Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,079 Members 54,443 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Video] Verizon On my nexus 5

Tip us?
 
coolguy71261
Old
#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 129
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrObvious View Post
Hmm, we'll see how it works then.
i may return to big red, im currently testing out net 10
 
St3rdroids
Old
#12  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 32
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posted a video of me getting data after a fresh wipe and install of L.
The Following User Says Thank You to St3rdroids For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
infinit22
Old
#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 262
Join Date: Nov 2012
http://www.droid-life.com/2014/08/26...-voice-launch/
 
Johmama
Old
#14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 275
Posts: 494
Join Date: Apr 2013

 
DONATE TO ME
I really need to remember to watch OP's video when I get home. This is very exciting. So to get data, you had to activate a Verizon device and swap SIMs, right? After that, the only thing not working is the CDMA voice? So in theory, if the above poser's link is correct (Verizon rolling out VoLTE soon) I could actually switch to them?

It's Verizon so I probably wouldn't do it permanently, but it would be cool to try for a month, if for nothing more than a proof of concept or neat trick. Hope Verizon does that soon.
 
Sinfamy
Old
#15  
Sinfamy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 205
Join Date: Aug 2011
This just won't work bro, not on CDMA.
I worked for Sprint and their system is the same.

The SIM card is strictly for LTE, everything else goes over the CDMA network, which requires server authentication.
Even when VoLTE will roll out, that authentication will remain in place.
My spare time project
The Potat(OS) Operating System:

Current Phone: Nexus 5 [16GB][Black]
 
rootSU
Old
#16  
rootSU's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11,435
Posts: 22,476
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Oxenhope, West Yorkshire, UK
People have got data in the past. Its voice that's the issue.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Want to root/unroot? All important guides and info threads are contained within the "Sticky Roll-up" thread in General. Click the link below to get there!

**Sticky Roll-up: All Guides snd Info Threads linked here**



Philz Touch Recovery with passkey secure lock

I do NOT reply to support queries over PM.
 
j'vai
Old
#17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 116
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: wash dc
he can get voice & sms on it, though not via the sim card number;

I replied to the video with -



"..though it won't be your Verizon mobile number;

you could try using ring.to / grooveIP for voice / sms via the lte connection..


I use that as a back up number on sprint, mostly for lte , wifi , evdo routed calls,

even gsm / hspa+ & wifi when sim swapped out of the country on my nexus 5.


after editing the echo settings, it should work wonders thru that Verizon lte connection.."

The Following User Says Thank You to j'vai For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes