5,605,373 Members 41,349 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Sprint Spark live in Austin TX

Tip us?
 
NYCHitman1
Old
#11  
NYCHitman1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 997
Posts: 1,927
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Long Island, NY

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiltedAz View Post
In the past it seemed Sprint's objective was to be bought out by another carrier so they tried to expand in under served areas. Now there's rumors of Sprint's new owners wanting to buy out T-mobile.
That will NEVER happen.
 
frozenhotchocolate
Old
#12  
frozenhotchocolate's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 33
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ann Arbor
I'm in the Detroit metro with unofficial LTE. I got LTE on my gnex most everywhere. Different story on this device with the tri band. I can force LTE, but then I can't get texts or phone calls. I did however go a about fifteen miles north last week and LTE was working automatically. I am optimistic it should be working here soon also.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
eenglish34
Old
#13  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Apr 2010
Default Spark in Dallas

I'm in the Dallas area and have enabled all 3 bands for LTE but don't see anything other than band 25 on my N5. I've changed the priority and all that jazz but nothing changes.

Major disappointment as I got this phone for the tri-band service that was supposed to be so awesome.

I really hope the firmware update this quarter is a real thing and I hope they hurry up with it. Tired of the terrible reception and LTE speeds in and around Dallas. My wife has the S4 and she gets better LTE coverage and speeds than my N5.
 
reddragon72
Old
#14  
reddragon72's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 280
Posts: 1,328
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Houston, because I have a problem
I'm in Houston and we have spark here.

As for the N5 no go with all three bands enabled.

I did however get atxt from sprint that says "Over the next month the new network will be largely completed in your area making it better than ever! http://sprint.us/network1 Replay S to stop"

Hit that link and no real info.

Also we have found that the update for the N5 will enable the two extra bands and a new APN. Still trying to get the APN from the Flex since it will be rolling out with Spark enabled. I think that is all we will need but don't quote me on that.
Remember people, instructions are there to help you not hinder you and anytime you skip them you are doing the same with your phone as it would be to walk off a cliff with a self packed parachute.... did you do it right by following the instructions or did you just shove it in the bag and jump..... think before you leap!

Current - Sprint LG OG running CM11 official nightlies.
New Current - Nexus 5 stock on Sprint
 
metayoshi
Old
#15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 42
Posts: 159
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tustin, CA
The Nexus 5 and LG G2 are going to get their Spark Updates sometime in the future, hopefully soon.

If you really wanted to take advantage of Spark ASAP, you should have gotten a Samsung Galaxy S 4 Mini, Samsung Galaxy Mega 6.3, HTC One Max, or the new model of the Samsung Galaxy S 4 (Model number: SPH-L720T).

For the Nexus and LG G2, I read somewhere that LG was having problems with getting Triband LTE to work properly, but the G2 is supposedly getting their update by the end of this month. That should be a good sign that our Spark update is on the way as well, though the Nexus update needs to be pushed by Google.

---------- Post added at 11:35 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:31 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by 9878 View Post
I spent over 45 minutes on the phone with Sprint today trying to find out what I need to do to get the update. They finally told me "No, it won't work on that phone." WTF!
Lol... Just like every other single phone in the world out there... You can't get an update that doesn't exist yet.
 
metayoshi
Old
#16  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 42
Posts: 159
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tustin, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by metayoshi View Post
The Nexus 5 and LG G2 are going to get their Spark Updates sometime in the future, hopefully soon.

If you really wanted to take advantage of Spark ASAP, you should have gotten a Samsung Galaxy S 4 Mini, Samsung Galaxy Mega 6.3, HTC One Max, or the new model of the Samsung Galaxy S 4 (Model number: SPH-L720T).

For the Nexus and LG G2, I read somewhere that LG was having problems with getting Triband LTE to work properly, but the G2 is supposedly getting their update by the end of this month. That should be a good sign that our Spark update is on the way as well, though the Nexus update needs to be pushed by Google.

---------- Post added at 11:35 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:31 AM ----------



Lol... Just like every other single phone in the world out there... You can't get an update that doesn't exist yet.

And what do you know... The LG G2 Spark update is OTA ready right now!
LG G2 Updates

The Nexus 5 shouldn't be too far behind, but again, it's up to LG and Google.
 
reddragon72
Old
#17  
reddragon72's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 280
Posts: 1,328
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Houston, because I have a problem
Quote:
Originally Posted by metayoshi View Post
And what do you know... The LG G2 Spark update is OTA ready right now!
LG G2 Updates

The Nexus 5 shouldn't be too far behind, but again, it's up to LG and Google.
Yep just seen that! Now where is ours so the devs can get to work on that stupid icon!
Remember people, instructions are there to help you not hinder you and anytime you skip them you are doing the same with your phone as it would be to walk off a cliff with a self packed parachute.... did you do it right by following the instructions or did you just shove it in the bag and jump..... think before you leap!

Current - Sprint LG OG running CM11 official nightlies.
New Current - Nexus 5 stock on Sprint
 
aagvain
Old
#18  
aagvain's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 163
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: austin, tx
Finally got some band 41. Kramer/metric area

 
aagvain
Old
#19  
aagvain's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 163
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: austin, tx
fwiw.....
Band priority 41,25,26

a reboot always loses connection to band 41. Update prl always gets it back for me.....even though the prl version stays the same per the phone status

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Android App Review: Auto Config Free – XDA Developer TV

In this weeks episode of XDA Xposed Tuesday, we talked about customization of … more

Cloupload is a Beautiful and Fully Functional CloudApp Client for Android

If you’re a Mac OS X user who frequently uploads screenshots, … more

Microsoft Finally Brings Remote Desktop to Windows Phone

You may recall that back in October of last year, Microsoft released itsofficial … more

SideControl Gains New Powers through Xposed

You may recall that a little overa month ago, we first talked about SideCutsby XDA Forum … more