Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

2007 iMac with osx maverick won't recognize nexus 5 dab

OP nkdwpn

2nd March 2014, 05:56 AM   |  #1  
nkdwpn's Avatar
OP Junior Member
portland
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
so my iMac only recognizes my nexus 5 when i set it to camera storage, when i try to root, or unlock boot loader dab won't recognize it. This is my first mac, and i have no problem doing it with a windows computer. How do i get it to show up, are there drivers i'm missing?
2nd March 2014, 07:58 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 328
 
1,283 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkdwpn

so my iMac only recognizes my nexus 5 when i set it to camera storage, when i try to root, or unlock boot loader dab won't recognize it. This is my first mac, and i have no problem doing it with a windows computer. How do i get it to show up, are there drivers i'm missing?

Maybe its destined to be Cough Apple.
I have same problems too on my Mac Mini so what I did was download VirturalBox and ran windows 7 in a virtual enviroment
2nd March 2014, 08:02 AM   |  #3  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 931
 
3,139 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by markdapimp

Maybe its destined to be Cough Apple.
I have same problems too on my Mac Mini so what I did was download VirturalBox and ran windows 7 in a virtual enviroment

You need to download Android File Transfer on macs. I actually find it better than windows since I don't have to fiddle with drivers to get adb and fastboot working.
2nd March 2014, 08:14 AM   |  #4  
nkdwpn's Avatar
OP Junior Member
portland
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga

You need to download Android File Transfer on macs. I actually find it better than windows since I don't have to fiddle with drivers to get adb and fastboot working.

I did that already, it shows up, but adb won't work

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
2nd March 2014, 08:16 AM   |  #5  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 931
 
3,139 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkdwpn

I did that already, it shows up, but adb won't work

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Maybe it's because your mac is old? Whats the error?

Code:
error: device not found
Is that it?
2nd March 2014, 08:20 AM   |  #6  
nkdwpn's Avatar
OP Junior Member
portland
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
No bash is the error, maybe I have the wrong SDK? Or my coding is bad

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
2nd March 2014, 08:22 AM   |  #7  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 931
 
3,139 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkdwpn

No bash is the error, maybe I have the wrong SDK? Or my coding is bad

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

You have to be in the directory where adb is and use ./adb instead of just adb.

I would really recommend using this tutorial and getting everything setup where you don't have to do that every time.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1917237

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes