FORUMS

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (Apr 18 – 25)

Here in the digital XDA newsroom, we spend our days pouring over an average of … more

Sunday Debate: Custom ROMs vs. Modular Tweaks

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Mods and ROMs. Come with your opinions and feel free to … more

AOSP 5.1 Lollipop for Nexus Q

Google Nexus Q is an intriguing device released with Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich. It was abandoned by … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (Apr 17 – 24)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] 2 Issues when rooting: No SU binary installed, & red triangle on dead android.

16th January 2014, 12:28 AM |#11  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Daddy

Try adb sideloading it.

Put the Su.zip on your computer in the same folder as your adb.exe


Choose adb sideload on twrp.

Then the command: adb sideload SU.zip

you mean "adb sideload UPDATE-SuperSU-v1.89.zip"? (sorry I just want to be 100% sure so I make no mistakes)
 
 
16th January 2014, 12:30 AM |#12  
El Daddy's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Roseville, MN
Thanks Meter: 5,091
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrostedFluke

you mean "adb sideload UPDATE-SuperSU-v1.89.zip"? (sorry I just want to be 100% sure so I make no mistakes)

Yep! I didn't know what the file was named so I just shortened it up to SU.zip


Pro-tip: You can rename files to something shorter such as SU.zip to make it quicker to type in command and eliminate the possibility of mistakes.
The Following User Says Thank You to El Daddy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th January 2014, 12:33 AM |#13  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Daddy

Yep! I didn't know what the file was named so I just shortened it up to SU.zip


Pro-tip: You can rename files to something shorter such as SU.zip to make it quicker to type in command and eliminate the possibility of mistakes.

I get this on my command prompt: "error: closed"
16th January 2014, 12:36 AM |#14  
El Daddy's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Roseville, MN
Thanks Meter: 5,091
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrostedFluke

I get this on my command prompt: "error: closed"

run the command: adb usb


Then try sideloading
The Following User Says Thank You to El Daddy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th January 2014, 12:39 AM |#15  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Daddy

run the command: adb usb


Then try sideloading

same error.

I have the option to "swipe to start sideloading" should I swipe first? then run the command?
16th January 2014, 12:40 AM |#16  
El Daddy's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Roseville, MN
Thanks Meter: 5,091
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrostedFluke

same error.

I have the option to "swipe to start sideloading" should I swipe first? then run the command?

yes
The Following User Says Thank You to El Daddy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th January 2014, 12:49 AM |#17  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Daddy

yes

It worked, thanks so much man I appreciate the help! you're a lifesaver!

one other quick question. Just to be sure, is there anyway of knowing whether or not my device has been rooted? how will I know for sure?
16th January 2014, 12:51 AM |#18  
El Daddy's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Roseville, MN
Thanks Meter: 5,091
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrostedFluke

It worked, thanks so much man I appreciate the help! you're a lifesaver!

one other quick question. Just to be sure, is there anyway of knowing whether or not my device has been rooted? how will I know for sure?

You are welcome. I am always glad to help someone doing things the right way!

Run an app that requires root. If SuperSu requests access, you are rooted.
The Following User Says Thank You to El Daddy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th January 2014, 01:00 AM |#19  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Daddy

You are welcome. I am always glad to help someone doing things the right way!

Run an app that requires root. If SuperSu requests access, you are rooted.

Yup! it's rooted
16th January 2014, 01:09 AM |#20  
El Daddy's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Roseville, MN
Thanks Meter: 5,091
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrostedFluke

Yup! it's rooted

Congrats!
The Following User Says Thank You to El Daddy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 5 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank