23's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 139
Posts: 1,542
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: You are looking at it
Which app is used in the OP to show the sensors?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Phone: Lg Google Nexus 5--> D-821
Android Version:4.4.2
ROM:Many
Kernel version: N/A
Baseband version:M8974A
Build number:KOT49H


BBM PIN - 76661999
FEEL FREE TO SEND A INVITE
 
neriamarillo
Old
#43  
neriamarillo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 907
Posts: 844
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Miami, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by atishey23 View Post
Which app is used in the OP to show the sensors?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...droidsensorbox
The Following User Says Thank You to neriamarillo For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
cile381
Old
#44  
cile381's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1,131
Posts: 342
Join Date: Feb 2008

 
DONATE TO ME
The sense port is not the only way to break the sensors .... If you look on the internet there are many others who have not heard about of this port and have broken sensors...
Nexus 5
M7
 
cile381
Old
#45  
cile381's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1,131
Posts: 342
Join Date: Feb 2008

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by paperWastage View Post
if you look at the android section, there is a HTC sense6 ROM port

the first version of that ROM port broke the sensors on the nexus 5. this thread is to point out how to fix it (useful if someone else broke their sensors in a different way as well)

the current port doesn't break it anymore (AFAIK)
The sense port is not the only way to break the sensors .... If you look on the internet there are many others who have not heard about of this port and have broken sensors...
Nexus 5
M7
 
sewer56lol
Old
#46  
sewer56lol's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 536
Posts: 1,503
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: 54.5970 N, 5.9300 W
Quote:
Originally Posted by cile381 View Post
The sense port is not the only way to break the sensors .... If you look on the internet there are many others who have not heard about of this port and have broken sensors...
It's true, that occurred to me when Porting the Xperia Stock ROM, before the Sense Port even existed.
After a while of testing (and actually getting to the boot animation) I have rebooted at one point into another ROM via multiROM/Multibooting and noticed that my rotation didn't work and then all the sensors.

Back then I searched the web trying to look for a solution or answer but couldn't find anything on it so I returned it via Warranty assuming it was a hardware fault (got it two weeks after).

During these 2 weeks the Sense port was first released and the fix for sensors came just before I got the device back. (Interestingly enough at LG factory they replaced my main PCB of the phone)

I also heard reports of people losing their sensors even after a stock OTA update somehow but can't confirm legitimate.

However don't ask for the ROM, during the two weeks I didn't have the Device I've had scrapped it.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

 
themuskr
Old
#47  
themuskr's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 39
Join Date: Apr 2010
I got this sensor problem out of the blue. This trick worked for a bit but now I seem to be back where I started. Any advice??
Nexus 5 16gb
 
MidnightDevil
Old
#48  
MidnightDevil's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 820
Posts: 2,175
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lisbon
@cile381
@topgeardave
hi guys, I remember both from Sensation (and I think topgeardave a little before, like HTC Desire too maybe?).
Wonderful work you been giving us cile, thanks

Mobile: LG Optimus 4X HD
Mobile: Google Nexus 5
Tablet: Google Nexus 7 2013 Wii

Be tolerant and use Good & Common HTC Sense! :P.

--- Interesting Reading ---
Android Terms / Slangs / Definitions and Guides Revised
What exactly batterystats.bin does.

Get 15GB of Free Space!!!

Don't post just to increase your post count, make sure you know what you're talking about before posting to reduce the amount of false information.
MD


Tags
accelerometer, compas, gyroscope, nexus 5 sensor fix
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes